We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Calm in a sea of madness!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Aladdin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Aladdin
Ranked #222 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Felixstowe
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Calm in a sea of madness!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in January to celebrate my birthday and were completely blown away by this lovely riad. It was too cold to eat on the terrace but we enjoyed breakfast and dinner on two occasions inside, with a roaring fire close by. Dinner was delicious on both occasions, and was served by a charming, polite young man called Abdul who was always smiling. Our room was quite small and long, and a little dark (and so I probably went out looking like a clown after attempting my make up in the bathroom mirror!), however it was characterful and comfortable. The roof terrace was lovely and we often went up there to view the stork couples building and tidying their nests on the roof of the Badi Palace next door. All in all we thoroughly enjoyed staying at this lovely riad with equally lovely staff and if we return to Marrakesh, would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms open up onto the sun terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thefelixstowetwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    34
    12
    7
    1
See reviews for
25
58
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Lovely Riad in the heart of the Southern Medina - warm welcome and staff were superb. Room was small but clean and simply furnished. Food was very good and sitting on the roof terrace in the sun for breakfast was a lovely way to start the day. Would definitely return and recommend to those wanting a comfortable base in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanHen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at Riad Aladdin as part of a large group - we occupied the entire riad. From the welcome on arrival, till the assistance in getting us ready to leave, the staff really could not have done more. Everyone was extremely helpful/accommodating and very friendly.

The accommodation is in a traditional Marrakech style, with a very good level of facilities. If anything is needed, just let the staff know. Don't expect telephones or televisions in your room - it's not that kind of place. But if you want bags of character in a great central location - Riad Aladdin has it in spades.

Potential downsides: well, if there are any, it may be that other residents may keep you awake if they are up late. We were in a large group, so we only had ourselves to blame! If you want peace and quiet - be sure to let them know, so they can allocate a room in a quiet area. That said, compared to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, the Riad is a haven of tranquillity. Also, the lack of a swimming pool (so far as I could see) may be a disadvantage in high summer. In winter we found the weather to be fantastic (low 20's and sunny during the day) though it cooled off a lot at night - bring sweaters in winter time.

Many of our group made use of the massage facilities and hammam at the Riad Aladdin. The staff will be happy to book appointments for you. Personally, I cannot recommend the 'relaxing' massage highly enough - brilliant massage and incredible value for money at less than £40 for a full hour. I was floating for the rest of the day!

In summary - this is a brilliant place to stay for a group and if you can get a big enough group to fill it - all the better. We felt very well looked after, secure and welcome at this very attractive riad. We were only sorry we had to leave.

Room Tip: Some rooms are very close to busy areas of the riad, so be clear if you want peace and quiet. All t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GUUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Would definitely return to this Riad. The rooms are quirky and very comfy. Only negative was the slightly stale water smell which came and went in the bathroom, but it was not too much to worry about as the rooms were spotless; just a little plumbing glitch. The terrace is fab and you feel you can touch the storks as they nest on the palace walls nearby. Brekkie was great with four or five different pastries, pancakes and toast choices. The location is perfect; next to the Badia palace, in the medina, an easy walk to the square but totally quiet. We visited in December and it was lovely to end the evening sitting by the log fire and thrashing the 'other half' at scrabble!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank islandgirlcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
171 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

At the beginning we reserved "riad Altair" but then we were asked to choose Riad Aladdin,due to some booking problem. And we did and it was a very good choice! When we arrived we received all the necessary information from Christophe, who s probably the owner and was very sympathic. The Riad is very well situated, just behind of the el Badia palace and very close to Bahia palace and only 10 minutes comfortable walk to the place of Djemaa el Fna, 5 minutes walk from the Kashbah, a much less touristic place of the medina like the central souks. 10 minutes from " les bains de Marrakech" The Riad is very cosy and the staff is very friendly. The Riad is very clean, and the kitchen is really excellent. We had our first dinner here, couscous maison, with a bottle of Moroccan red wine, the best couscous in my life. Many thanks for that!! Great culinary experience. Also, the breakfast was excellent, with Moroccan specialties, first morning in the terrace of the top of the roof, where we had an amazing view to the Medina and to the Atlas. You have also storks on the other roofs, colours, smells of roses and other spices.....amazing. Our room and the separate bathroom was clean and big enough. The service of the staff was excellent with a personal touch.but I had a real feeling to be part of a kind of quietness, some special taste and feeling, the palm trees and flowers were very green an nice, nothing to compare to any western hotel, motel or anything else. It was our first moroccan and Riad experience, but surely not the last one!! They're was some very discrete and relaxing music in the daytime and afternoon some Mozart or other classical music, and some traditional music as well. We would return to this Riad again and I can only advise to others.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank L2_R3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Hello Team of Riad Aladdin,

we stayed at Riad Aladdin end of April, 2012 and again in May on our way back. We had booked via Sahara Services. We liked Riad Aladdin very much, rooms and breakfast and everything. The riad is very easy to find. You just walk to Jemaa El Fna in 3 minutes and into the souks and to famous places like Palace El Badii. Thank you so much again, all the best!Regine and Jochen, Helga and Friedrich from Germany.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JReimers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horgen, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

We've been recently in Marrakech and Riad Aladdin was booked by our travel agency and offered as a lovely spot in the Medina.
On the positive side the staff is very helpful always friendly. Is centrally located, just a short walk from Bahia Palace and Badi Palace. The terrace is lovely with flowers and cactus and during the nesting period you can actually watch the storks feeding their babies. Lunch and dinner were excellent, tradionally cooked and with really good flavour. Completely recommendable!
On the negative side though there are some things to mention:
- Overall cleanliness of the rooms and the hotel itself was poor, the floors and carpets were dirty and the bed cover had stains.
- Our first room was humid and smelly and the air conditioner smelled really bad.
If you don't care about small details as we did, then for sure you will have a better time.

Room Tip: Avoid the ground floor, and try to get a "superior" room. Ask to see the rooms first (and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe A, M at Riad Aladdin, responded to this review, April 20, 2012
Dear Irene and Andrea,
Thanks a lot to took time to leave your review on TripAdvisor. We are aware to the remarks and suggestion of our Guest.
Regarding the general cleaning, we use the vacum everyday and it is unacceptable that your room was not perfect. We have already change the filter of the air conditioner of the first bedroom you used.
There was a mistake in the used water network of the communal operator and we are very sorry for this disappointment.
We are happy you have enjoy our cooking and our staff.
Thanks for your constructive review

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Puchka
Riad Puchka
#102 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Terra Bahia
Riad Terra Bahia
#229 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Tahili & Spa
Riad Tahili & Spa
#118 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#99 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#27 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 520 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#87 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aladdin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aladdin

Property: Riad Aladdin
Address: 7/8 Derb Touareg Berrima - Place des Ferblantiers, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#127 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#133 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Aladdin 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Aladdin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Aladdin Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing