We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riu Tikida Palmeraie July 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #102 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Riu Tikida Palmeraie July 2013”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just returned from the Riu Tikida Palmeraie, I went for one week with wife and one of our sons, a 29 year old who saw this as a last family holiday. Arrived on the 1st July 2013. Greeted with a drink and ushered into the dining room for something to eat. Everybody is different at meal time so when we finished and went back to reception there was only one other couple registering. Our cases had been brought into reception and we were given room number stickers to put on them and they were swiftly taken to our rooms. The whole registration process was smooth and a lot better than queuing with a coach load of other guests.
Rooms were pleasant and our son who went as a single guest was given the same standard of room that we had. Air condition worked as did the fridge, which was better than last year’s trip to Djerba on the North East coast of Africa.
Staff could not be more helpful and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant. The food was good with lots of choice in the main restaurants. There were also two other restaurants an Italian and Moroccan that you needed reservations for, however there were no restrictions on the number of times you could eat in them and their was two sittings in each, we preferred the Moroccan.
Have seen reports that the hotel is overrun with cats, not so. There are a few as the general manager likes cats, they were not a problem in fact we quite enjoyed seeing them and reacting with them.
Sun beds were as normal and there were plenty about, if you wanted a prime position you had to be down around 7am to 7:30 am, same was true for the sun bed pillows and tables that were a bit fewer in number. But that was OK as breakfast started at 07:30 with a late breakfast from 10:00 at the pool side Italian restaurant that also served lunch including a BBQ.
Entertainment and animation team worked hard and were always lined up at the main restaurant in the evening and the lunch time restaurant to great you. They were not too pushy and accepted a no if you did not want to join in.
We went with Thomson and the two reps, one English and one Moroccan, were excellent in there help and advice, they were also on site a lot of the time. It was hot, evening temperatures, after the sun went down were 33 to 37, on average the day time temperature was in the mid 40’s and towards the end of our week it hit 50. All in all we would go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,842
    1,939
    593
    159
    84
See reviews for
1,401
2,986
61
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,304)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The Hotel has everything that is needed for a relaxing holiday. All inclusive, no need to worry about cash. Free WIFI in the lobby area. The staff were very friendly, nothing was a problem for them. The food was buffet style, two book only restaurants for variety. Only two criticisms.. Dress code in the restaurant in the evening needs to be upheld (no vests please). Sun bed savers need to be kept an eye on, and the Brits are as guilty.
Visit Marrakech City, make your own mind up as to wether you like/dislike. But do visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Firstly do not listen to the bad reviews... I fail to understand how anyone can moan about this hotel!

We arrived to a welcome drink with lots of staff who were lovely, our room we had was a suite had so much room, cleaned everyday and very modern.

The food was excellent so much choice, the staff in the restaurant are again amazing! The entertainment was good and variety was good for all different ages :)

The grounds were well kept and the security was very high, the reception staff were so helpful and would ensure you had everything!

Pool was lovely and clean, sunbeds were reserved so get there early but always managed to get one... Pool bars are both good with friendly staff again...

I would recommend this hotel to anyone! It was just excellent could not fault it one bit!!

The staff defiantly make this hotel, nothing is ever too much, they make so much effort with everyone.

Wouldn't stay longer than a week as not loads to do but still lovely :)

Don't be put off by bad reviews!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

I am just back from Marrakech on Friday and as whole this city is one of the most beautiful & diverse places that I've ever been too! The hotel grounds & pool are absolutely stunning! It very well maintained & the staff are constantly working to ensure this standard is met. Our room was also stunning although we had to phone reception one night as we were bitten alive by Mosquitos! When we calls though the did come to our room and give us mosquito spray which did help but just be careful even if you only notice one or two call right away! The food was a bit repetitive and to be honest I didn't really enjoy it but I am quite a fussy eater & also for the money you can't really complain. The entertainment at night was awful, we found ourselves getting the 7 o'clock shuttle bus and a taxi home but if you opt for this pay the taxi driver the correct money which should be no more than 150 dirham! We had no change one night and the taxi driver away trying to con us with the incorrect money. We done 4 excursions which were amazing! The cascades of Ozud, history of Marrakech, the souks and the gardens. The cascades is a must see! And the gardens! The souks was also a pretty good one although the history was a bit boring... Also I was ver worries before I came about covering my shoulders and knees but this is not a all compulsory so don't worry. On a whole marrakech was one of the best weeks of my life! Just watch out or Mosquitos & flies!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jodie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at the Riu in May, and upgraded our room to a suite which was great. There was loads of room and plenty of storage etc.
The hotel itself has nothing to offer outside of the complex, so you do need to rely on Taxi's to get you about. But the hotel had everything we needed for the 5 days we were there.

The swimming pool was freezing and we couldn't really go in it, but they did have an indoor pool which we used with our 3 year old daughter. They also had a kids club which i took my daughter along too, but most of the toys were broken or missing part too.

The food was very samey but had a good selection, i think the best meal was breakfast!

We went into Marrakech for a day and hired a guide to take us round which was really good. The hotel provides a bus service to take you into Marrakech town and back to the hotel which is a really good service.

The evening entertainment is very samey - with the kids club at the begining of the night and then live music.

Overall a nice hotel, but could have done with a bit more to do and see outside of the hotel for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nugenthorne_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Fair play the hotel is amazingly well maintained, the staff are friendly, the animation team I have to say are brilliant in the daytime but the evening entertainment was dreadful. The same 2 people doing a set in the outside bar in the evening and not even knowing what set or songs they were doing. We went to watch the shows and walked out after 10mins!
Our air con didn't work properly and they attended straight away but it we were told that was how good it was, so we accepted being warm at night until we went into another room to find it much cooler but only on the last day! My other half didn't really like the food but I found a good choice and ate loads.
I would recommend this hotel if you want to relax in boiling hot weather but not go anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittain8129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

This hotel was absolutely amazing. You really get a wow factor when you walk into reception which doesn't stop until you get to your room!
The food was incredible. So much choice and everything cooked perfectly. We tried both the themed restaurants but found the Italian quite disappointing (the Italian themed night in the main restuarant actually served better food!) The Morroccan restaurant is well worth a visit though and we both throughly enjoyed it.
Sometimes we struggled to find a space by the pool but that was more from pickiness than anything else. Some of the beds were broken but putting two broken ones together fixed that problem! The hotel has a complimentary towel service for pool towels which you can change each day. Saves space in the luggage for other stuff!
The pool was pristine and the perfect temperature for cooling down from the hot days.
In fact the whole hotel was pristine, the staff never seemed to stop tidying, gardening and fixing things!
Everyone was lovely, from the waiters, bar staff, reception to the entertainment team. The entertainment team were amazing, they never lacked for energy and the shows at night were hilarious. As long as you weren't expecting 5 star entertainment and enjoyed a laugh you'd enjoy the show they put on.
We had a couple of problems with the room and getting our luggage to the room (you don't have to let them take your bags which I didn't realise and sat waiting for an hour until they brought it up). Once we reported anything to reception they sorted it straight away.
We didn't really have to queue for anything here. Everyone was grateful if we tipped, they didn't expect it at all.
The hotel is perfect if you want a hot, gorgeous place to lie by the pool for the week. The free shuttle bus to the old town is a bit infrequent but worth using. We explored the souks and found them interesting though a bit intimidating and selling some naff stuff alongside the good, like any market really. If you want to explore the true part of Marrakech then I wouldn't recommend this hotel as it is a bit out of the way, but if you enjoy 5* quality and paradise in one place then definitely go here. We loved it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cornish2509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#115 of 500 in Marrakech
2,800 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#106 of 500 in Marrakech
2,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#83 of 500 in Marrakech
372 reviews
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing