We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Riad”
Review of Riad Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Papillon
Ranked #24 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Riad is beautiful, staff very friendly, and the meal we pre-ordered for our arrival there was absolutely delicious. The breakfasts were great too, and the advice we received about where to go in Marrakech was excellent. it's a stunning place to stay, I would highly recommend it, especially as they have an airport transfer service incase you're a little worried about how to travel from Marrakech airport to the riad (and the tiny streets of Marrakech can be very confusing!)

My only fault is that I had to cut my trip short and thus leave a day earlier than intended, and although I had paid for a return airport transfer, I was charged for being transferred to the airport a day early. I can understand that it was maybe a bit short notice but would have thought that at the prices we were paying for our stay (and food etc), my transfer would have been valid for having to travel back to the airport earlier than intended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MirandaIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    34
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
67
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 27, 2013

While everything at this riad was brilliant the helpfulness of the staff was the best I've ever experienced. They really went above and beyond what was expected of them, with everything from directions to telling us how much we should be paying for things. The rooms were excellent and food is delicious.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I stayed in this Riad with my boyfriend for 4 nights. The staff are extremely helpful and because the Riad is staffed 24/7 there is always someone to answer your questions. We were welcomed with a lovely meal of Lamb Tagine cooked by one of the ladies. I would highly recommend this if you land late in the evening, as we did. We were provided with a mobile in case we got lost in the souks, however we never needed to use it. Overall I would highly recommend this beautiful, clean Riad located in a tranquil central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophielg91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at Riad Papillon for 3 lovely nights during June. We were met at the airport as requested and driven to the Riad. Yassim (apologies if the spelling is incorrect) greeted us off the taxi with a warm welcome and a smile. As we walked the short distance taking in the sights, smells etc we wondered where we were going but when the front door was opnend we instantly loved it. Nothing was too much trouble, the rooms had everything we needed, all of the staff were very friendly, Yassim in particular, gave us lots of information. Overall, it was in a great location - a great base to begin exploring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Satcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul's Bay, Malta
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We only have praise for this riad and the staff at this guesthouse! We stayed for three nights at the beginning of May 2013 and stayed in the Rose room for all three nights. This was the beginning of our journey in Morocco and we feel that we got a first-hand feel of what Moroccan hospitality is all about. From the minute we arrived in the Medina we were greeted by Abdel from the riad who walked us to the premises and explained to us our whereabouts. For the next three days, he was just exceptional. He went out of his way to accommodate us - he even accompanied us to a medical clinic in order to ensure our safety and well-being. The manager Abdou even found time to call to the clinic to help us out.

The riad was super - great room on the ground floor, lovely shower, beautiful roof terrace for breakfast and late afternoon drinks! We felt at home but more importantly, we feel that we have discovered another family in Morocco!

Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Futre_Malta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My partner and I found Riad Papillon at the Destinations exhibition in London and met with the delightful owners Mike and Louise. We love their environmentally friendly approach and their passion for Morocco-this is why we chose their place (as well as the fact we got an amazing deal for staying there for 10 days!)
The staff were quite incredible the service level is not really comparable to other hotels because they basically take care of you as if you were a long lost friend. Abdilla even went to the post office for us (2 miles away) because we couldnt find anywhere to buy stamps!!!
We ate at several different restaurants-cafe de la poste, la studio, maison arabe but I have to say that none of these was as good as the lamb tagine that Hasna and Meriem cooked for us on our arrival evening. They even gave us a free cookery demo.
We felt totally at home here and even though our room was a bit smaller than some of the higher priced riads we have stayed at before it was cosy and full of character.
Highly recommend this place to all.

Room Tip: We loved the bougainvilia room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have just returned from a lovely holiday in marrakech where we stayed at riad papillon for 4 nights. The riad is in a great location - right in the heart of the medina but very peaceful and quiet. The staff were wonderful - nothing was too much trouble. We had dinner on the roof terrace on the night we arrived - a fantastic lamb tagine. Breakfast was served whenever we wanted it - no set time. We were given loads of useful information and a mobile phone incase we got lost. The riad also arranged our pick up and drop off at the airport which I would recommend. All in all, a wonderful stay - our first time in Morocco. We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGSMITH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#4 of 285 in Marrakech
293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Cinnamon
Riad Cinnamon
#308 of 1,145 in Marrakech
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#169 of 1,145 in Marrakech
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Pachavana
Riad Pachavana
#3 of 285 in Marrakech
403 reviews
3.0 mi away
Domaine Rosaroum
Domaine Rosaroum
#10 of 285 in Marrakech
135 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Habiba
Dar Habiba
#377 of 1,145 in Marrakech
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Papillon

Property: Riad Papillon
Address: 15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 285 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Papillon 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Papillon is a newly decorated riad in the best neighborhood of the medina Dar El Basha next to the Pasha Palace -just about 8 minutes walk to the Place J'ma el f'na. This beautiful riad has solar heating panels, beautiful dipping pool in garden courtyard, fountain on roof terrace and BBQ, TV/DVD, Ipod docking, Minibar, Contemporary colours and traditional craftsmen design. Wonderful English speaking staff- trained and experienced.Riad Papillon has several amazing zelige handcrafted tree of life tile designs which are really quite special. On the roof terrace there is a traditional tent where your dinner can be served by candlelight under the stars.Riad Papillon is a haven of tranquility with niches filled with books, fossils and buddahs on display. There really is something quite magical about Riad Papillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Riad Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Papillon Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing