We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Papillon
Nearby Hotels
$299
$257
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$294
$266
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$624
$566
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$410
$220
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$454
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$49
$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveler rating
142
36
4
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
142
36
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslamb taginerose roomplunge poolhip marrakechlocal mobile phonemint teabreakfast servedshort walk from the soukssecurity guardthe main squareboutique hotelday tripfantastic stayhome from homerooftop terraceriadmedina
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 182 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2013

It's a small riad that has very helpful caring staff. Make sure you have at least one dinner with them.
The room was very small and being on the ground floor gets quite noisy, hand on heart i think it was a over priced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highabove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

I stayed here last week with my teenage daughter. I was initially worried about being two females on our own and getting lost etc. I need not have worried. Yassan put all concerns to rest by showing us a variety of routes to follow and outlining nearby landmarks to return to; he was great. The useful mobile phone supplied stayed steadfastly in our pocket. The riad itself is lovely, so peaceful and relaxed, lovely staff and great food. I great and unexpected bonus of wine offered with our first-night meal.

I would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Niamhmc64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I agree with all the previous reports in that this is a fantastic place to stay to experience the real Medina in Marraketch. Everything is a walkable distance from the riad and once inside the closed door you experience wonderful tranquility, beautiful surroundings and amazing staff. Abdul and Yossin couldn't have been more helpful and even give you a mobile phone to call them if you get lost in the souk! The breakfasts were first class but you must arrange an evening meal at the riad, it was the best meal we had in Marraketch. In essence, the customer care would rival a top notch hotel and a fraction of the price. Take up the offer of their taxi from the airport and Yossin meets you at the Medina taxi rank as you'll never find the riad on your own! All the rooms looked lovely, each being slightly different. Toiletries are provided (and topped up each day), slippers, fluffy bathrobes, hairdryer, mini fridge with soft drinks, air con, flat screen TV with all the British channels, wi-fi and even an ipod docking station - all available in your room. These guys have got it just right, I would'nt change a thing.

Room Tip: There are 5 rooms, all looked lovely. We stayed in the Hibiscus room which was on the first floor. There are 3 rooms on the ground floor (off the patio area) and 2 on the first floor. The roof terrace is on 2nd floor.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubagirl022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Abdel, the Duty Manager type chap, was helpful & charming from start to finish. We asked for a proper bed in our room for our 12 year old son and they fully obliged ( tho good thing he wasn't oversized!). The breakfast on the terrace would equal anything in a top London hotel - and nowhere could beat the pretty terrace drenched in sunshine. Riad was, like many, down a back alley and a barrow man had to transport our suitcases as cars can't get down but the tour company and riad manager organised this efficiently and on time as we both arrived and left. A great riad & recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanHornby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I chose this Riad based on Trip Advisor reviews and we weren't disappointed. We chose to use the taxi pick up service offered by the hotel which is really worth it and were met at a point where the taxi could go no further and our host Yossine took us down some winding passages until we came to our blue door. There were four of us travelling and we had both the rooms on the first floor which were really charming and comfortable. The Riad offered us the option on a evening meal which we took and it was very nice - a lamb tagine with some local salads which i hadnt come across before. The Riad also sold at a reasonable price a pretty decent red wine to go with it. The next day unfortunately was raining so we didnt get to see Marrakech at its best. It was an excellent location and amazingly we didnt get lost, but were given a 'hotline' to Yossine for him to help out if we needed him. I was initially a little apprehensive about walking down the passageways back to the Riad in the dark, but its well lit and you felt quite safe - just watch out for the mopeds and the donkeys! Well done team Papillion you have a little gem there.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jane t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews