We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, with great staff”
Reviewed March 31, 2010

What a fantastic holiday! we arrived late after a delayed flight and thought we were going to go hungry, but no the hotel management had kept the restaurant open for everyone. We had welcome drinks waiting and check in was a breeze even thought there was 3 bus loads coming back to the hotel at the same time! Our room was right at the back of the complex although it didnt have the best view as the hotel is only 99% completed i imagen it will once the gardens are complete!

Not one problem with the hotel, it was like i said, fantastic. We ate in both of the A La Carte restaurants which were lovely, still a buffet style but felt abit more personal. Drinks were great, and the rooms were large and nicely decorated! Weather was amazing, was 30oc everyday with abit of cloud in the morning and evening but was tanning weather non the less!

I would book the excursions at the welcome meeting, i'd book them beofre you travel as them seemed to work out cheaper! We did the discover Marrakech excursion which id deffinatly recommend so you can get a feel for the souks and go back again and enjoy it in your own time, as the hotel has a free shuttle bus that takes you to the Djemaa el fna square where the souks are located! We also did the cascades d'ouzouds excursion which was really pretty but a hard walk, you had to climb plenty of steps to get the best view!

The only thing i will mention was the pool was really really cold but what can you expect that time of year and a pool that size!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kozzie_Lumps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,815
    1,917
    587
    157
    82
See reviews for
1,375
2,963
61
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,295)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wellingborough
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2010

when you arrive you are greeted by staff with a friut cocktail,the rooms are big and comfortable,pool is very large with plenty of sunbeds but get full very quick,some days you will get friut skewers and friuty cocktails bought round,food is good but not a great variety,the italian restuarant was good they make u any pizza u wish but the morrocan resturant is definatly a must,you will never go hungry or thirsty at this hotel although the drinks are local and taste like toilet cleaner the wine is nice though.there is still some work bein done around the hotel.the entertainment team work hard from morning to night.the hotel shop is very over priced best to go to souks or shop at the airport.the hotel entertainment is ok they try there best and there is two male singers in the lobby if you like a nice dance.staff are very friendly and would do anything for you.the bar shuts dead on midnite so if you want to carry on drinking stock up because they are not keen on you buying .the souks are a real eye opener just be WARNED.it is quiet a walk to your room from the hotel.there is no pubs or shops around the hotel area no where for a walk really.would definatly recommend the trip to FANTASIA AND CAMEL RIDE.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maiseymoo_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESHIRE uk
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2010

stayed here from 12/03 for a week. First of all it is not as grand as other Riu resorts we have stayed at. Check in was not smooth,it never is,was given a ground floor room,changed it to first floor room,but remember,this is a two storey resort,so half the guests will get a ground floor room,and these rooms have an open terrace.
Room,big clean and well decorated,A/C worked,TV a small 17" has ITV Ch5 BBC news.
No tea or coffee making facilities,no iron or ironing-board.,room had a fridge,don't know why,the only drink are water bottles.Cleaning staff good.
Over all this is a new resort so the plants etc are still being planted in,two small lakes were green and slimey,big swimming pool with plenty of sun-loungers etc.
Food ,well it can vary from day to day,Moroccan restaurant,is a waste of time,service in this is poor,they give you a menu,but it is buffet style! staff indifferent.
Main restaurants ,food is not plenty,minimal staff,service ,nothing special,beef and lamb roasts are maily red raw,may be the french like it that way...surprisingly very little fruit is served,food really lets this place down.Free wi-fi in the mail lobby.
there is a bus that runs from hotel to town and back,it is free,last bus is at 7pm to town.
I got the feeling that staff here will not go the extra mile to help you.
Over all not a 5star,run on a budget,if you have not been to other Riu resorts,then this is ok.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essjayCHESHIREuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed March 29, 2010

The hotel is very new and as described before, out of town with nowhere to go unless you take the transport to town.
Smoking is allowed everywhere and it is a long long walk to the rooms.
Lots of sun beds!! Staff lovely and bring fruit kebabs around the pool!
Entertainment is poor but the staff are so enthusiastic and enjoy it so much it is not fair to criticize!!
Food OK but repetitive and even the speciality restaurants are buffet service.
Superb Spa, enjoy the massage!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blashill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast, uk
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 29, 2010

First don't exchange your money at the airport in UK you get a much better rate in the Hotel.
Reception - Good no problems checking in or out.. Arrived out 2200hrs and went striaght into evening meal and checking in after. Bags taken striaght to room, porters do not expect tip as they know you have no currency yet.
Rooms - Huge, beds rock hard though. TV with sky news, bbc news and channel 5.Free safe. Water daily in the mini fridge. Maid service very good and very friendly.
Food - Nice althogh the same most days, two speciallity resturants, moriccan and Italian both included and both very nice. Limited alcohol choice at the bar but covers most tastes. Nice coffee both in the food areas and the bar. Nice beer.
Location - Poor, Hotel in the middle of no where and their is no nice walks etc, the grounds are not yet established but will look wonderful when they are. The hotel offers a free shuttle service into Marrakech during daylight hours, needs to be booked the night before at reception.
Trips - We went on three:
Souks and Medinas - Fab, Half a day around the old town, the guide was good and enough free time was given. £16
Gardens: Disappointing, one garden was ok, although just established cactus and Bamboo and the other not a garden but an olive grove, nice horse and cart ride at the end £26
Ourika valley. A sight seing trip to the lower Altas mountains following the route of the melt water. Stopping at a Berber house to have Tea and Bread. Nice Scenery several stops for photo opportunities. £27
Or we did all three on an offer for £52 approx.
To sum up: Nice hotel, poor location, nice staff and pleasant surrounding, just make sure if you want one of the comfy sunbeds you put your towel out at midnight ( we're not joking or that sad !!!)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingcuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Spent two weeks here with only one complaint regarding the noisy air con. This was rectified after my third visit to reception, other than that this is a great place to chill out!
Food is excellent, something for even the fussiest of eaters, (my wife for instance!). The only thing we found 'iffy' was the Fanta & Sprite out of the mixer gun, not as we know it. Diet Coke is freely available from the bottle. The hotel shop is a rip off! £3 for a 100g bag of crisps for instance! Take a 10 - 15 minute walk to Metro cash & carry which is open from 0730 -2200 every day where you will be able to by the same crisps for about 99p! All you need is your passport for entry and you can buy whatever comes your fancy.
For those who winge about smokers, get a life! All the restaurants are non smoking as is the entertainment lounge/bar.
The only down side I can think of is where the hotel is situated, nothing outside the hotel, unless you take a 15 - 20 minute bus/taxi ride into Marrakech, but hey-ho.
We will definitely come here again

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr World Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

Service, facilities and food excellent Huge hotel with large rooms All buildings were 2 floors - we had a ground floor room with a patio The pool area was spacious but the water was too cold for us - the indoor pool awas large and warmer Plenty of sunloungers and parasols - no need for 7.30 towels The food was great and the desserts were out of this world Entertainment - a very good duo played for dancing but the shows were boring at times Day time activities were run by the young animators who worked their socks off
The free shutle bus tto Marrakesh several times a day was a boon We went during the day but it was frantic then Once was enough!
On the down side there are no shops or bars nearby - there is 1 supermarket 500yds away The bedrooms are about 100yds from reception and dining rooms, which could be drawback if it was raining
All inclusive was good value for money (although I have never heard of McQuuens scotch!)
The staff were always smiling and helpful Changing sterling for dirhams and vice versa at the hotel was no problem The airport has few shops and 2 duty frees - one is cheaper than the other, so shop around
If we went to Marrakesh again we would definitely stay at this hotel

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TarrasOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#114 of 499 in Marrakech
2,778 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#111 of 499 in Marrakech
2,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#77 of 499 in Marrakech
371 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing