We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable week”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Ranked #102 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“enjoyable week”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

wanted a relaxing week away somewhere we havent been before so decided on Morocco as the weather good for this time of year. chose this hotel from all the good reviews. All the staff very friendly and attentive, even the Manager who is always walking around the hotel. The entertainment staff are great and are not too pushy in wanting you to take part in day activities, we did and enjoyed ourselves. The evening entertainment isnt professional enough for my liking but the staff tried there best, there was a couple of evenings we walked out. Downside is the bars only open until midnight, so no late nights here if you were hoping to drink/dance the night away. accommodation is the other end of complex, so a long walk to all the restaurants and bars. pool very cold this time of year, there was a few brave souls. used the indoor pool though and never got too busy. the buffet restaurant was ok but not fantastic, got a bit repetitive with the choice, ive been to other hotels where there is a lot more on offer. the best night so far was the moroccan restaurant - food delicious, but again buffet style. the italian restaurant I would give a 1 star rating, it just served basically the same as buffet restaurant but with less choice, mainly pasta and pizza. there was no atmosphere to the place, the only effort made was the waiters wearing red and green - very disappointing!! the reps were helpful, we did the 4x4 atlas mountain trip and it was fantastic and worth every penny, the scenery breathtaking and meeting a berber family was an experience never to forget. the garden trip however was mostly disappointing, just greenery but the carriage ride was enjoyable, would advise saving your money and just go on the carriage ride at night instead. the whole complex is very clean and well maintained but rooms looking a bit tired and need a little bit of maintenance i think i.e broken tiles. i would rate this hotel a 3 star and not a 4 star as advertised. would i go back again? maybe not as i dont like to go back to the same place twice. would i recommend to a friend? id ask them to read the above, leave it for them to decide.

Room Tip: all rooms are quite a walk away, we were unfortunate to have the last room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariarob563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,846
    1,939
    595
    161
    84
See reviews for
1,405
2,989
61
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I have just got back from Morocco staying at Tikida Palmeraie Marrakech. I can say what a wonderful time we all had. The Hotel, staff and People of Marrakech were fantastic. I would highly recommend this Hotel to any one old, young or on a girls holiday like us. The food was good a good choice every evening, we booked to go into the Moroccan and Italian which both were really lovely (try and book the first day you arrive as both get very busy, i liked the Moroccan). The main restaurant was just as good lots to eat and never got bored of it. The entertainment in the evening was really good lots of fun just have to go in with a an open mind and just enjoy it. Went to the Medina lots of times on the hotel bus loved the souks and all the people, as 4 girls on our own we felt very safe and just have to learn to say NO to the market sellers. Do lots of bartering its great fun and a real experience of learning, the centre of the Medina was so different to anything i had every seen, snakes, monkeys, groups of men selling food. Just be aware of taking photos some of the groups of dancers or snake chamers want money. Went to the tombs and gardens, horse and carriage ride. The weather was not good the first couple of days and got very cold in the evenings so take lots of layers, towards the end the sun came out and was very hot so made good use of the pool and sun loungers.
All i can say i would highly rate this hotel and enjoy your stay because i will be back to explore more of marrakech and all it has to offer....

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms can be a bit noise from the rooms above but that didnt worry me alot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willowed1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Having had a less than happy experience in Tunisia many years ago, I was somewhat wary of returning to North Africa. However, Marrakech did win me over. A really different holiday experience in what feels like a different world but after such a short flight from the UK. Great for some autumn sunshine if the UK summer hasn't delivered (we went early October 2012 for 10 days and relished the rays!). The hotel is lovely, spotlessly clean (even the resident cats!), well laid out, and in keeping with the local style. Staff friendly and helpful. Great choice of food (the French pastries were really excellent as were the local dishes...), never felt we were queuing despite the hotel being full, and the drinks were drinkable (this is not the land of Gordon's G&Ts and Aussie Shiraz so be realistic). There were two themed restaurants -Italian and Moroccan - but to be honest the main restaurant did as good a job. The pool is truly huge if rather chilly but you can improve your front crawl. Evening entertainment was not to our taste, but plenty of others seemed to enjoy it and the ents team deserved an Olympic gold for sheer energy and enthusiasm. It's a trek into town on foot but there is a regular free shuttle bus (bookable) which takes you right to the souks. Don't miss the souk at night! If you are looking for a combination of some R&R and experience of a different culture I would highly recommend Marrakech and also this hotel.

For kids? The hotel wasn't that well geared for children and indeed there were few there at the time although we were slightly ahead of the UK October hols.

PS Keep receipts of currency exchange as you need these to convert any left over holiday cash into sterling before you leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SconeStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Just returned from Marrakech. We spent a week at this hotel and had a good time.

Firstly some picky points then I will finish with the pluses.

This hotel is part of the Thomson Platinum range however the food quality is not of a high enough standard. The main buffet was very samey and the two speciality restaurants were buffet too. Usually the speciality restaurants are a la carte. The tables are very close together so you can't have a private conversation unless you talk very quietly.
The Italian and Moroccan were not great either, food lukewarm.
I did look at other reviews before I went and thought people were just moaning and never satisfied however I now see where their comments come from.
Also you get pool towels from reception which is odd just have a pool attendant to get towels from like other hotels do.
Pluses -
Lovely rooms we booked a suite well worth it. Lovely grounds, huge pool, plenty of beds, staff always smiling, they work very hard, efficient check in and helpful reception staff.
Courtesy bus to the city runs well just book at reception.

All in all it would get top marks from me minus the food quality which I think is extremely important for a 4 star platinum hotel.
Stayed first week in March 2013 ( weather awful but this is no- ones fault).

Room Tip: Ask for a sun facing room via email we did and our request was met even though we did not get a resp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyclimes0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

Large, lovely modern hotel in well maintained gardens - half hour out of Marrakech - we went early March, had a few bad days of weather then picked up - lovely, warm 28 deg and sunny, a little hit and miss this time of year with the weather so beware. We booked a standard room away from the very large pool area, it was spacious and well appointed, separate WC and bathroom, 2 beds put together and decent size balcony on second floor, got sun in the morning, many rooms facing sun all day.DYOR. Take a kettle as there were no coffee/tea making facilities in room. Outstanding maid service, deserved tip at end of stay. The pool is huge, shallow area well designed and very safe for kids. This all inclusive was indeed value for money, the restaurants (separate booking needed for Moroccan and Italian restaurant taken in the main restaurant - no extra charge) were good, the food was of a of a very high standard as was the local Beer and Cocktails, the Gin and Tonics, Wine and Brandy were of a very good standard for an all inclusive. Staff and management were always available helpful and very friendly. This hotel is for sun worshipers however there is a free regular courtesy bus service into Marrakech, booking is advisable, great way to see Marrakech, we did a full day trip into the city - wonderful, hagglers not to aggressive but as usual in these places be on your guard. We also took a day trip into the Atlas Mountains, again a very good day out. The Hotel was as an all inclusive was Amazing value for money and yes i would stay here again. Well recommend. PS change your money if need be at hotel, slightly better rate than airport, should be able to change it back if you keep your receipt without to much trouble!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank micwic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Lovely hotel but here are a few bits you only find out when you get there.
1. No tea/coffee facilities in the rooms.
2. The shuttle bus service is not sufficient enough to serve all guests so you need to book up 2-3 days in advance. Also, there are only 6 buses out & five buses back per day. When we were there a taxi should be no more than 100D (about £8 sterling) . Fix the price with the driver before you get in the cab.
3. The rooms are not in the main hotel building and are quite a long (but pleasant) walk away. Hotel staff are happy to carry bags for you but if you have a problem with walking you need to think twice about this hotel.
4. Accommodation is on ground/first floor level with stair access only to first floor.
5. There are no local shops close by the hotel. The hotel shop is very expensive (£20 sterling for a small bottle of sun-tan lotion), 15-20D for postcards that are 2-3D most other places.
6. The internet service is extremely poor. Of the two computers supplied only one was working 50% of the time. They still have dial-up and trying to use blackberry or tablet is excessively slow and often will not connect at all. I only spotted one internet in Marrakech which is a twenty minute drive away.
Apart from that it's a superb hotel :)
Very clean, staff very friendly & helpful, choice of restaurants, huge choice of food.

Room Tip: Ask to be as near as possible to the main hotel.Facing the pool is a nicer outlook too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend at the beginning of March. It was perfect for what we wanted but would not be our normal choice. The hotel itself is about 1/2 hour from the Airport, check in was OK but the insisted in a print out of a confirmation, which we didn’t have as all stored on iPhone, so we had to get behind reception and print off our emails, how bizarre! The rooms are clean and tidy, they are fairly spread out of not too noisy, would have preferred a double bed rather than two singles pushed together, free water was provided which was good. The Hotel is well maintained and the gardens are well manicured. We have never done all inclusive before and it was a bit of a shock, it's like a plague of locusts as times, the food is very average and most of the time it is just warm from sitting on a hot plate. There is plenty of choice, but it's the same day after day. We booked for the Italian, which is where they serve lunch, the only difference is they put a flag on the table, the food is the same. The Moroccan was the best meal we had, but again was self-service. It would be nice to have an A la Carte menu, I would imagine if you came for a long period it would get very boring. We lay in the sun for a day and that was fine, apart from the ridiculous towel system they have, when you check in you are meant to get a card for a towel, we got 1 between 4 of us, to get a towel you hand in the card at the main reception and wait for your towel, if they have them that’s fine, we waited 1/2 hour for fresh towels to arrive and then we had to explain that we only had 1 card. They charge 300 Euros if you steal a poor quality towel that has been washed a million times. My advice, get your towel on day 1 and keep it until you check out, why they can't have towels by the pool god only knows, imagine the chaos in the high of summer. The Spa is good value and the girls enjoyed that part of it. Overall it was a good break; we would not stay for more than 4 days due to the lack of dining options, but the staff make up for its short comings.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peartree123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.5 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#116 of 500 in Marrakech
2,809 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
3.8 mi away
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
#104 of 500 in Marrakech
2,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
1.6 mi away
Palais Aziza & Spa
Palais Aziza & Spa
#85 of 500 in Marrakech
372 reviews
9.8 mi away
Eden Andalou Hotel Aquapark & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie

Property: ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie
Address: Route Fes, km 6 | Annakhil, Marrakech 40007, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 388
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, RIU Hotels and Resorts, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your ClubHotel Riu Tikida Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing