We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven in a Bustling City”
Review of Riad Papillon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Papillon
Ranked #26 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My long-weekend in Marrakech stayed with me for much longer than the four days we were there. The colours, sounds and smells were all so different and exciting, almost overwhelming.
But what really made the stay in this bustling city so special was the peaceful cosyness of Riad Papillon. It really was like a balm for my senses in the midst of such heat and noise.

I am so glad that my boyfriend chose this place to stay over a modern, western-style hotel.
As soon as we walked into the Riad and were greeted by the soft and romantic scent of Jasmine, I knew that I would love it. It really gave us the feeling of being in Morocco. I just wanted to drink everything in through my eyes, the colours, the patterns on the balcony railings, the cushions. Everything was so exotic, and so stylish.

Yassine looked after us really well too, and is so friendly. The Riad's hospitlity is first class. He gave us a map of the city,a mobile phone for emergencies and even some tips on how to haggle!

And out of everywhere we ate in Morocco, the food in the Riad was by far the best. I would also highly recommend trying the Moroccan wine. It is delicious. But my highlight was the breakfast - served on such gorgeous crockery. I am a sucker for cute crockery - so I was in total heaven there.

Oh - and they have the best smelling shower gel and body lotion in the entire universe! I have been trying to find some that smelled the same ever since, but sadly to no avail. Oh well, guess that means we'll have to go back there...

Highly recommended for all.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sanya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
There are newer reviews for Riad Papillon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 175 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2012

Our family of four (with two seven year olds) stayed for 3 nights from 25-28 oct 2012. The Riad is beautiful and very well located for the medina and the souks, they laid on a delicious tagine on our first night, the best meal we had in Marrakech, and arranged a airport pick up. Yassine looked after us personally and could not have been more helpful. highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wilsons04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this lovely Riad. Beautiful rooms and large, clean bathrooms with lots of charm. It felt like an oasis of calm only minutes away from the hussle of the souk. Lovely roof terrace to relax on at the end of the day and we had a fantastic evening meal there on our first night. Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pompey134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Trying to book a fairly last minute trip to Marrakech with hardly any spare time was always going to be a challenge but, after a bit of intensive (10 minutes) online research, we came across Riad Papillon and took a chance on it. It proved well worth it. From the word go, the staff went out of their way to make our short weekend break as good as possible - from organising late night airport transfers and food on arrival to giving us some great restaurant recommendations. The Riad itself is in a great location - ten minutes walk from the Djemma el Fna and close to the Dar al Basha which is good for taxis to anywhere outside of the Medina. Our room was lovely and meant a mere 30 second walk from bed to poolside. Overall, a really good find and great value for money.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Papillon is a wonderful riad with clean, traditionally decorated rooms.
What I liked there the most was the combination of exotic and homey feeling. The atmosphere, decor, the friendly and helpfull people working there, all contributed to this.

Each day started early with a delicious and fresh breakfast on the roof terrace.
The morning continued with a few hour's worth of wandering on the souk's labyrinth, watching the streets waking up. At first, being disoriented and hardly with any point of reference the souk seemed a bit intimidating.
At the same time was exciting getting lost and then finding the way back: even though I haven't used it, I had with me the joker card (Yassine provided each guest a mobile phone to be used in any situation when assistance was needed).

Reading a good book during the noon heat in the dip-in pool or the shadowy inner yard offered a pleasant and calm retreat from the agitation of the streets. When I felt too tired, a short nap in the comfortable bed and the cool room was equally attractive.

One of the most fascinating experiences in Marrakech was observing in the evening the unfolding spectacle in the main square of Jemaa el-Fnaa.

It's not difficult to do this as Papillon is located conveniently, most of the attractions from Medina are within walking distance.

Thank you for a genuine experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mihaela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

Just returned from an 8-night holiday in Morocco, which included a 4-night stay at Riad Papillon. Our group of 11 (4 adults and 7 children ages 5-13) rented out the entire riad. It was perfect. It was exactly what we hoped it would be! The location is perfect, right in the heart of the action inside the medina, easy walking to everything. While splendidly located in the heart of this crazy city, you step inside and it's an oasis of tranquility and cleanliness! The place is gorgeous, beautifully finished and decorated. It even smelled wonderful throughout with scented oil burning, it's all in the details. The small pool in the centre of the riad is perfect for cooling off. It's not large by any means, more of a large hot tub, but certainly big enough for 7 kids to enjoy at once! There are five rooms, three on the ground floor (one twin, one double and one triple) and two on the first floor (one twin and one double). All have wonderful ensuite shower rooms, with delicious bath products that are refilled daily. The terrace on the roof is wonderful, lounge chairs, tables, etc. We spent a couple nights up there talking and enjoying warm Marrakech evenings. It was hot (45 degrees) when we were there, but the rooms all have air-conditioning. That was our salvation, and with exception of one room which the A/C didn't work (the staff was doing all they could to remedy that), the A/C kept us very cool at night and provided a cool retreat during the day when needed. The staff here are great. We felt really well-cared fore. They were very accommodating to anything we requested and were generally very helpful. The house manager even provides you with a local mobile phone to take out with you daily in case you get lost or need any kind of help. We never needed it, but it was nice to have. Breakfast each morning was wonderful, enough variety day after day and plenty of food. We also had them prepare our lunches and dinners for us, all were plentiful and good. They even took a special request when the children were getting tired of Moroccan food and wanted pasta pomordoro. Not a problem, and it was very good! My only slight negative comments to this place would be . . . One that the fountains on the terrace and in the pool were not operating. Not sure why, but it would have been nice and it gave those particular spots a sort of run-down look which was in great contrast to the rest of all the areas in the riad. Not a big deal and it didn't impact our stay, but they should have been flowing. Also I think your stay here could be different if you are sharing the riad with others. As with all riads, the inward facing courtyards mean sound magnifies and echoes off the walls. If fellow riad guests are at all loud whilst you're trying to sleep, you'd definitely hear it. I can't imagine other riads would be any different, however.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank roeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2012

I experienced an exceptional stay at the Riad Papillon in late February 2012 for the Marrakech Biennale. The Biennale program was fascinating and well worth the trip (especially the lectures around town and the exhibit at the royal theater); Riad Papillon's staff were most helpful, patient and kind and the lodgings were attractive, comfortable, thoughtfully appointed and well located.

One of the highlights was also the photography museum and it was nice to feel comfortable, safe and welcome walking throughout the city. The cooking class the staff recommended was just lovely and, in fact, when I returned, my significant other and I immediately made the preserved lemons that we only recently opened because they take about 8 weeks to cure.

As mentioned by other guests, Riad Papillon's provision of a cell phone came in handy once or twice in the process of getting oriented to the delightful maze of the Medina and the taxi pick up and return to the airport were essential. In fact, the driver taught me a bit of Moroccan early on which came in handy on numerous occasions, which was very kind of him.

Occasionally,the staff would make a most welcome and soothing little pot of mint tea, which is another particularly nice memory and a few minutes of lounging in the light breeze on the roof deck also provided a lovely, relaxing retreat.

Thank you once again to the staff for providing a truly first class experience from the first e-mail about booking to the return to the airport and everything inbetween.

I am now looking into ways to volunteer, make small donations, or somehow give back and would appreciate suggestions.

Kind regards, LJKen

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Cinnamon
Riad Cinnamon
#323 of 1,160 in Marrakech
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Star
Riad Star
#124 of 1,160 in Marrakech
143 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Villa El Arsa
Riad Villa El Arsa
#4 of 295 in Marrakech
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Pachavana
Riad Pachavana
#5 of 295 in Marrakech
407 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dar Habiba
Dar Habiba
#380 of 1,160 in Marrakech
216 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Signature
Riad Signature
#10 of 295 in Marrakech
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Papillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Papillon

Address: 15 Derb Tizougarine | Dar el Basha District, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $79 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Papillon 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Papillon is a newly decorated riad in the best neighborhood of the medina Dar El Basha next to the Pasha Palace -just about 8 minutes walk to the Place J'ma el f'na. This beautiful riad has solar heating panels, beautiful dipping pool in garden courtyard, fountain on roof terrace and BBQ, TV/DVD, Ipod docking, Minibar, Contemporary colours and traditional craftsmen design. Wonderful English speaking staff- trained and experienced.Riad Papillon has several amazing zelige handcrafted tree of life tile designs which are really quite special. On the roof terrace there is a traditional tent where your dinner can be served by candlelight under the stars.Riad Papillon is a haven of tranquility with niches filled with books, fossils and buddahs on display. There really is something quite magical about Riad Papillon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Riad Papillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Papillon Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing