We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but could be a lot better!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie to your Saves list
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Your first gift: 500 pts
Ranked #93 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Broxbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good, but could be a lot better!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just arrived back from a golfing break at this Hotel. The staff were excellent, but the rooms, although spacious were in need of an overhaul. Pillows and towells were unacceptable. The food was generally excellent, although some variety would have been nice. The pool area and gardens are very well kept, and clean.

Room Tip: Suites looked nice, but still same problems with old pillows and towells...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,493
    1,599
    444
    106
    50
See reviews for
1,145
2,508
41
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,145)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Family of seven visited this hotel for 2 weeks. Nice and clean, food is of a higher standard then normal all inclusive hotels, but have to admit after 2 weeks I started to get bored with the same thing.
Pool is lovely, lots of sunbeds available, the majority of the staff are lovely with just a few mini hitlers about that feel they are very important.
The hotel is a bit out of the way but a quick taxi ride into the square sorts that out.
The hotel shop is horrifically expensive and again staff in there are rude. They just ignor you whilst carrying on phone conversations. Also worth noting that there are lots and lots of newspapers and magazines and not 1 of them was in English, they were all French.
All in all a very quiet and peaceful holiday. If you want nightlife ad entertaining this hotel is not for you, but if you want peace and quiet you wont find a nicer hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HullYorkshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paignton devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We arrived late at night to be given a welcoming drink and asked if we would like to go to the restaurant for a bite to eat and to then book in.Our bags were then taken to our room. We found our room quite quickly as there are security people around the grounds ( don't know why as we never saw any trouble).
we had a first floor room which was large and very clean ( I always check the beds etc when I get in the room)There is a sitting area which can be used as a day bed.
Yes the mattresses are a little hard but if you go to reception and ask then you can have a mattress topper put on your bed, more pillows are also available just ask.
The main restaurant is busy but just have patience for goodness sake your on holiday.Some waiters will ask if you would like a drink bought over and if you do they will continue getting them for you, if however you would rather get your own that's no problem either.The main restaurant is buffet style but the waiting personal will help anyone in need of any help. The chefs will also try to prepare anything that you wish to have if they possibly can.
We struggled a little as we don't eat beef or fish but there is always something to be found wether it's pizza or pasta. The desserts are fancy and don't always taste as you think, but try and if you don't like then just leave it no-one will say anything to you.
We found both the Italian and Moroccan a little disappointing but try for yourself ( at least they try ).
The manager and assistant manager can be seen around the grounds and even eating in the restaurants along side the guests.The head chefs are always checking that everything is fine and as I have already said they will try to find you something to eat even if it isn't on the menu.
The receptionist can't do enough for you and no request is ignored ( they even offered to send a staff member to get something from the supermarket rather than let us have to walk there even though it's only down the road).
You don't need to book a late room as they will let you shower in the inside pool and even give you towels or shower gel etc, so save yourself some money.
The animation team although of various nationalities try extremely hard to get everyone to have a good time. You are not made to do anything you don't want too but just relax and try to join in.
Sorry this is such a long review but when something is good then it should be told.
All in all go there and enjoy

Room Tip: If you are offered room 4128 ask for another as this next door to the cleaners room and they start a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ifer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I'm re-posting this review as trip advisor removed it thinking it was for the wrong hotel but this is 100% for the Riu Palmeraie in Marrakech.

Well I'm writing this review while currently sitting in another Riu hotel in Agadir this time... and its only really in hindsight that I realise how average / poor it really was.

Firstly its miles out on its own just off a main road. Dont think about popping out of the hotel to walk to get anything as there is nothing for miles (Ok a petrol station about 300m towards the city but thats it). Not the end of the world if the hotel was perfect... which it isn't.

We booked with Thomson for our honeymoon so part of the blame should be with them and I'm not normally someone who expects something for nothing... but a honeymoon is perhaps the one time you'd like to be pampered. Despite telling Thomson this was a honeymoon there was no record of this at the hotel or with the Thomson reps. Whether or not this would have meant we got a nice room or not, I'm not sure.

The room was 5025, which was quite a walk from reception, past the pool and out back, looking at the tennis courts. The room itself was dark and cold and the fittings had seen their best days many years ago. Stains on the lamp shades and sofa cushions, electrics that worked one minute and not the next, paper thin walls and ceiling so you could hear every move your neighbours were making. I complained to reception after the first night and they said they would fix the room as they didn't have any others. The room wasn't fixed but to be fair we did get some petals on the bed and some champagne.... the champagne helped us forget about the crap room for a few minutes which was nice. In general though the room was not a nice place to spend any time what so ever.

The aircon / heating ONLY blew out freezing air even though I switched it to heat mode and asked reception to fix it, so that wasn't great either.

The pool area was ok although the swimming pool was also freezing cold.

Staff were all friendly and although I never tried one of the girly cocktails, the local free beer (from a can) was perfectly drinkable. (Wife now says she was 'indifferent' to the cocktails)

Food was hit and miss... the main restaurant was actually better than I was expecting and we filled ourselves up there quite happily. Some dishes were a bit tasteless but on a mass scale like that it wasn't bad.

The italian was the worst.... OH MY WORD... what an embarrassment. They need to shut that place down. I couldn't eat a single thing and we both left laughing with disbelief that you actually had to book this place in advance like it was a special occasion!

The Moroccan was ok but only the same stuff that you get in the main restaurant anyway so also felt like a waste of time.

Its a shame as they could do so much with it to make it nice and actually style the rooms nicer... but they are just massive brightly lit rooms with zero atmosphere.

Another sub standard thing was the wifi. Now I know people do'nt go on holiday to sit and surf the web but come on... this is 2013 and even most travelodge's in the UK can get wifi in the hotel room (ok...at a cost... but it works!)... The free wifi was only in the main reception area and its so poorly set up using 5 different base stations all named differently. In the mornings you could connect and just about send an email, but past lunch time and in the evening with a load more people in there and there was no chance. I'm not an idiot with computers and I tried on my macbook, ipad and iphone and none would connect. Simply not good enough.

Another down side I've just remembered. We had 2 single beds pushed together. Thanks Thomson and Riu! Just what we wanted on a honeymoon. I was sort of willing to accept maybe it was just a result of being in a different country and thats how things were done, but here in Agadir in another Riu (a nice one this time) and we have a MASSIVE double bed in the nicest room!

I'm trying to think of some positives...

The room was cleaned daily to a good standard
All the staff were friendly and greeted you as you were walking around the hotel
Hotel common areas and grounds were clean and well kept
The pool area was also very clean and well maintained.

As nice as it is writing some positive things above, to be honest they are what you expect in a place like this so it hardly makes up for all the negatives.

The only truly positive memories from this section of our honeymoon is Marrakech itself. The city is fun and vibrant and I'd go back... but never in a million years to this hotel.

Its hard to believe the hotel I'm in now is run by the same company. I'll write my review on this place in a few days but its already miles better. The hotel I'm in now by the way is the Riu Palace in Agadir.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

As most of the reviewers have already said, the place is a little paradise. Huge pool, brilliant food, nice drinks (don't expect any premium brands though) excellent service, nice, spacious and clean rooms.
Two or three things to point out: mattress and pillows need to be replaced, they are old and already too soft, woke up every day with stiff neck.
Already knew there was no internet in the rooms, which was not a problem because most of the time you are outside. But they tell you there's internet in the lobby area, well, good luck with that. It's almost impossible to go online, especially when everybody is trying at the same time (late evening). Coffee and tea facilities in the room would be nice, as all the rooms have a nice balcony with a view, and sometimes you feel like sitting there with something to drink and it is a bit of a trek from the rooms to where they serve drinks and food.
Definitely a place I would stay again though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guidotravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

An amazing place very relaxing made perfect by the ever attentive staff. Nothing is a problem and whilst its not walkable to the Medina there is a free shuttle bus or simply a taxi for 10 euro for 4 less in a smaller car.
The food is a joy with everything possible to enjoy and even though the big storm hit and the hotel flooded the staff literally rolled their trousers up smiled and got on with it. Next day you wouldn't have known
Great place will be back

Room Tip: All rooms overlook gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank webb0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent a week here in Sept 2013. The hotel is amazing and the staff are fantastic.

Rooms: large spacious and airy. Beds and a sofa, large wardrobes and a TV with English channels if the need takes you. All the rooms are away from the main block and so are peaceful, although this also meant the it was a bit if a trek to get from our room to anywhere. The cleaners constantly topped up our bottled water supply.

Cleanliness: summed up in one word...outstanding

Staff: from the concierge going to find a chemist for me on a Sunday to a member of staff giving me a lift to the shops nothing was to much trouble.

Pool: much has been said about this, it was slightly chilly to get in to, but wonderful once you were in. We had no problems finding sun loungers even though we went out about eleven each morning.


Food: plenty of food, good quality and a fair degree of variety. I'm a fussy eater but found plenty to eat.

Overall: A brilliant week, with great people in a wonderful place....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyH_999_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#104 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#103 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 3,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
11.9 mi away
Be Live Family Aqua Fun Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing