We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #102 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
CARDIFF
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Beautiful Hotel as always with Riu, but its the staff that make the holiday,
Happy, Friendly, Attentive..Great food choice in 3 restaurants. Pool is fab, bit of a pain getting sunbeds when busy, we did manage buy throwing towels off.
Unfortunately the hotel is 20 mins from civilization, but there is a free shuttle bus every hour into Marrakech which is amazing, not everyone's cup of tea but we loved it, shame about the bartering tho, it would be a much better place without..
Look forward to returning ..

Room Tip: We found the cleaners very noisy in the mornings, especially if they were cleaning rooms above us, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNNE J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,354 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,736
    1,847
    556
    139
    76
See reviews for
1,334
2,853
57
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,270)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

First visit to Marrakech and this was a great hotel. All inclusive including drinks and it turned out to be exceptional value for money. We asked for a quiet room and were given a room quite a way from reception but as requested, was nice and quiet. The staff work tirelessly and on the whole were really happy and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. The whole resort was spotless, well maintained and a real credit to everyone who works there. Food was superb, very fresh and tasty. Great variety even for a choosy veggie!
My two niggles, as already mentioned are the wifi. Only available in the reception block, so no chance of using it in your room. And it is soooo slow! Most people go online/check mails morning and evening so unless you go in during the day, you'll pull your hair out with the length of time it takes to do anything.
My other niggle is that despite it being a lovely large swimming pool, it is the only pool. And as a result, aqua aerobics, bingo, darts, table tennis, water polo etc are all done in or around the pool together with the music that accompanies them. Looking for a quiet relaxing break? You won't get it lying by the pool! We also found that given several uk charter companies use the hotel, the clientele can be quite mixed.
The hotel has already been described as an upmarket Butlins - this is probably quite a good description. We'd come back though as it is exceptionally good value for what we paid. Next time though I think our expectations wouldn't be so high as they were on our first visit.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ahj1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

As I sit here in the reception area waiting to leave I thought I would write a few words about the resort.

It is the first all inclusive myself and my fiancée have been on and as a normal couple we found it exceeded our expectations.

Nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff whom work 15 hour + days, always with a smile on their faces and full of energy. A special mention must go to the Animation team, although the evening entertainment isn't our thing they certainly keep a smile on your face during the day.

The food is excellent, I have read reviews about the food being to repetitive but in all honesty we never found that. The Italian and Morrocan restaurants were excellent.

The rooms were clean and spacious and every day the maid would make elaborate patterns with our bed sheets and towels which we thought was a nice touch.

The pool deserves a mention, although Baltic, it was welcome as a cool down when the temperatures got up to the high 30's.

As an all inclusive, they are attracting some riff raff, but that is not the hotels fault. I did find that some nationalities south of the channel were very rude.

Marrakech was an experience, Jammal el fna square is a bustling part of town but be careful, before you know it there will be a monkey or cobra around your neck or a henna tattoo on your arm and someone will be demanding money.

The souks are great but you must haggle otherwise you will be robbed!! Be mindful of men trying to lead you off to secret souks where all the best shops are, which they tried on us on more than one occasion. Keep your money safe also as the kids out there are very light fingered.

The caliche is very good and takes you all around the old and new town. We paid 200MAD for 45 minutes.

We booked through thompsons and went on a few excursions through them. The Cascades of Ouzoud were brilliant but the trek through a massive natural tunnel in the ground straight after lunch was not so pleasant, even as a fit couple it wasn't what we expected with a bellyfull of tagine!!

The Atlas Mountains tour was also excellent but people of a nervous disposition probably should avoid this as our driver was an absolute nutcase!!!!

Finaly we went on a camel caravan, we rode around some wasteland for 45 minutes, nothing more to say really.

All in all a great hotel and a great way of introducing us to all inclusive. We would stay here again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank TheWineHunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stayed from 6th May to the 13th, Manchester to Marrakech, flight only 3hr 20 which was really good. The weather that week was really hot, reaching 40 degress every day. The hotel is absolutely spotless, everywhere is cleaned constantly, and this is throughout the hotel. Rooms are spacious, and have everything you need, they are cleaned every day as normal. The pool is massive, and was really nice when it was so hot! The food was also of a good standard, with plenty of choice, and everything was actually cooked properley! The staff were fanatastic in this hotel, they were genuinely all noce people, but never pestered you or expected a tip. The aniamtion team are great, they put on good shows every and are a credit to the hotel. I would recomend this hotel to anyone, we went with Thomson and got the holiday at a great price, we would defiantely go back. We also went on the 4x4 Atlas mountain trip, this was awesome , ive never been on a trip like that sio didnt know what to expect but it was fantastic, so glad we went on it. If anyone has any questions about this hotel please ask me! :)

Room Tip: Top floor facing the mountains, email the hotel and they will sort this out for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keiron m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantrisant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

My wife and I had 4 nights here recently for our honeymoon as the first part of our twin centre trip to Morocco. The hotel is fabulous. Our room was the furthest away from reception on the whole site but this was a bonus (few minutes walk actually). Since it was our honeymoon and the hotel were aware of this we were upgraded for free into a suite with extra seated area and separate walk-in shower. We had a bottle of Brut in the room on arrival and every day the room cleaners created a variety of heart shapes and swans doused in flower petals. There was a hazy view of the Atlas mountains from our balcony and the sunrise could be seen coming up through the mountains each morning after 6am. The whole campus is incredibly well spaced out. Blocks are at most 2 storeys and it's fairly private for all. The best features are the incredible gardens, walkways, trees, flowers and ponds. It's a haven for birds and wildlife and is so well kept and tranquil. The whole site is just stunning. The downside to this is that you are nearly guaranteed to be woken at 6am each morning by the shrills of early morning birds. A small price to pay in my opinion. Staff are friendly and polite, food and drink is very good (except the cold sheep's brain - won't be trying that again) though it is a good idea to make sure you get out of the hotel to eat for variety on some nights. To be fair, the food in the Riu Tikida Palace in Agadir on the second leg of our twin centre trip was definitely a step up from the Palmeraie for food and drink, but that's a 5 star hotel).

Most importantly, this hotel is a 15 minute free bus ride from the centre of Marrakech which is such a magical, colourful and chaotic place to visit. I'm not here to review excursions but we thoroughly enjoyed the Gardens of Marrakech, the 6 course banquet in a Rhiad in the Medina, and a general day of exploration on our own through the labyrinth like souks of the Medina.

I swam each morning in the warmer indoor pool. Goggles are advisable if your putting your head down for any length of time. But the outdoor pool is very large and is more than ample for swimming, even when many others are in there in the middle of the day.

We would highly recommend this hotel and it was the best part of our twin centre trip (don't bother with Agadir if you want to see the real Morocco). We would definitely consider returning for perhaps a 4-5 night break and use this as a base from which to explore Marrakech again.

Room Tip: End of block suite was quiet though a long walk to reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Visited November 2012 for 2 week. Can't fault the hotel. The staff could not do enough for you. Entertainment there if you want it or comfortable seating areas to sit and chill and chat with friends.
Same as another person said Cocktails on arrive, luggage whisked away. Rooms comfortable. Pool area great. Gardens nice.
Also trips offered by Thomson very reasonable, which makes a change and the Rep was actually interested in the welfare of the guest.
Two weeks in the sun in a comfortable hotel with a bit of culture thrown. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina_SK567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on Thurs 9th May at approx 22:30 following a good flight from Gatwick. Quick check in and room numbers stuck on luggage which we promised would be taken to our room. We were on the first of six coaches to arrive at the hotel that evening so expected our luggage to be transferred quickly. We had a couple of drinks and were in our room about approx 11:30. No luggage!' Several phone calls later the luggage arrived 50 mins later. No tip!!
We were only staying for four nights as we were transferring to Agadir on the Thomson twin centre holiday. The temperature was in the forties so shade was most definitely required round the pool. This was the cause of tension between fellow clients due to the ridiculously small wooden shades which were not up to the job. There were some areas with material shades but these were all taken by 8am.
Wifi was only available in the lobby and a good reception was available during the day. However on the evening it was a different matter. Connection was virtually impossible and very very slow. I asked the reception staff to reboot the wifi box on 2 evenings which seemed to temporarily resolve the issue.
There were no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which was very unusual and the room was dimly lit.
The Marrakech Discovery trip was long. From 08:10 to 19:15 booked through Thomson. Would have been better if we had a different guide who had focussed on telling us about the places we were visiting rather than other things.
Transfer to Agadir was nearly four hrs not two hrs as we had been led to believe.
Other than that we had a fab time but four days were enough. Loved The Square. We drank orange juice from one of the stalls and aye peanuts from there too with no upset tummies.
Hotel was extremely clean and food was good but not too much choice or variety. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#112 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
Sensimar Medina Gardens
Sensimar Medina Gardens
#108 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
5.7 mi away
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
Kenzi Club Agdal Medina
#101 of 495 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,679 reviews
3.5 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, RIU Hotels and Resorts, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing