We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a pleasant change from Tajines”
Review of Katsura

Katsura
Ranked #64 of 875 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
London
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“What a pleasant change from Tajines”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was visiting Marrakech with a Moroccan-born friend and had two weeks of tajines so, finding myself on my own for an evening, I looked around Gueliz, the modern part of Marrakech, and came across Katsura. It serves Thai and Japanese cuisine and though I am no expert on either, I thought my Thai meal was really delicious. The restaurant is Japanese modern in style and divided into smoking and non-smoking. Inevitably the non-smoking is relatively small. There is a selection of Oriental beers as well as wine etc. The waiters, who both spoke English, were beyond charming.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Malbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    140
    40
    13
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Real good food & Relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

We loved this place as we eat a lot of sushi back in birmingham, Eng. The decor is very modern japanese style, and the food was great! We had a board full of veggie sushi, rice and noodles between us and it was all lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful, and as we left, the doorman called us a petit taxi over so we could go home comfortably for a very good price. This is definitely a place we won't forget, as this is where my boyfriend proposed to me under candle light!!

Helpful?
Thank jess c
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A liitle Gem.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

As lovers of Thai food we decided to give this one a try and were not disappointed.
Cosy cafe style restaurant, food excellent ,wine was good too! reasonable prices.
Well worth a visit.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank alexScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great sushi and thai”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Visited with friends in December. The restaurant is a lot more casual than expected and the waiters were not very good at speaking English. However, the excellent sushi and noodles made up for this.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank isobel e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston UK
Level 6 Contributor
483 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
“A nice change”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

Having worked in Marrakech for several weeks Katsura was recommended to me during my last week. This is a great shame as undoubtedly I would have been a regular here.
A modern venue and quite small the Katsura serves an excellent range of Japanese and Thai food. Prices are good and beer costs 28dh for a bottle of flag special.
I tried the lamb massaman curry which was very tasty and on another occasion tried the Pad Thai which again was very good.
It was nice to have a bit of spicy food. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Katsura also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Katsura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing