We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful oasis in a beautiful country” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Mendili Kasbah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Al Mendili Kasbah
Ranked #82 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bicester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful oasis in a beautiful country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

While planning our first trip to Marrakech, we were disappointed when our hotel reservation (at a different hotel) was canceled at the last minute. To our great fortune, we decided on the Kasbah Al Mendili and could not imagine staying anywhere else. Catherine and Alain were perfect hosts and didn't overlook a single detail in trying to make our stay with them the best it could possibly be. From providing a late dinner on our first night after our flight was delayed to greeting us with a smile before sunrise the next morning to make sure we had everything we needed for the day's excursion, Al Mendili is a truly magical place. A short 20 minute drive from the hustle and bustle of downtown Marrakech, Al Mendili is surrounded by beautiful gardens and stunning views of the Atlas mountains. It is a quiet oasis in which to spend a relaxing holiday, but also close enough to the city and to the mountains to take advantage of all the excellent excursions Morocco has to offer.

We can't give enough compliments to the chef at Al Mendili – the food was some of the best we've ever had. Whether you eat in the beautifully decorated dining room, on your private balcony, or on the rooftop terrace with gorgeous views of the mountains on one side and the lights of Marrakech on the other, I can't imagine anything better or more authentic.

We will definitely stay here again on our next trip to Morocco – thank you Catherine and Alain for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTBJ2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
168
10
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

A beautiful place, don’t be put off by the drive to Al Mendili as you will think you are heading into hell but you arrive in heaven. A relaxing environment with stunning views of the Atlas Mountains, tranquil gardens, grounds and pool area. The staff are attentive and friendly and the rooms are havens.

I would go again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waanrode
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent 10 days at the Al Mendili Kashba in October 2012 and it was the perfect way to completely relax and unwind.

Hotel & surroundings :
It is about a 1/2h drive from the airport and about the same time from the medina. As the hotel is in the middle of nowhere, it is very quiet. Perfect for us, but if you are looking for parties, you will most probably not like it. The garden is huge and beautifully tended, with sun loungers far apart from eachother, so a lot of privacy. The inside is a mix of Moroccon & African style, beautifully decorated.

Room :
We stayed at the Chaar El Assel at the 1st floor, with a beautiful secluded large balcony. All rooms have great views on the gardens and the mountains. The bed was large & very comfortable, the bathroom is well-appointed.

Service:
The hosts & staff were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. Speaking a bit of French will certainly help, but Cathrine & Alain are picking up English rapidly. They both are very friendly, always taking care of us! We did a hiking tour in the Atlas mountains for a few nights in the middle of our stay at Al Mendili. As our room was not booked for these nights, we could leave our stuff in the room, which was great !

Food :
Breakfast is served at the time & place you request in the morning – only to give them a call in the morning. Dinner is Moroccon style and a surprise every evening. Had lunch at Al Mendili as well, which was equally tasteful – our compliments to the chef. Prices were very reasonable.

Spa :
Had a lovely spa experience.

Thanks Cathrine & Alain. We will certainly be back soon ! We really felt at home!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We had a wonderful and very relaxed stay in this beautiful Kasbah Riad Al Mendili. The room was very beautiful and tasteful furnished. We enjoyed the very excellent cuisine and the changing and very delicious meals. The whole house is very comfortable, warm and friendly. The Hamam and the massage were also very excellent. The best Hamam we ever experienced. We already look forward to come back again to this wonderful place...
Thank's a lot to the owner Catherine and Alain for their kindness and hospitality and also to the staff who served us also very friendly and courteous.

Room Tip: all the rooms are beautiful and excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Doris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We had not initially booked this hotel, we booked The Dar Sabra several months ago but a few days before we were due to arrive we were e-mailed to say they had no water and they would help us find another hotel.

Due to not having much time to look for something we relied on Trip Advisor to help with our decision and the Al Mendili got good reviews so we decided to stay there.

The hosts were very friendly but did not speak much English and the staff spoke no English at all so we struggled trying to communicate what we wanted at times. On our first day we were offered lunch which turned out to be a cheese and ham toastie which was extremely disappointing but we learnt they had no staff on due to a religious holiday. We were never given an option for meals, they don’t have a menu so you basically get what you are given and pay for it as well. The food overall was ok, nothing special and nothing that stood out apart from a very strange starter which consisted of some sort of fish eggs sat on a cold green mouse with warm salmon bits in it.

We stayed in a suite which was spacious, clean and had a large balcony overlooking the pool – they charge E216 a night which I do not feel is justified. We had a huge bathroom with separate bath but I have never seen a bath that’s only big enough for 1 person – also the over flow plug was so low the bath constantly drains to halfway which doesn’t leave enough water to cover your body. The mattress is like sleeping on a concrete slab – I do like a firm mattress but it was ridiculous. I hardly got any sleep because the wooden frame of the bed creaked every time me or my partner moved in the night so we constantly woke each other up.

The hotel is in the middle of no where so if you are going out ask them to book a taxi for you and agree for the same taxi to take you back as getting one from the Medina will be tricky as none of them knew where the hotel was.

Overall the house itself is lovely but If you don’t speak French then I would not advise staying here as it was just a struggle from start to finish. I cant believe it was the same hotel as all the lovely reviews on here but we just did not have the same experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelsm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We just spent one week at the Al Mendili Kashba, and could not have been more satisfied with our choice of stay. The quality of the entire staff and service was outstanding, with remarkably welcoming, attentive and helpful owners and personnel that always had an extra eye for the nice little details.

The place and property is beautiful and throughout delicate, surrounded by impressive views of the Atlas Mountains. We also found the location ideal as it provided pure relaxation and peace, but with the intense pulse of the Medina still close. The cuisine was always great, and we were really happy we did half board. We even had days were we ate all the meals at the Al Mendili, as we enjoyed the food, service and surroundings so much!

The spa with its staff and treatments were excellent, and the prices were also good. As a result, my partner ended up with two ‘days’ of treatment, myself three. Furthermore, the sweet owners notice my birthday during the stay (though we did not mention it) and brought me a really nice surprise of appreciation.

All in all we had a perfect stay, and are truly grateful for the staff and place that made our holiday so great.
If you are looking for a place with extra good service and relaxation in wonderful surroundings, Al Mendili is the place!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anja772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
182 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

If you are tired to stay in the polluted Medina go there.The riad is beautifully decorated by Vanessa and you will feel like staying in a Friends house. Vanessa and Emmanuel, the owners are very friendly and will do everything to please you. All the rooms are very nice, with a beautiful view on the countryside and the swimming pool. Breakfast is amazing, changing every day with a large choice of breads, pancake, cheese or fruit salad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jean-PhilippeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
8.4 mi away
Dar NanKa
Dar NanKa
#178 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
3.0 mi away
Dar Jellouna
Dar Jellouna
#419 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
10.8 mi away
Le Cazar
Le Cazar
#20 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Les Jardins de Zyriab Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
Palais Amador
Palais Amador
#128 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 72 reviews
15.6 mi away
Residence Dar Lamia
Residence Dar Lamia
#76 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Mendili Kasbah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Mendili Kasbah

Property: Riad Al Mendili Kasbah
Address: BP/27 Douar Laamrine Sidi Ghiat, Marrakech 40066, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Al Mendili Kasbah 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As soon as you enter Through the studded wooden gate, kasbah Al Mendili reveals its overwhelming charm to you. Catherine and Alain will welcome you warmly in their posh and friendly surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Prestigia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Al Mendili Kasbah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing