We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

““Just perfect!””

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech
Ranked #131 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sidney, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
““Just perfect!””
Reviewed May 16, 2014

My wife and I have just returned from a 5 day break at Dar sabra with friends, this wasn't our first visit and my wife words on arrival were " I feel so relaxed already" That's the thing about Dar sabra, whilst you are staying in a luxurious property with amazing gardens you instantly feel relaxed and welcome. The staff are attentive but discreet and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are very comfortable and unique in decoration, the bathroom in the superior Suite is amazing.
I would highly recommend eating at Dar sabra, the BBQ lunch near the big pool is fabulous and dinner on the terrace overlooking the lantern lit pool not to be missed.
I cannot find fault with anything and we will definitely be returning. Thank you to Adrien, Denise and all the staff for a truly wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simranne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarSabraChapout, General Manager at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, June 1, 2014
Dear client,
Thank you so much for taking your time to write a positive review !
It was a great honor to welcome you and your family at Dar Sabra.
Thank you for your great pictures and we are looking forward to welcome you again very soon.
Our warmest wishes,
Adrien Chapoutot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    93
    28
    27
    10
See reviews for
90
216
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Lovely private villa with private pool and private garden. Wonderful to have large garden and space after busy time in medina. Tennis courts and huge pool for the kids. Food was disappointing and drinks were expensive.

Room Tip: Private villa was fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennhmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

My daughter and I stayed in this hotel as part of a living social deal . We were impressed with the actual building . The room was lovely and so were the communal areas but it could have been so much better just by addressing a few issues.
The staff working in the restaurant whilst friendly enough could do with a bit of training. We had to ask most mornings for them to top up either the juice or the coffee pots, bring out some more bowls or spoons... This has been mentioned in previous reviews and obviously not been acted upon.
We also had to ask for pool towels very day .
On arrival we were informed about the shuttle bus that is provided 3 times a day into town and 3 times back which seemed great but the shuttle is at strange times of day eg into town at 9 but then back at 11 giving only 2 hours to get into town ( about 15 minutes ) find your restaurant , order and eat and get back to the shuttle . Another problem was that there were at least 3 different drivers who all seemed to have different places for pick up . One night when the shuttle didn't arrive to pick us up until 9.30 so we didn't get into town until 9.45 the driver wouldn't agree to pick us up later so we missed the shuttle back and had to get a cab back to the hotel and another night a different driver claimed to have been looking for us for 30 mins whilst we stood at the pickup point for 40 minutes , ringing the hotel to ask where he was and getting fobbed off whilst being hassled by taxi drivers. So do not rely on the shuttle instead budget for cabs to and from the hotel ( between 150 -200 dirhams depending on how good you are at haggling )
The TV in the basement room we had was very poor signal but the staff did try to improve this for us. The same can be said for the wifi but again the staff did help with this.
The food in the restaurant was disappointing because there was very little choice for vegetarians and not much Morrocan food. Again , the staff service in the evening could have been a lot better. It was very slow.

Room Tip: We didn't realise the hotel was so far from the centre and would have budgeted more for cabs if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarSabraChapout, General Manager at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, September 5, 2014
Dear Client,
First of all, thank you for taking your time to write on Tripadvisor.
We are very sorry that our services were not in the level of your expectations.
We took your recommendations very seriously and we have already bought a lot more of pool towels and we have also changed the set up of our breakfast and assigned a fix manager to take care of the service and make sure the coffee is hot and the orange juice is filled up !
It was a pleasure for all our team to welcome you and your daughter at DAR SABRA.
We hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you with your family again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

My friend and I spent 5 days here and could not get over how lucky we were! What a fantastic find, away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.
The staff were so kind and helpful, the place was perfect, breakfast fresh and great choice.
The taxi driver could not have been more helpful and the shuttle minibus just made the final touch. We would recommend it to any age group including families. Well done all

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarSabraChapout, Directeur général at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Rachel C,
I cannot express in words how happy we are (on the name of all our team) when we read your review and a BIG thank you for your kindness and specially for taking some of your time to write a positive review!!

We are more than honored and it is our best compensation after our daily hard work.
Our main objective is to be able to have all our guests to feel the same way as you feel after they leave Dar Sabra.

We really appreciate your review and it would be a great pleasure to welcome you in Dar Sabra again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 11, 2014

Really beautiful garden, buildings, and rooms. Great spa. Mediocre gym. Although the staff are very friendly, the place is completely understaffed which means the service is poor. A few consequences: dirty rooms, no service in the bar, terrible food. Altogether, the hotel is very inconsistent in the service it provides: excellent on certain fronts and appalling on others.

Room Tip: I'd avoid ground floor rooms as there are a lot of ants and cockroaches that crawl under the doo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthijs V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarSabraChapout, Directeur général at Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Matthijs V,
Thank you very much for your compliments regarding the garden, buildings and rooms.
We have already hired several more staff for the high season and we are really sorry for our "poor service". I agree the service is poor because of the lack of waiters; however, the dirty room and terrible food I would completely disagree.
We work only with fresh and bio food. ALL plates are prepared the same day, from breakfast to dinner and even our olive oil is from our own olive trees. Many of our guests even told us that our chef cuisine is much better than many famous restaurants in Marrakech.
It's true that our gym is small, however, I would not qualify it as mediocre. The gym is free of charge exactly because it is small but all equipments are of high technology and they work properly.
It would be great to welcome you another time to see our improvements and I am sure you would not regret !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with big rooms, nice swimming pools, and has a basic gym, great spa (pricey), and tennis court. But!!!! Firstly, our room was constantly invaded by cockroaches, beetles, and ants. The staff seem to stray the room with some kind of anti-bug chemical which left many of these creatures lying on their backs struggling to die (I dare not think how unhealthy the sprays were for us). Secondly, the food is expensive and very bad. There is a shuttle that will bring you to town (about 20 minutes drive) at 10am, 3pm or 9pm and back from town at 1pm, 5pm, and 11pm. I'd suggest using it and eating in town. Though of course these shuttles appear to be conveniently timed to ensure you'll be at the hotel for meals... Thirdly, our room smelled like sewer! I know other rooms in our building did too.

Overall, we enjoyed our time there as we mostly sat in the sun and the weather was nice. I'm not sure I'd recommend it though, it depends how well you can navigate around the problems outlined above.

Room Tip: If you choose a room that isn't on the ground floor, the bug situation might not be as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

If you don't mind not being able to walk to old Marrakech, then Dar Sabra is a gorgeous place to stay. The location out in the Palmeraie is not such a problem because they had an efficient driver transporting guests to and from the Medina everyday at pre-designated times. The day and night managers are very kind, speak excellent English and were very knowledgeable about the area. Breakfast is adequate but could be better. The property is STUNNING in beauty and size. The room I stayed in is larger than my place in San Francisco. Overall, though the stay was memorable due to the staff. If anything, Dar Sabra has more of a "friend's huge house" feel to it than that of a hotel. In fact, I was relocated to an equally stunning property not for the last night of my stay because the Moroccan royal family had decided it wanted to stay at Dar Sabra. This was not a problem because Dar Sabra took care of everything and also allowed me to have the services of Dar Sabra's driver even after I was moved to the other place. My stay occurred over several nights more than a year ago, during the first week of March 2013.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouserou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.5 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#48 of 499 in Marrakech
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Murano Resort Marrakech
Murano Resort Marrakech
#171 of 499 in Marrakech
469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#89 of 499 in Marrakech
241 reviews
3.4 mi away
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
Tigmiza - Suites & Pavillons
#44 of 499 in Marrakech
400 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech

Property: Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech
Address: Douar Abiad, Circuit de la Palmeraie | Douar Abiad, Palm Grove Area, Marrakech 40000, Morocco (Formerly Hotel Dar Sabra)
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel at home at Dar Sabra Hotel. Located in a 2-hectare garden in the heart of the palm grove of Marrakech, Dar Sabra is a design and boutique hotel located 15 minutes away from the Medina and bustle of Marrakech and we offer a free shuttle to the Medina 3 times a day. Dar Sabra is an open air museum with famous contemporary sculptures, a sublime and cosy SPA with heated jacuzzi, 6 pools, tennis courts, table tennis, a gym, a free shuttle 3X per day between the hotel and the Medina. A very modern and luxurious 2 bedroom villa with private pool for lovers named Villa Di Rosa or several themes suites (contemporary superiors, Art Deco, Asian, Moroccan, African, Zen, Indian and Afghan themes). All rooms are air conditioned and feature a minibar, a flat-screen satellite TV, a hairdryer, free WIFI, and much more. Our chef proposes an international cuisine mixed with local flavors. The hotel also prepares Moroccan or special meals on request. The buffet breakfast can be served by the pool or in the restaurant with a large choice of fresh food. A free private parking on site is available to guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Prestigia, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Dar Sabra Hotel Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing