We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #88 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked eleven nights at this hotel from 16th Dec until 27th.
We had welcome drinks on arrival and they kept the restaurant open for us even though we arrived at 9.30 pm . We were given a room facing the tennis courts so we asked to change rooms - no problem at all - they gave us a room on the first floor looking out to the pool .
Food was great - plenty of selection and waiters were fantastic .
Bedrooms were lovely - clean , comfortable beds , spare blankets and extra pillows, free safe and best of BBC 1 and 2 tv channels .
There was a shuttle bus to the medina but it was only at certain times and you had to pre book . A taxi from the hotel was 100 dh each way £9 .
After five nights we asked our rep if we could change hotels and go to the Riu Tikida Garden hotel ( where we have been several times before ) as it was so much nearer to the old town and only cost 30dh ( £2.50 ) to go anywhere by taxi. We wanted to go out in the evenings and the taxis were so cheap we felt that we could come and go as we pleased.
Both hotels were fantastic , but the Tikida Gardens suited us better purely from the location point of view .

BBC 1 and 2

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GillBrazil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,782 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,535
    1,631
    451
    110
    55
See reviews for
1,181
2,544
41
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle,Staffs
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We never go back anywhere twice as a rule, however, this is an exception as it was our third trip to this hotel in the last 12 months. We weren't disappointed as it was every bit as good as the first two times. Standards certainly haven't dropped and the majority of staff are as friendly as ever.
Yes, the huge pool is cold (apart from June to Sept) and the wifi is not particularly good, but these are beyond the control of the hotel (as are the flies, which are far less abundant in December). The spacious and comfortable rooms are well away from the main complex and require a flat walk of at least 150m to 300m albeit through well tended gardens. Being away from the main block does mean that night-time noise from other guests is kept to a minimum.
Food and drink is both good and plentiful and what you would expect from a 4 star RUI (the Cava and smoked salmon for Sunday breakfast was worth getting up for).
Someone mentioned tipping earlier. Most of the waiters get the equivalent of £40 per week and work long shifts and so a tip of 20 dirhams (about £1.70) goes down well. Tips tend to be shared and so don't be surprised if you tip one waiter, say 50 dirhams (£4) and then another waiter brings you nuts and olives or larger glasses of wine or Cava soon after.
The hotel is out of the way and there is nowhere worth strolling to within the immediate vicinity but the hotel shuttle bus into the heart of Marrakech is worthwhile if you only do it once as Marrakech can be a daunting, but safe place, as long as you are not feint hearted. Beware locals telling you that this road/alley is closed- they aren't! They just want to lead you somewhere else and then expect a tip for doing so.

Room Tip: Ground floor-blocks 1 and 4 Rooms in the low 1000's and 4000's.Thompsons flight crews and ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lichfield
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

If you are looking for a spotless, friendly, well positioned hotel, this is the one. Service, food and facilities are all first class. Free shuttle bus to the Souks is great. Don't go if you want your room inside the hotel as all the rooms are spread around the beautiful grounds and are a nice walk way from the actual hotel itself.

Room Tip: We had Room 4007 which was ground floor near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank review37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Simple review this, but life needn't be that complicated. In short a fabulously clean, reasonably priced genuine 4*hotel positioned close to Marrakech, but far enough away for some peace and tranquillity if needed. Food was great (the best we've experienced from the last five all inclusive hotels visited). The staff are extremely friendly, attentive and helpful when you need them and at arms length when you don't. Rooms are big and well appointed with comfortable beds and good bathrooms. Bars are un-crowded and entertainment is reasonable if that's what you're looking for. We met some fabulous people whilst here for a week in November and certainly didn't experience any of the 'Here we go, here we go' brigade referred to in previous reviews. Well done Riu ... You delivered a great experience for us and we'd definitely come back, but next time when the pools a little warmer !

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank secretvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Our first AI experience exceeded expectations, Every part of the hotel was immaculately clean at all times. Grounds perfectly manicured, staff in all areas give 100% - they are happy, friendly and helpful in every way - a credit to the hotel and company. Drinks and food good quality and plentiful - breakfast is a feast and a half! (Think of all the breakfast items you know and double it!)

Our second time in Marrakesh - a vibrant city not for the feint-hearted, some would say. The hotel provides a calm oasis of tranquillity after the madness of the souks. I have just one complaint - the Moroccan acceptance of smoking in public places means that for we non-smokers sitting in the bar wasn't a nice experience. There were non-smoking tables outside the main bar but as the main bar has a lovely ambiance we felt a little 'cheated'. The outer areas are still very nice though - large comfortable alcoves and a huge sunken area where the musicians (very good) played. Overall - a terrific holiday - wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Don't worry about which room - some are lighter, some quieter. All are spacious, well equipped...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shep35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Sitting on the train home to Glasgow from Manchester writing this review 17/12/13.
RIU Tikida Palmerie.
This hotel is all a bit contradictory 4* + rating from Thomson but only give themselves a 4*
Think we'll go with the 4* option.
On arrival very nice clean well presented hotel, were met by staff who gave us all a cocktail at the door then ushered either to the dining room to eat or to the reception desk to check in. We chose the later as we had had a long trip by train from Glasgow then the flight. To be fair anything would have tasted good at that time but was pleasantly surprised at the amount of freshly prepared food was on offer to us.
Once fed we checked in another painless and friendly welcome stickers on our luggage and off to our room. Luggage soon to follow delivered by the staff.
Room was spotlessly clean and kept that way throughout our stay. Twin bed set up but to be honest it wasn't an issue. Clean comfortable beds, extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe ah yes extra blankets were required it was freezing at and through the night and unfortunately during a couple of the days. Unpredictable time of the year in Morocco.
Breakfast was the usual hotchpotch of salads cooked bacon sausage fresh made omelettes fruits pastries etc. tea coffee plentyfull and always by the very attentive and friendly waiters.
Lunch was served in the pool bar with a large outdoor eating area again plenty freshly prepared food from Soup to pizza and chips to panini and a few variations on the previous nights dinner and always served with as much wine beer soft drinks as you wanted and again by the very attentive and friendly waiters. As with most all inclusive did become a bit repetitive.
Dinner was again buffet style with a wide and varied selection of food every night, this is where my and my good ladies disappointment of the holiday stemmed. The food was very bland, part of our reason for choosing this holiday was to sample some original tasty Moroccan fayre very disappointed it all lacked a bit of OOOMPH. I discussed this with our rep who informed me that the local cuisine is not particularly spicy not at all in this instance.
We ate in both the Italian and Moroccan speciality restaurants which were good but again served buffet style, both worth a visit if just for a change of venue.
Swimming pool was lovely to look at but only a few brave or stupid soles ventured into it absolutely freezing, heated indoor pool all be it very basic inside was warm and clean.
Gym next door ! We go on holiday to be on holiday not pound out the miles in a sweaty gym ! Sorry rant over.
Didn't use the spa but have to say it appeared quite pricy.
Excursions.
We decided it would be wise to take a guided tour of Marrakech and the souks. Glad we did please do not let the romanticism overtake the reality of this city, it is a vibrant noisy cramped overwhelming at times and also a bit shocking to the senses.
Please don't be put off, we've been, seen it, done it, one to tick off the list don't think we'll be back. Kinda went of topic there, the hotel was good the staff are great if you choose to go I would say this place is ok for the offers that are going about.

Room Tip: Emailed the hotel prior to leaving asking for a quiet room pool view they did their best but gave us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravellers317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

We visited in November 2013 when the average daily temperature got up to 27 degrees.

We were very pleaseed with what we paid for the the 4 nights away.

Staff were lovely, perhaps could have been slightly more attentive at dinner as some couples were given wine whereas others had to go and get drinks themselves.

The entertainment wasn't for us...somewhat cringe at points but seemed to draw a crowd most nights.

Drinks and cocktails good - used branded drinks which was surprising to see in an all inclusive resort.

Would go back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#111 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#100 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 4,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
5.2 mi away
SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace
SENTIDO Kenzi Menara Palace
#95 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing