We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great gardens, clean and elegant.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #102 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great gardens, clean and elegant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

Lovely hotel, great food and a breathtaking swimming pool. Free bus to town and back every couple of hours was really useful. Felt very safe and quite frankly one of the better holidays we have had (when considering the nature of package holidays).

Heated indoor pool was of great use.

Rooms are massive and the towel displays each day were a real treat to return to at the end of a hard days sight seeing.

10 mins coach travel to the centre of Marrakesh.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank samstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,625
    1,732
    517
    125
    63
See reviews for
1,250
2,702
46
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from 10th till 24th october.
We arrived at 10 ish,to met by the hotel manager.
And the restaurent was still open,and there was still lots to eat and hot too.
It was lovely,the staff were all extremely nice and helpful.
Nothing was too much trouble for them.
My only critism,there wasnt much to do in the evenings or during the day,if you didnt want to go out of the hotel.
Im not one for sunbathing all day.
The excursions with Thomsons were great value for money,especially the discover Marrakech.
You got to see 8 out of 10 things to see in Marrakech.
I loved the Mosque in Jma El Fna square.
And hearing the Imam first thing morning,and at 6.30 in the evening.

Whilst I was there it was Eide,a holy day for them.
Everything was closed for the day,and the hotel was packed.
Of course,some English made rude remarks about this.
My opinion is,if you dont like the way Muslims live their religion,then dont go to a Muslim country.

Whilst there,i spoke to a few English people.
One lady was really nice,except for her travelling companion.
He was so arrogant,and self opiniated.
I felt sorry for her,glad i wasnt with him.
I would have took him to the Atlas mountains and left him,to find his own way back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank florace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

We have recently recent from our Christmas holiday and what a fabulous time we had.We had a good flight with Thomsons no problems.We arrived at the hotel to be greeted with a welcome drink and lovely friendly reception staff..I am disabled and gad already emailed to get a particular room but unfortunately this was already booked so Khalil the reception manager upgraded us to a suite as I needed a shower rather than bath,well what a surprise the suite was enormous the bed was huge and each say the maid arranged the bed with different designs and rose petals.we had suite 5008 near to the pool.t.There are three restaurants, including a Moroccan, Italian and the everyday buffet we didn't try the speciality ones because there was so much to choose in the main restaurant .The white wine is ok and on a Sunday you get champagne and smoked salmon very nice.
The animation especially Abdel,MJ,Redman and of my favourite Tarqic he kept taking my mobility scooter and riding round the hotel ,they work so hard to keep everyone entertained.
On Christmas Eve there was a champagne reception and then a brilliant banquet. We would also like to mention the dining room staff who kept a table at the front so I didn't have far to walk for my meals ,so our thanks to Ficiel and Abdullah .Also a very big thank you to Samir the waiter who was outstanding.The holiday was fab and we are going back next Christmas2014

Room Tip: Rooms 1000 are near the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 123Suzywong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

This was our first All Inclusive holiday and it won't be our last. The staff here are all so friendly, helpful and efficient.

I was a bit worried that as budget holiday people we may feel like the poor relatives, but that is not the case. I did take a couple of posh frocks but I really didn't need to get dolled up as it is more smart casual than dressing for dinner. Phew.

The food was very good, lots of choice with local and European food. This had been my biggest concern when booking, I like to eat local food and was worried that everything would be bland, stodgy and boring at the hotel but this was not the case. There was something for everyone at every meal, steak, chicken, lamb, vegetarian options, fantastic salads, and of course Tagine. The bread was truly amazing. On Sunday there was a champagne breakfast.

The room was clean and spacious, beds comfortable and we looked forward to seeing what swan towel we would have each day. The option of having heating on was welcome as the nights were chilly and there was frost on the ground most mornings.

If you go in the winter take a coat for the evenings as you may have to walk a fair way from your room to the main hotel and it can be chilly.

We went on a number of trips and also into Marrakesh on the courtesy bus so really did not take full advantage of all the hotel offered. The outdoor pool was cold so not many swam there, but it was warm enough to sunbathe most days. The indoor pool looked lovely but never used it or the gym, despite good intentions.

This hotel and holiday offers something for everyone. If all you want to do is eat, drink, relax, swim and sunbathe, you would be happy. For the health concious there was lots of lovely healthy food and opportunities to exercise. For the adventurous, plenty of good trips are available from the hotel. One young couple we met had booked a 3 day trip to the Sahara independently for a lot less than the tour operator trips, and loved it.

As we were very lazy we booked with the tour operator and possibly could have got better prices elsewhere, and with one exception thoroughly enjoyed them. the one we were not happy with was the one visiting the Kasbahs. It was too long, from 7am to 7pm, and you really didn't visit many Kasbahs and everyone on the trip agreed we got little cultural experience. We joked about it being a drive, stop, ordered to take a photo and leave experience. We advised Thomsons that they would be wise to review offering this trip. Food on both the all day trips was good.

Once we got used to the hassle of the Souks etc we just fell in love with Marrakesh. It is so different to anywhere we have ever been and is a bit overwhelming at first. Donkeys and buses and moped and bikes and taxis and cars and people crossing in between all of this chaos. Take note of all the warnings in previous reviews about snake charmers and henna tattoos and be aware that most people do not like to have their photo taken and those that do will expect to be paid. Take lots of change. And go into the Medina at night. The street food market is fantastic. the Cafe de France has a great terrace to watch all that is going on (including fights between snake charmers) coffee is cheap and the toilets are clean. We visited one of the herbalists and were almost duped into buying goods at over inflated prices from him. As he showed us his herbs and oils packets started to pile up on the counter (which we didn't ask for) and he totalled them up to 900 Dirhan. Fortunately I had programmed the exchange rate into my phone and knew this was about £66 which for anywhere is a very expensive pile of herbs and spices. We said no and he turned very unpleasant. Tip here is to say you have no cash of cards on you as he was very keen to get all his customers to pay by card. Even better take very little cash and no cards with you. You can always go back for that must have Argan oil another day.

The two day open bus trip is good value and a good way to see more of Marrakesh. We shared it with a number of noisy but well behaved football supporters from Brazil. The stop at the Jardin Marjorelle http://www.jardinmajorelle.com/ is a must. Check the bus times though as you could have a long wait.

My little (and they very minor) niggles about the hotel are:

The wifi signal was very weak. It seemed to be strongest near the bar area. Normally this would not be a problem, but I am a non smoker and this is the only public area where smoking was permitted.

RIU, please re think you smoking policy please.

And improve your wifi.

Shampoo/shower gel are in measly sachets, and we had to request additional ones (which were supplied very promptly). I was surprised that shampoo etc. is not supplied in dispensers. Not sure this meets the environmental standard they claim to meet.

Delays to check in the room on arrival. We were on a 7 am flight so had been awake since 3 am. We arrived at the hotel hungry and tired and in need of a shower. As three flights arrived at about the same time there was a long wait to check in on arrival at about 11.45 and rooms not available until between 1 and 2. It would have been better for the guests if the hotel could open the lunch facilities slightly earlier and let us all check in after lunch when rooms were ready. I also question why rooms were not available when the hotel was not full to capacity.

Totally confused about tipping policy. No staff hung around expecting a tip (good) especially after the hustling that goes on in the city. Guidance would be very useful.

As I said these are minor niggles.

Would we go again? At the price we paid definitely. Most people were there that week as it was a very good pre Christmas bargain. Some came the same week every year as they knew they would get sun and a good hotel at a very good price.

the overall experience was so good that I would definitely consider going to another RIU hotel. And now I know they are still a family business and not a faceless chain even more so. This makes me very happy and I get the impression that it is a good company to work for from all the staff I spoke to. Happy staff = Happy customers.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have private balconies, we were on the ground floor and never opened the curtains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingcoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

Just got back from a christmas break for one week. As per the usual Riu brand ,cannot fault the staff,service,resort or food. The gym has good basic facilities to keep gym buffs ticking over the holiday. Just spoilt by a few chavs. No wifi though.The outdoor pool was freezing but the indoor pool is heated.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsBo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Booked a week through Thomson - fab hotel, wifi was hit and miss at the best of times but it was clear that the staff are still trying to fix it so it works all the time! Rooms are really big, but as it's been v cold in the evening we needed extra blankets in the room. We had to ask several times before we got them, but overall it was a great holiday. Bring lots of jumpers for the early morning and evening in December/January as it gets down to about 7/8 degrees!

Food is great - loads to choose from and breakfast and dinner are in the main area and lunch is by the pool.

Staff are great but I found the animation team were a bit too intrusive when you're by the pool relaxing.

Excursions - we did the Gardens of Marrakech and the Souks and Medina (both through Thomson) and they were fantastic value for money at around £20pp each!

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room away from the swimming pool which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked eleven nights at this hotel from 16th Dec until 27th.
We had welcome drinks on arrival and they kept the restaurant open for us even though we arrived at 9.30 pm . We were given a room facing the tennis courts so we asked to change rooms - no problem at all - they gave us a room on the first floor looking out to the pool .
Food was great - plenty of selection and waiters were fantastic .
Bedrooms were lovely - clean , comfortable beds , spare blankets and extra pillows, free safe and best of BBC 1 and 2 tv channels .
There was a shuttle bus to the medina but it was only at certain times and you had to pre book . A taxi from the hotel was 100 dh each way £9 .
After five nights we asked our rep if we could change hotels and go to the Riu Tikida Garden hotel ( where we have been several times before ) as it was so much nearer to the old town and only cost 30dh ( £2.50 ) to go anywhere by taxi. We wanted to go out in the evenings and the taxis were so cheap we felt that we could come and go as we pleased.
Both hotels were fantastic , but the Tikida Gardens suited us better purely from the location point of view .

BBC 1 and 2

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GillBrazil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#117 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,478 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#108 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#105 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,333 reviews
11.9 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travelocity so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing