We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of Dar Lalla F'dila

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Lalla F'dila
Ranked #243 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We found Dar Lalla Fdila via internet search at the last minute. Because we could not book online due to the very short lead time, we called to ask about parking our rental car, and to book over the phone. We were reassured that we could park and enjoy our stay in the middle of Marrakesh. Murad, the primary person who interacts with clients, went so far as to come out and meet us to guide us into the city, and help us arrange parking. He was very welcoming, and gave us the wonderful Josephine room, which served us very well, indeed. The other rooms are just gorgeous, and I wished I could have stayed there too. The central location is terrific. Aziz provided us with truly excellent breakfasts, which we enjoyed on the roof, where we enjoyed the incredible views of the surroundings. The open courtyard and the roof terrace were very comfortable places to sit and sociaize. Murad arranged a good guide to help us get to the sights we wished to cover in our limited time. I would go back in a heartbeat. I really wished I could have extended our stay longer. Dar Dmana was really lovely, and both Murad and Aziz were great. I also appreciated the work of the women who cleaned the lovely house amd worked there. I wish I had been able to have dinner there - be we were out and about the whole time after breakfast. Truly a wonderful place to stay in Marrakesh. It was the best place we stayed at in Morocco.

Room Tip: I loved the Jospehine room on the ground floor. But I would easily and happily have tried the Khay...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rissieburt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (273)
There are newer reviews for Dar Lalla F'dila
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 273 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Being a regular to Marrakech I like to find new place to stay & this one is amazing, right bang in the middle of the Old medina but also very quiet..
A beautiful Riad and amazing furnishing.
Staff are fantastic and will do anything for you. Would totally reccommend for a quick break.
Will be returning.

Room Tip: Try all the food!! Yummy!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ewakbbc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

at least that what it felt for us after coming back from an exhausting day of wondering around souks and monuments.small 5-room only hotel which despite the fact that is lost in some alley that is extremely hard to find it is very comfortable and relaxing place to be at.the keeper Aziz did his best to ensure that everything we requested was taken care off and the room was enormous with a bathroom on a mezzanine but with no tv (no problem for us though as we needed some detox) and the internet having virtually no reception inside the room (seems to be an issue in every riad we stayed in morocco).everything else was excellent from the breakfast to the cleanliness and the terrace for those visiting Marrakech during warmer months of the year.Thanks Aziz!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pastitsada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Stunning small Riad. Large rooms and generous breakfast. Wonderfully quiet but yet in the heart of the Medina. The beauty of the place is it's design, space and true Moroccan furnishing.
If you are driving, as we were, it is quick and easy to get into and out of the Medina.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thierry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Pros: The staff are very friendly and accommodating, and I liked the design and general appearance of the riad - it looked authentic without being tacky or cheesy. There was a lot of help available by way of booking activities, and if you have out of the ordinary requests (like charging my iphone on their computer) the staff were kind and helpful. Since we were checking out very early in the morning, we were shown how to prepare our breakfast etc in the kitchen which I thought was nice! Room was comfortable and clean, breakfast on the rooftop terrace was lovely.

Cons: You need to get a guide or someone to show you the way to Jemaa El F'na as soon as possible in the trip because there are no comprehensive maps of the numerous maze-like alleys of Marrakech and it is very easy to get lost. We ended up taking over an hour to get somewhere we wanted to go once! The breakfast is plentiful but gets really dull after a few days - the crepes in no way match the ones made by the ladies on the streets. Some people may be intimidated by the area where the riad is located - it's a bit out of the usual tourist area but interesting nonetheless and we never felt in danger (solo travelers might have a different experience). Also, we stayed on the ground level in spacious room with the bathroom up a small flight of stairs - this was really quaint but that bathroom doesn't have a door and has inadequate ventilation (it was always a little bit mouldy-smelling or humid). I always went to the shared toilet near the exit instead of using our private toilet, which was fine. The riad is not particularly beautiful or luxurious, just quaint and comfortable. We had the staff book 2 activities for us - a camel ride and quad biking - and these seemed a bit hit and miss because the camel ride was lame in comparison with what my boyfriend did last time for the same price, however the quad biking ride was awesome (we went out in the desert past the Palmerie, into tiny villages and even had some mint tea with someone living in a village). The pool is like a little bath on the roof - it even has a shower! :)

Not recommended for a romantic getaway but great for a base while exploring the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eunicelanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I can't think of words to do this riad justice. It was quiet simply amazing! Upon arrival Aziz the riad "guardian" couldn't do enough to help us. He showed us around the riad, our rooms, where breakfast is served, the plunge pool and the relaxing roof terrace with views of the main square in the background. He then proceeded to escort us to the main square. Being four girls travelling to Marrakech for the first time, the tiny streets can be very daunting and you could easily get lost. Aziz took us right into the heart of the action and gave us a card with his telephone number on to call when we wanted to be picked up. At 10.45 he was outside Cafe France waiting for us. Now that's service!! He even organised for therapists from the local spa to come to the riad to give us a pedicure! He couldn't do enough for us and was always on hand should we have needed him.

Breakfast was fruit with flat pancakes, bread with jams, tea, coffee, orange juice and mint tea and can be served anytime between 8 and 11am. The rooms are very clean and tidy, decked out in traditional Morrocan style. The roof terrace of a night time is oustanding. It is so quiet and peaceful, only the occasional calls from the mosques can be heard.

I would highly recommend staying here if you are travelling to Marrakech, especially if you are a group of girls!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stevens87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

This place is very nice with great service! The rooms are great and the roofterrace with view of whole Marrakech is outstanding. The place is difficult to find the first time, but when youve found it once, its no problem.
The two guys working there provide all kinds of service: picking you up at the big square and follow you to the riad, follow you to the atm, serving breakfast, booking other riads for you if you need and organizing excursions. The riad was clean, with spacious rooms. On the roof there are sunbeds and also a big coach with protection from the sun and a shower if its too hot.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreabbbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Emberiza Sahari
Riad Emberiza Sahari
#19 of 502 in Marrakech
296 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Asrari
Riad Asrari
#284 of 502 in Marrakech
124 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#34 of 502 in Marrakech
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#22 of 502 in Marrakech
889 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad le Desir
Riad le Desir
#156 of 502 in Marrakech
67 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#5 of 502 in Marrakech
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Lalla F'dila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Lalla F'dila

Address: 17 Derb Allilich | Kaat ben nahid - Moukef -, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $96 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Lalla F'dila 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Lalla F' Dila is a douiriya (dependence) - house of reception of vizier Mnebhi, War Minister of sultan Moulay-Abd el Aziz at the end of the XIXth century- of Dar Mnebhi who accommodates the museum of Marrakesh today.This dar with rare architectural characteristics is a real small jewel in the historical heart of the Medina. Its owners wanted to rehabilitate it in a modern way while preserving its charm and authenticity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Dar Lalla F'dila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Lalla f`Dila Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing