We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aladdin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Aladdin to your Saves list
Riad Aladdin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7/8 Derb Touareg Berrima - Place des Ferblantiers, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #234 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, South Wales
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have just returned from 3 nights at the Riad Aladdin in Marrakech. We chose the hotel based upon previous reviews of which the majority described it as excellent.

We arrived around 8.30pm, the taxi driver was unsure where the Riad was even with the address and the map from the hotel website. It was a little concerning that despite the tripadvisor recommendations that this did not appear to be a very well known place.

We were invited in and asked to sit, tea and biscuits were served while our passports were taken, presumably to be photocopied and were then handed back to us. It took a while and we were unsure what was happening.

The breakfast room was pointed out to us and we were ushered to our room in the corner of the ground floor. We upgraded our room to a superior one when booking through easyjet holidays. The room was basic, but it was a good size and traditionally decorated.

Unfortunately, on pulling back the bed spread there were a number of hairs in the bed, although the sheets were clearly clean, there were hairs. I assumed that these were from the blanket or bed spread, which I doubt are laundered between guests. The bed was very uncomfortable and had an obvious dip in the middle. I felt as though I was sleeping downhill/uphill depending on which side I rolled onto. The following morning we asked to be moved and were initially told that we would have to pay to move rooms, another member of staff advised that they would ask the manager the next day as he was not available that day, Later in the day we asked again and were advised that we could move the following morning. We were moved for the last night of our stay and in fairness to the staff, they allowed us to look at the alternative rooms to decide which we wanted.

Positives: The Riad is close to two 'palaces', the continental breakfast was good, the rooms that we stayed in were of a decent size, there is air con/heating in each room, the communal areas would be lovely to sit in during nice weather. It is around 15 minute walk to the main square. There was decent wifi.

Negatives: as we stayed out of season, we felt we had out of season service. There was little information offered to us - a guest sheet would have been sufficient - warning about the tax, Riad facilities etc. we had to find things out ourselves. There was no one on reception - you had to hang around to wait for someone to see to you. We asked about a safety deposit box - we were told they have their own security and that we could leave valuables in our room (keys were left out on the reception desk for anyone to pick up - not very safe for our liking, again we were not told to leave our key when we went out) Generally could have been cleaner - the hairs in the bed aside, there were rugs in the two rooms that we had which were clearly very dirty and completely unnecessary. I would rather a clean floor with no covering than a dirty rug.

So, to sum up, we were disappointed with our stay. If we had spoken French perhaps we would have had better service. A guest information pack/sheet would have been useful and would have made us feel more comfortable about our surroundings. We were not keen on leaving the room key out for anyone to help themselves to, had we have known about the lack of safety deposit box (which was listed on the hotel's website if I recall) we would not have picked this Riad.

nb. the rooms do not have a hairdryer and we haggled down to 70 each in a taxi to and from the airport.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsTravelaL0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager C, Gérant at Riad Aladdin, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Emma and Mark ,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Riad ALADDIN .

we are very committed to the satisfaction of our customers and we take into account all comments made to us .

1 – For the taxi , I'm sorry you fell on a taxi who did not know ALADDIN ? Aladdin is very easy to find. To avoid theses problem we propose a transfer service with a partnered comapny .
2 - I can confirm that you had a superior room. After reading your comment, I went unannounced visits to the room you were in and I can assure you that I did not find any hair on the cover of the bed and carpet were spotless (even if they are weathered with time) .
3 - Following your desire for a firmer bed , we've actually offered another room and without extra cost since you had already booked a superior room.
4 - Some customers have actually not used the Guest House and I can confirm that all security requirements are met through a loyal team , dedicated and attentive through which nearly 10 years we have never had to deplore any theft of personal belongings .
I can assure you , given your comments, that special attention has been and will be reminded regularly to the team about the cleanliness of the Riad and information that must be provided at check -in. We try every day to improve and thanks to your comments that we will succeed.

We look forward to seeing you next time

Yours

Christophe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    34
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
26
58
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Naxxar, Malta
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This review is a peculiar one. We weren't staying at this Riad, but we stumbled across it during sightseeing when it was time for lunch. Unfortunately, one of our group fell ill due to the heat and dehydration just before we ate, and the staff they were very very generous. They offered all their help, gave us temporary access to a room with AC, and supplied water at no extra cost whilst this person recovered. We're eternally grateful for their hospitality.

Additionally, the food was excellent!

I will definitely be staying here next time I'm in Marrakech!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnieV_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarxien, Malta
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Would like to show our gratitude for all the help we found from all the staff while one of our group felt ill while eating at their restaurant!

We were not staying at this particular Riad but the staff offered all their possible help and even offered a room while the person recovered again. All this for no extra costs!

The food at their restaurant was very tasty and very well presented.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dejmjin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Approaching the door of the Riad was a little daunting, being at the end of a dark alleyway. However, on entering it was like stepping into a different world - the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh seemed far away and peace prevailed.
The staff were welcoming and always helpful. If requested, evening drinks and breakfast were served on the roof terrace, which is a stunning setting and where the nesting storks were a constant source of entertainment. The breakfasts were very good.
Most of the rooms are beautiful but they do vary. I stayed in a lovely one at the beginning of my holiday, which had views over the rooftops, but when I returned at the end of the week the room I was given was dark, had no chairs and was not as pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here for one night on our way to the coast. The staff were excellent and happy to help, especially Abdul, who went out of his way to organise coach tickets and taxi for us. Lovely room, clean, nothing was a problem. On arrival was given a map of the area and highlighted places of interest. Good selection of food for breakfast. Perfect location, short walk from main square. Airport shuttle was waiting for us. Thank you so much for an easy stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smidge44177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leonberg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at Riad Aladdin in May and loved it. The setting, the rooftop terrace with a stunning view surrounded by storks nests, the fabulous sunset dinner all contributed to a wonderful experience in Marrakech.
The staff, especially our friend Abdel, cared about everything and made the vacation even more fun.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eberhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in January to celebrate my birthday and were completely blown away by this lovely riad. It was too cold to eat on the terrace but we enjoyed breakfast and dinner on two occasions inside, with a roaring fire close by. Dinner was delicious on both occasions, and was served by a charming, polite young man called Abdul who was always smiling. Our room was quite small and long, and a little dark (and so I probably went out looking like a clown after attempting my make up in the bathroom mirror!), however it was characterful and comfortable. The roof terrace was lovely and we often went up there to view the stork couples building and tidying their nests on the roof of the Badi Palace next door. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed staying at this lovely riad with equally lovely staff and if we return to Marrakesh, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms open up onto the sun terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefelixstowetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#118 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#82 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#61 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#102 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#59 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Bahja
Riad Bahja
#186 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aladdin

Property: Riad Aladdin
Address: 7/8 Derb Touareg Berrima - Place des Ferblantiers, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#140 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aladdin 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aladdin Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing