We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Be weary” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Marhaba

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Marhaba
Ranked #661 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Oshawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Be weary”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

After wandering around alley ways, we finally found what looked to be a hidden gem. We arrive just after check-in time and waited about 10 mins at the door, continually knocking. We believe the host to be asleep. After getting in she let us know that she had people just leave and would have to make over the room to be ready for us. We had no problem waiting. But the lady went into the room that she had showed me (the beds had obviously been slept in and the room well used). She went in to clean - didn't take any new sheets with her or towels. After a while she came out empty handed (no dirty sheets in hand) and said it was all ready. I am not sure what sort of hostel or house thinks it is okay to reuse sheets that other people have slept on, but this one has no problem trying to pass this off as clean... After this whole ordeal was figured out - we came into our room a couple days later and the woman had packed up our bags. We were living out of suitcases and backpacks so we had our stuff around the room, but when we came back our bags were packed, our things all mixed up, and felt very weird having someone else go through out belongings. While the staff were friendly enough, it wasn't a place where we could trust the two employees or the place as a whole after these two very odd and disgusting occurrences. The only good things, if you could overlook the above, were the terrace and the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnigmaofDesire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
11
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Not easy to find in the first time as It is located in the alley. Once you find it, it is easy to access. It is near most of attractions. However, we were followed by a group of teengers who played in the alley. They said something bad to us. Not recommend for female travellers.


We booked a twin bed room which is located in the ground floor. The facility is very basic but as long as it clean, I will be ok. However, at night, my friend found a small cockroach on her bed. And next monring, I found a big cockroah "walking out" from toiet to the room. It is horrible.

When we complaint to the staff and asked for changing to another room. The staff was busy to take picture with other travellers. I waited for 10 mins and told them I would not stay here anymore. Then they called to their boss (i guess) and finally changed the room for us.

Room Tip: Find a B&B near main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fifi_hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I dont recommend staying at a riad inside the Medina in Marrakesh and Fes. You can have this important experience in smaller towns like Chefchaouen in a less stressful way. Said that, if you are sure about staying inside the chaos, this riad is a reasonable one.
It is located very close to the Djeema el Fna square, so you can go there many times a day (and also at night, safely). And in the early morning the taxis can get quite close to the riad, so it is not so difficult to carry the luggage to get a taxi to the airport, for example.
Dont expect a rich in detail decoration, it is very simple.
Sanaa is the manager there, she makes everything at the riad. She cant speek english and I cant speek neither french nor arabic, but she is so friendly that we could understand each other without problems. I would stay there again because of her.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

Dar Marhaba is an oasis among the craziness of Marrakech.
We spent our first two nights here, we arrived quite late and had two lovely young men pick us up from the edge of the square, carry our bags and direct us to the room. Instantly, as we walked in, the feeling and the energy of the place was overwhelming and so very welcoming.

We stayed in the Tanger room, it was located on the second floor and was quite warm, therefore I would suggest if its available, to take a room on the ground floor.
The first night we had some noisy other guests stay above us and keep us up all night but this was not a fault of the riads, just a little disappointing.

The breakfast the next morning was absolutely delicious and fresh, we enjoyed very much.
We didnt want to leave the riad and it set quite hight expectations for the following places we were to stay. The only thing I would say that would be slightly negative is that we never saw the Manager until the last day and there was a few things we wanted to talk to him about such as day trips and transport, but other than this, it was a very very enjoyable experience, would most certainly stay there again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor during summer to keep cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JacintaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hungary
Level Contributor
208 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We wanted to stay in the old Medina near the place Jemma el Fnah for two nights and I really think we made a very good choice.
The hotel (or riad) was hidden in a very small street (we couldn't have found it but as we ordered a transfer from the airport we had a person to guide us there).
As the door has opened we found ourselves in a nicely decorated inside garden with our room just on the ground floor so we could use this garden to relax and also for having breakfast.
The place was clean and with authentic moroccan decoration. The staff was also nice and the traditional moroccan breakfast was a delight!
When we became tired on visiting the town, we just came back and had a little rest in the afternoon (or siesta) and then went back to Jemma el Fnah to have dinner.

Room Tip: If you travel in summer try to choose a room on the ground floor it is cooler.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beabrigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a great find this is! Why do people go to Marrakech and not stop in a riad in the medina like this one? It has a great position just off the main Jema el Fna square from where you take one of the narrow bussling streets and after about 100mtrs you turn off into a very quite back street. The front door is a bit like hole in the wall and very authentic and opens out into a lovely quiet courtyard. Facilities were very good and the staff were very helpful. Breakfast was also good - juice/yogurt etc. Like most riads the rooms were decorated in bright tastful colours which added to the sense of authenticity.

A great find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jp_barron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milano
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

very good value: nice, typical, clean, staff always ready to help. Nice breakfast, varied and abundant, with fresh orange juice, yoghurt, pancakes. The location is very convenient, just a few steps from the Jamaa-El-Fnaa square but very quiet and safe.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mluisa_milano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Maissoun
Riad Maissoun
#457 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Eva
Riad Eva
#561 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#149 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Marhaba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Marhaba

Property: Dar Marhaba
Address: #110 derb Moulay Abdelkader derb Dabachi, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #661 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Marrakech's medina, just off the Djemaa el Fna square, Dar Marhaba offers an oasis of tranquility. Dar Marhaba offers typical Moroccan comfort as well as professional services. Just let yourself be taken by its charm and you are sure to have a pleasant stay. The riad offers 5 nicely decorated rooms (double and triple rooms, one suite), each with private bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dar Marhaba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing