We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Wonderful oasis in the middle of Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Harmattan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Harmattan
Ranked #441 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cusco
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful oasis in the middle of Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

It was an absolutely brilliant stay in the Raid Harmattan.
Such a beautiful Riad I've never seen.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Each time a harmonious well-being.
The location of the riad is tucked away.
Unfortunately, the neighbors were very loud at times.

Room Tip: The room "Tanger" with access to the terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flip90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    47
    13
    6
    4
See reviews for
18
51
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We spent a week in this Riad and were quite happy with it. It is a very short walk to Djemar el Fna, but bear in mind it is impossible to find without help the first time. Our room was in the new part of the Riad, it was big and comfy...we loved the big bathtub. But one could alos seem there were some bit and pieces left for the room to be completly ready. The head of the shower did not fit on the hook on the wall so you have to hold it all the time...which was a bit annoying. We came back to our room once to find it was completly flooded as the pipe under the sink on the bathroom broke, but the staff fixed it the same they and we were lucky that none ofour belonging wa spoilt.

In general I would recommend this Riad if you are on a budget as it is beautiful and centric.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights with a friend earlier this week. As has already been pointed out by other reviewers, the riad is VERY hard to find at first (we would have been still looking for it now had we not been led there by the chariot guy who transported our bags...), however, it's easy to get to grips with where it is once you have done the journey to and from the medina a couple of times. The location was really good as it was just a few mins' walk to Djemar el Fna (once we had mastered the art of how to get there!).

The building itself is lovely but the decor could do with a bit of a re-vamp. The comedy photos of the owner all over one wall (basically a shrine to himself) were fairly amusing but really detracted from the beauty of the building, as did the decor in general. This is not a huge deal, however, as we were only there for sleeping.

The riad was pretty noisy - any sound made there carried throughout the building. However, this was more due to the building design itself rather than people being antisocially rowdy or anything like that.

I wasn't keen on the shower. The shower head didn't fit into the unit on the wall which meant you had to hold it while having a shower. The plug hole appeared to be blocked, which meant the shower turned into a paddling pool after a short while. Also, the water ran cold after a while. On our second morning at the riad we didn't have any hot water at all and had to ask for it to be fixed (which it was, pretty quickly).

The room was pretty small too, but adequate.

Overall, I thought the place was OK but there are probably better places to be found for a similar amount of money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jellysnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

My friends and I stayed here during our trip to Marrakech and we all agreed that we would choose L'harmattan again if we went back. Yes, it can be tricky to find at first but the location is top class and if needs be, the staff would come to help you find your way from the main square. A big thank you to Christophe and Said for being so friendly and attentive. Said even got on his bike at 1.30am to come and pick us up when we got lost after a late night at the Kosy bar! Seriously how many places would do that for you? If you need to arrange a trip out or just lounge about the riad they will make sure that you are taken care of. We were roomed in the riad next door as they were busy and I have to say, it was an excellent surprise. The rooms were beautiful! Fantastic roof terrace with amazing views, mint tea upon arrival and very decent breakfasts. Clean, welcoming, relaxed, friendly, great location and helpful what more can you ask for??? Thanks again guys! Scott

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed in this riad for 4 days during our citytrip to Marrakech. Finding the place was a true challenge and not that pleasant for two women by themselves, because we had to navigate through a labyrinth of small, dark alleys and passageways. But once we entered the riad, we found a lovely, peaceful place, which seemed to have come from a 1001 nights fairytale! The riad is beautifully decorated, peaceful, quiet and the owner did everything to make us feel at home. There are several places where you can sit and relax (i.e. the rooftop terrace!) and drink Moroccan tea with cookies 'on the house'. The owner helped us finding our way and gave some good advise on certain trips and other practicalities. He does speak only French though and hardly any English. The breakfast was well taken care of, with freshly squeezed orange juice every morning.
The only negative aspect I can think of is the shower, which turned cold every now and then. Plus, it would be nice visiting this place with male company to feel a bit more at ease on your way to and from the riad.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room Ouarzazate which is perfect for two friends (2 single beds), but the shower tu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneMartijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in this riad for a couple of weeks in July, and absolutely loved it. It is clean, well run and incredibly friendly. Although initially tricky to find, after one trip there you're set. Upon arrival we were offered mint tea and biscuits. The breakfasts were very good, though a bit samey after staying for a while, though we were there longer than most other guests. The manager Said was very smiley and friendly. He didn't speak much English, but he always found a way to help. Overall, a fantastic place to stay: traditional, within easy reach of the main square, and clean. Perfect for the price range.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

Compared to the other riads we stayed in while in Morocco (Dar Azaouia in Asilah, Riad Harmonie in El Jadida and Al Atik in Fez - all fantastic choices), this riad was the worst of them all by far. I'm not sure how it compares to other riads in Marrakesh - maybe the standards are lower there. We stayed in two rooms because we extended our stay by one night at the last minute. We stayed in the Dakhla Suite the first night - hardly a suite but a room with a loft. The showerhead broke from the pressure of the water at 9 pm on the first evening, and when I demanded an immediate replacement, the Frenchman (the owner? a friend of the owner?), who was lounging around in his underwear, was very rude and said we'd have to wait until the morning to get it fixed. "Come on," I said, "this is Morocco. People sell things 24 hours a day." In the end, Said, the man who actually works there, brought us a new one. The second and third nights we were in the Sahara Suite, which was big and nice but had no outside windows, so it felt like being in a cave. The bed was comfortable, but the kids had to sleep on couches. The terrace is very dirty and not very comfortable - the spiral stairs to the top looked ready to fall off at any minute. The padlocks provided to lock the rooms were an absolute joke - our suitcase locks were stronger! The breakfasts were OK, but in general the same boring things every day. Nothing homemade except for the orange juice. The decorations were a bit funky, and the gallery of pictures of the French owner looking like a movie star (maybe he is) was a little discerning. WiFi worked only in the lower courtyard. On the positive side, the location was excellent, though it is quite hard to find, and the air-conditioning worked very well. All in all, I am sure there have to be riads in Marrakesh on the level of the others we stayed at in Morocco. I wish we had had the luck to find one.

Room Tip: The Sahara Suite has no windows to the outside, so if you like fresh air, choose another room. The D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#249 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dia
Riad Dia
#212 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 34
Riad 34
#470 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Choumissa
Dar Choumissa
#616 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#328 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
#633 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Harmattan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Harmattan

Property: Riad Harmattan
Address: 78 derb Boutouil Kennaria, Marrakech 20000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #441 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Harmattan 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Harmattan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing