We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Riad, other reviews over stated its charm...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad El Farah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad El Farah
Ranked #265 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Clean Riad, other reviews over stated its charm...”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights (during Ramadan) with my sister in law.

We had chosen to stay here as other reviews on here had said how charming the Riad is and how friendly and helpful the owner was.

I would recommend an airport transfer as we would never have found the Riad if we got a taxi, cars can't go in where it is located and it would have been impossible to walk trying to find it, the transfer guide walked us there. The owner while pleasant enough, didn't speak a great deal of English and we don't speak any French, so understanding each other was difficult. As it was Ramadan, he was quite keen to get going and hustled us along so he could show us (halfway) to the main square. We didn't even get a chance to settle and have a quick refresher before heading out!

The room itself, was very clean, just be warned, very warm. There is air conditioning but as it wasn't hot enough for the Riad's standards we couldn't have it on, just made sleeping difficult, even with all the windows open. The bathroom was also large and clean, it isn't like a hotel so make sure you bring all your toiletries etc. Although the room is cleaned daily, over the course of our stay they didn't replace our towels, probably if we had asked they would have.

Location wise, once you get orientated it is in a great spot, close walking distance to the main square as well many of the tourists highlights including Palais Badi, Palais Bahia and the tombs. Be careful of motorbikes, just stay to the right!

On checkout, we requested to leave our bags in the reception as our flight was in the evening. The owner revealed he wanted to close up (we were the only guests) but did let us keep our belongings there until 2pm, two hours after checkout time.

He then proceeded to offer to take us to the airport for 100 Dirham each, this was actually more expensive than the transfer we had coming in using our airlines services!

Overall, it is a decent Riad, maybe if we had spoken French and it wasn't Ramadan, we would have been much more to our satisfaction, just felt like as guests, we weren't treated as warmly as expected, hence why I have chosen average rather than very good.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jacinta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    49
    5
    9
    7
See reviews for
28
112
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here in April 14 we had a brilliant time. Marrakech is a very interesting place to visit you never know what is round the corner. Riad El Farah is a beautiful place to stay and the owners Mohamed and Nicole couldnt do enough for you. We had a great nights craic in The Kosy bar with live music. We were the first Irish people to stay in the riad and we would recommend it to anyone to stay in it, you are made feel so welcome and its so relaxed inside. Terence & Siobhain

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terence395
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is a pleasant little Riad run by a nice man called Mohammed.
He also lives there and with the help of a very tidy Berber lady keeps the establishment up to a very high standard.
We really enjoyed our stay and my French got better by the day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Really nice traditional Moroccan Riad. Rooms were lovely, clean and nicely decorated. The roof terrace was really nice to sit out on during the really hot times of the day with nice shady spots. Good location to get into the heart of the city in a few minutes walk.
Breakfast was basic, Moroccan pancakes and lots of bread, jam, butter and coffee.
Mohammed works in Euros which is very confusing when the rest of the city is in drihams so watch out for that when he charges you. On our first day he took us out for an excursion around the city which was fine, he did not mention anything about a cost but he then demanded 25euro each from us at the end of our stay. I would not recommend the excursion, it was very basic with little interaction. It consisted mainly of the new city which isn't really worth going on an excursion to as there is not really anything there to see. As a rule in general in Marrakech not just with Mohammed, make sure you clarify everything cost etc before you agree to a deal so you don't get caught out.
All in all a great location to stay, if it wasn't for the excursion we got dragged into I would have given it a much higher rating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Klumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I visited Marrakech in May 2014 for our 25th anniversary and what a magical place. Riad El Farah made it even more special, great location right in the heart of the city, with a short walk to all main attractions. The owner Mohamed is a great host and had made us feel at home. The breakfast was great and so is the room, very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azzam a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

A place you can call home while you are away from home. A beautiful and peaceful Riad tucked away from the extreme noise of Marrakech. If there is one place in this busy city to rest- it's definitely Riad El Farah.

Mohamed, the owner of the riad is a beautiful soul himself. His open heart and welcoming attitude will make you feel safe and in peace. Marrakech is rather difficult place for a foreigner to stroll along, but with Mohamed's time and patience- we knew in minutes where to go and what to avoid.

Anyway, you can always count on Mohamed's support and help.

Riad El Farah is a magical place. It's always clean, quiet and food is fresh. We were in heavens day after day.

Communication with Mohamed via e-mail was easy and straight forward. Each question was answered and he even offered to pick us up from the main station in order not to get lost. What a good man!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karolina_and_jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2014

it really was one of the most enjoyable and welcoming places i have stayed, a real gem hidden away from the hustle and bustle of the main square and medina. The decor was clean, comfortable, cosy and traditional. small touches gave it a real feel of home. Great location to all local amenities, with a short walk to the main road and 10mins from the main square and other local attractions.

what made this riad special was mohammed and Amina, with there hospitality and service throughout our stay, made it feel like a family...and other guests we met along the way the stayed over the week made it feel like a home.

5 stars all round, definatley be back here in the near future.

Room Tip: occassionally noisy with the sound of sceeching cats at night, take some ear plugs or request for a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkTink13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.4 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#436 of 494 in Marrakech
22 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#122 of 494 in Marrakech
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Yamsara
Riad Yamsara
#529 of 1,130 in Marrakech
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Alfarah
Riad Dar Alfarah
#243 of 1,130 in Marrakech
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Limoun Amara
Dar Limoun Amara
#468 of 1,130 in Marrakech
174 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Ailen
Riad Ailen
#349 of 1,130 in Marrakech
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Farah

Property: Riad El Farah
Address: el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #265 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Farah 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and Travelocity so you can book your Riad El Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Farah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing