We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent complex and staff, shame about the entertainment, food and drink.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #108 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Me and my partner stayed at the ‘Rui tikida palmeraie’ at the beginning of March. The first two days we where unlucky with the weather and the hotel was struggling. All of the facilites where overcrowded and ques began to form for everything. We found it very frustrating having to que for buffet food and drinks at the bar. We couldn’t even find a seat in the lobby due to the amount of people taking advantage of the free wi-fi. We eventual returned to our room for some peace.

The hotel complex and rooms are excellent, very spacious and well maintained. The hotel grounds are huge, so be expected to walk a fair distance to use all the facilities. We where located in block 5 which seemed to be the furthest away from all the catering facilities. The gardens are exceptional with a great backdrop of the snow-capped atlas mountains.

The restaurants and meals where adequate. The food was of good quality but got a little repetitive after a week, you where often lucky if it was hot. Both the Italian and Moroccan restaurants are worth a visit, but book early, they are very popular. The wine seemed to be of better quality at the themed restaurants, the waiters do a good job of keeping the bottles from you. In other areas of the hotel the larger and wine is average to say the least, the spirits however are very poor. Nothing is branded other than Martin products and soft-drinks. The glasses thoughout the complex are very small, so expect to visit the bar at least 10 times during an evening.

Both pools and the sports facilities are well kept. The gym is however a little on the small side given the size of the hotel. The indoor pool is of a good size, but not particular warm. We didn’t have the pleasure of using the outdoor pool as it was freezing during our stay.

The hotel entertainment was dreadful in the evenings, it was just the hotel staff dancing about. There where a few themed nights including ‘Irish dancing’ and ‘African dancing’, but instead of hiring in local professionals, again it was just the hotel staff prating around in costumer.

During our stay the hotel was overrun be French travellers, this also seems to be the first language at the resort. Be prepared to be ignored and barged in front of at the buffet, the French don’t do queuing. The hotel staff are exceptional and will cater for your every need, a little tip is much appreciated for there excellent service. Overall we had a warm break away from the British weather, but doubt very much we’ll return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max_nrg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,871)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,526 - 3,532 of 5,871 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Could not rate this place highly enough. Great food and drink - more varied than previous all inclusivesI have stayed in and certainly kept the booze flowing. Friendly staff, clean rooms and a great poolside - what's not too like! The weather was poor the first few days and yet the amount of things to do (entertainment staff, indoor pool, indoor gym, tennis, art classes, cooking lessons, volleyball to name a few) made sure fun was had by all.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank W N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wife & I stayed 7 nights from 28th Jan to 4th Feb this year. The holiday was absolutely wonderful from start to finish, no delays at either airports, fantastic first experience of Riu Hotel, excellent location and very friendly staff, much more than we imagined and anticipated. Platinum privileges enabled us to check in day before departure, avoiding the hassle of queques of on the day check in.
When we arrived at the hotel to be met by the staff with refreshing fruit cocktail juice that was very welcoming on a hot day. The check-in at the reception was very swift, given label for our luggage that was transported to our room. ALI at the reception desk was wonderful and assistive and offered to change our room if we were not happy as the room was allocated to our request. We were directed to have a meal at the buffet restaurant. An extremely nice begining to our holiday. When we arrived at our room it was exactly what we requested and very spacious, close proximity to the pool, restaurants and reception.
The head waiters to name few, ADIL, JAMAL, ABDULLAH, HITCHEM were very courteous and welcoming everytime we entered the restaurants for meals and our sincere gratitude to all of them will remain with us. The other staff with smiling faces worked tirelessly.
We cannot forget the animation team again working tirelessly long hours to keep the tourists of all ages amused and entertained and the ones we got to know well, MIDO, ZAKIYA, YOUNESS & MJ, thanks to all for their warmth, sincere affection & gratitude.
The hotel is 20mins from the outskirt of Marrakech and a regular interval daily coach shuttle service is laid on free by the hotel that needs to be booked a day in advance as it does get quite busy. The service is very puncual to & fro.
We visited Marrakech 4 of 7 days and loved every minute of Jemma el Fna square hustle and bustle. The easiest way to avoid the snake charmers, henna artists, men dressed in colourful costumes to take pictures with you is to either say ''non merci' in French or 'La Shookran' in Arabic and continue to walk. We didn't experience any problems during our stay but in fact we enjoyed every minute of it as was our intention. We ate at few typical Morrocan restaurants around the square and the food was exceptional for the price we paid. Drank fresh orange and fruit juices in the market square that was very refreshing as the weather was very hot in late 70's.
The food at the RiuTikida Palmeraie was quite exceptional for all taste buds.The Italian and Morrocan theme needs to booked in advance and we preferred the Morrocan.
We have no critism of our stay at the RiuTikida Palmeraie and would love to stay here again should we re-visit Marrakech again. We have other Riu hotels to explore in Agadir and other countries.

Room Tip: during peak season first floor rooms would be more convenient and quieter. The reception staff are m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chotasagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

wanted a relaxing week away somewhere we havent been before so decided on Morocco as the weather good for this time of year. chose this hotel from all the good reviews. All the staff very friendly and attentive, even the Manager who is always walking around the hotel. The entertainment staff are great and are not too pushy in wanting you to take part in day activities, we did and enjoyed ourselves. The evening entertainment isnt professional enough for my liking but the staff tried there best, there was a couple of evenings we walked out. Downside is the bars only open until midnight, so no late nights here if you were hoping to drink/dance the night away. accommodation is the other end of complex, so a long walk to all the restaurants and bars. pool very cold this time of year, there was a few brave souls. used the indoor pool though and never got too busy. the buffet restaurant was ok but not fantastic, got a bit repetitive with the choice, ive been to other hotels where there is a lot more on offer. the best night so far was the moroccan restaurant - food delicious, but again buffet style. the italian restaurant I would give a 1 star rating, it just served basically the same as buffet restaurant but with less choice, mainly pasta and pizza. there was no atmosphere to the place, the only effort made was the waiters wearing red and green - very disappointing!! the reps were helpful, we did the 4x4 atlas mountain trip and it was fantastic and worth every penny, the scenery breathtaking and meeting a berber family was an experience never to forget. the garden trip however was mostly disappointing, just greenery but the carriage ride was enjoyable, would advise saving your money and just go on the carriage ride at night instead. the whole complex is very clean and well maintained but rooms looking a bit tired and need a little bit of maintenance i think i.e broken tiles. i would rate this hotel a 3 star and not a 4 star as advertised. would i go back again? maybe not as i dont like to go back to the same place twice. would i recommend to a friend? id ask them to read the above, leave it for them to decide.

Room Tip: all rooms are quite a walk away, we were unfortunate to have the last room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariarob563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have just got back from Morocco staying at Tikida Palmeraie Marrakech. I can say what a wonderful time we all had. The Hotel, staff and People of Marrakech were fantastic. I would highly recommend this Hotel to any one old, young or on a girls holiday like us. The food was good a good choice every evening, we booked to go into the Moroccan and Italian which both were really lovely (try and book the first day you arrive as both get very busy, i liked the Moroccan). The main restaurant was just as good lots to eat and never got bored of it. The entertainment in the evening was really good lots of fun just have to go in with a an open mind and just enjoy it. Went to the Medina lots of times on the hotel bus loved the souks and all the people, as 4 girls on our own we felt very safe and just have to learn to say NO to the market sellers. Do lots of bartering its great fun and a real experience of learning, the centre of the Medina was so different to anything i had every seen, snakes, monkeys, groups of men selling food. Just be aware of taking photos some of the groups of dancers or snake chamers want money. Went to the tombs and gardens, horse and carriage ride. The weather was not good the first couple of days and got very cold in the evenings so take lots of layers, towards the end the sun came out and was very hot so made good use of the pool and sun loungers.
All i can say i would highly rate this hotel and enjoy your stay because i will be back to explore more of marrakech and all it has to offer....

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be a bit noise from the rooms above but that didnt worry me alot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank willowed1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having had a less than happy experience in Tunisia many years ago, I was somewhat wary of returning to North Africa. However, Marrakech did win me over. A really different holiday experience in what feels like a different world but after such a short flight from the UK. Great for some autumn sunshine if the UK summer hasn't delivered (we went early October 2012 for 10 days and relished the rays!). The hotel is lovely, spotlessly clean (even the resident cats!), well laid out, and in keeping with the local style. Staff friendly and helpful. Great choice of food (the French pastries were really excellent as were the local dishes...), never felt we were queuing despite the hotel being full, and the drinks were drinkable (this is not the land of Gordon's G&Ts and Aussie Shiraz so be realistic). There were two themed restaurants -Italian and Moroccan - but to be honest the main restaurant did as good a job. The pool is truly huge if rather chilly but you can improve your front crawl. Evening entertainment was not to our taste, but plenty of others seemed to enjoy it and the ents team deserved an Olympic gold for sheer energy and enthusiasm. It's a trek into town on foot but there is a regular free shuttle bus (bookable) which takes you right to the souks. Don't miss the souk at night! If you are looking for a combination of some R&R and experience of a different culture I would highly recommend Marrakech and also this hotel.

For kids? The hotel wasn't that well geared for children and indeed there were few there at the time although we were slightly ahead of the UK October hols.

PS Keep receipts of currency exchange as you need these to convert any left over holiday cash into sterling before you leave.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SconeStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just returned from Marrakech. We spent a week at this hotel and had a good time.

Firstly some picky points then I will finish with the pluses.

This hotel is part of the Thomson Platinum range however the food quality is not of a high enough standard. The main buffet was very samey and the two speciality restaurants were buffet too. Usually the speciality restaurants are a la carte. The tables are very close together so you can't have a private conversation unless you talk very quietly.
The Italian and Moroccan were not great either, food lukewarm.
I did look at other reviews before I went and thought people were just moaning and never satisfied however I now see where their comments come from.
Also you get pool towels from reception which is odd just have a pool attendant to get towels from like other hotels do.
Pluses -
Lovely rooms we booked a suite well worth it. Lovely grounds, huge pool, plenty of beds, staff always smiling, they work very hard, efficient check in and helpful reception staff.
Courtesy bus to the city runs well just book at reception.

All in all it would get top marks from me minus the food quality which I think is extremely important for a 4 star platinum hotel.
Stayed first week in March 2013 ( weather awful but this is no- ones fault).

Room Tip: Ask for a sun facing room via email we did and our request was met even though we did not get a resp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnyclimes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#125 of 499 in Marrakech
2,923 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#97 of 499 in Marrakech
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#112 of 499 in Marrakech
2,286 reviews
3.1 mi away
Palmeraie Palace
Palmeraie Palace
#135 of 499 in Marrakech
1,312 reviews
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40070, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $104 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with RIU Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing