We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad, great location, amazing staff, fabulous food”
Review of Riad Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Papillon
Ranked #26 of 288 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful riad, great location, amazing staff, fabulous food”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

Papillion is beautiful, Abdu, Yasim and the ladies looked after us so
well. It really was 5 star service. They created such a friendly
homely feel that we all relaxed immediately and had a great time.

The food was incredible, and we quickly found out that it was way
better than anything we could find in the many restaurants.
Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrssmashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
67
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2010

My partner and I loved everything about our stay at Riad Papillon. From the moment we arrived at the airport we felt completely and utterly taken care of by Abdou, Yassine and the ladies without feeling intruded upon. We felt so safe and cared for-Yassine even provided with a mobile phone in case we got lost in the souks! The wonderful Yassine guided us, the amazing ladies gave us the best food we ate in Marrakech (and that included some of the top restaurants where we paid top prices!). We love the Moroccan features in the rooms- so tastefully decorated. The roof top tent with candles lit at night time was a highlight for our stay. The only slight criticism was that we couldnt find an alarm clock-which we needed for an early morning trip-However it wasnt a problem as Yassine happily awoke us with a knock on the door.
We will be back next year for our wedding anniversary for sure. We also loved Riad Cinnamon where we stayed for one night when Riad Papillon was full. This Riad is much larger and grander but still excudes the same warmth and tranquility as Riad Papillon. I have to say we felt that both places allowed us to relax completely after our serious day's shopping in the souks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clevergirl100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2010

We were met by the fantastic Abdelatif on the main road, a couple of minutes from the Riad and he guided us through the maze of streets and alleys to the beautiful Riad. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff there, happy to give advice on restaurants/attractions and shopping. Our air-conditioned room was beautiful with a fantastic double shower and a comfy bed, plus tv/wifi and ipod dock. Breakfast on the roof terrace was also spectacular, and the dinner was the best food we had in our 6 days in Morocco and we would highly recommend it. Downsides? Hard to find some - but at a push, you are slightly further from the main square than others you can find(15minute walk - although this was actually a good thing for us as it meant we got to wander through the streets). Overall brilliant and highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianp83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnoustie
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for a week in August in the middle of Ramadan. Being our first trip to Marrakech we didn't know what to expect. Our first impressions of walking down the small backstreets of the Medina made us feel like we might have made a mistake booking the Riad Papillon but how wrong could we have been!! The Riad is such a peaceful place where nothing is too much trouble.

We arranged for the airport transfer and a meal our first night which is great value and the best food we ate in Morocco.

When you arrive you are given a map and a Moroccan mobile phone which we thought was fantastic.

Yassine who manages the Riad and the girls who prepare the meals and ensure the Riad is beautifully presented cannot do enough for you and are very friendly.

Because there are only a number of rooms it's impossible not to meet and interract with the other guests, which we did and met some lovely people.

After just a week there we realised that the little alleyways full of characters and the full on heat, smells and sounds are what make Marrakech such a magical place.

  • Liked — The food and the people
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank GL85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 5, 2010

Did not expect such tranquillity in Marrakesh. Staff could not have done more to make our holiday perfect. Amazing value for money. Will recommend to family and friends and would love to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5-go-wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

We have just come back from staying at Riad Papillon which we loved. The Riad is very stylish, luxurious, clean and quiet - GREAT value for money. All of the rooms are unique and beautifully decorated with thier own bathrooms. It is really close to the main sights and has everything you need on the doorstep. The food is very good and all of the staff so helpful...it is like a home from home. We would especially like to mention Yassin who was brilliant. He is always at the Riad and is so helpful and nice to be around - a perfect person to have running the Riad.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186338Lucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Had a fantastic stay at this Riad with a group of 6 of us taking 3 of the 5 rooms available. It is such a beautiful place in amongst the craziness of the streets outside and has been newly rennovated so everything is nice and new. The rooms are lovely, it has a great plunge pool for cooling off and a rooftop perfect for evening drinks or a chance to catch a few rays on the loungers. Also a great location with a 10 minute walk to the Medina and souks and very handy for taxis as rank just up the road.

Nothing was a problem for Abdul and his team and would recommend to anyone and happily go back if we get the chance to return to Marrakesh - in fact we booked an extra night after returning from Essaouria and felt like we had returned home!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#135 of 1,153 in Marrakech
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Pachavana
Riad Pachavana
#5 of 288 in Marrakech
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Kenz
Riad El Kenz
#31 of 288 in Marrakech
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Domaine Rosaroum
Domaine Rosaroum
#10 of 288 in Marrakech
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Habiba
Dar Habiba
#374 of 1,153 in Marrakech
215 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Smara
Riad Smara
#20 of 288 in Marrakech
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Papillon

Property: Riad Papillon
Address: 15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 288 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Papillon 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Papillon is a newly decorated riad in the best neighborhood of the medina Dar El Basha next to the Pasha Palace -just about 8 minutes walk to the Place J'ma el f'na. This beautiful riad has solar heating panels, beautiful dipping pool in garden courtyard, fountain on roof terrace and BBQ, TV/DVD, Ipod docking, Minibar, Contemporary colours and traditional craftsmen design. Wonderful English speaking staff- trained and experienced.Riad Papillon has several amazing zelige handcrafted tree of life tile designs which are really quite special. On the roof terrace there is a traditional tent where your dinner can be served by candlelight under the stars.Riad Papillon is a haven of tranquility with niches filled with books, fossils and buddahs on display. There really is something quite magical about Riad Papillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Papillon Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing