We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely place, friendly owners, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad El Farah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad El Farah
Ranked #263 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place, friendly owners, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed for four nights with my dad in a twin room. Mahmoud and Nicole were very friendly, accommodating hosts with plenty of suggestions, showing us the nearest exchange and local landmarks to help us find our way back! The traditional riad with a courtyard is really lovely with a nice warm terrace. Breakfast was perhaps a little basic (bread and jam, pastries, coffee - but very nice), we had a really nice stay and would recommend to anyone. Great value too, right in the old city and 10 minutes walk from the main square.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BenJ J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    46
    5
    8
    7
See reviews for
24
108
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The Riad El Farah is a gem in the Marrakesh Kasbah area. It is the very perfect epitomisation of what you would expect from a riad in Marrakesh. It is small and friendly and decorated in true Moroccan style. The rooms are on the first floor surrounding an atrium. The communal ground floor is delightful and the roof terrace equally so and a delight to sit in the sun with peace and quiet around, but still in the middle of the city. All the major old city attractions are within walking distance, so the location is perfect. Mohamed's helpfulness is documented in other recent reviews and I can only agree. My only gripe would be that it was cold in January and there was no heating.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We have just returned from a 4 night break to this excellent Riad set in the south of the Medina. The holiday was made for us by Mohammed who put up with our basic French and was so hospitable and friendly. He met us off the taxi from the airport and gave us a lovely Moroccan welcome with traditional mint tea and pancakes. He took us for tea and showed us how to return to the Riad through all the winding alleyways. He took us on a trip to Ourika and arranged for food to be cooked specially for us in one of the little restaurants lining the river. One of our party was vegetarian and he ensured she had her own vegetable tagine. The weather was unexpectedly cool and if going in January would recommend plenty of layers. We would certainly visit again but perhaps later in the year. Irene and Jim Bruce

Room Tip: Our room was immediately at the top of the stair on the left and was a bit noisy first thing in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire Uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Four of us stayed at Riad el Farah for four nights in January 2014 and we had a fantastic time. The Riad el Farah is situated in the heart of the Medina, and just a short walk to most of the main attractions. Mohammed, the owner, met us in a local square as pre arranged, following our taxi ride from the airport. He then guided us on the short walk to the Riad via the network of alleyways that make up this wonderful part of the city. The restored four bedroom Riad el Farah is set around an open courtyard, with a sun deck on the roof. As with most accommodation of this type in Marrakech, there is little heating in the Riad, so if you travel in winter, when the nights can get cold, remember to take something warm to wear. Breakfast is continental style, usually fresh bread, home made pancakes and local jam/marmalade.

Mohammed made our holiday something special. He guided us around the city, showed us where to eat for best value and local quality, organised and guided us on a trip to the Atlas Mountains and gave us an insight we would never have gained from a guide book. If you have a little understanding of the French language it will help your visit enormously.

Marrakech is a brilliant, bustling experience like nowhere else. Go there!

Thank you Mohammed

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickMJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

We just got back from a fantastic long weekend at he Riad El Farah in Marrakech.

The Riad El Farah is lovely, a traditional property right in the heart of the city centre, down several side alleys, but surprisingly easy to find once you know where it is. The Riad is an oasis of calm, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the city. The rooms are clean and well appointed in a traditional style. There is a lovely central courtyard and a private roof terrace. Breakfast was very nice and the service we received during our stay was excellent.

What really made the holiday so special for us was the owner, Mohamed. Mohamed is very charming, and he went out of his way to ensure we got the most from our stay. He met us from our taxi on arrival, and took us to the Riad (5 minutes on foot), where he served us delicious Moroccan tea. We arrived in the early evening, so after we unpacked, he took us into the main square for a look around, and joined us for something to eat.

On Saturday, he spent most of the day with us, taking us around many of the major sights of Marrakech, including the Bahia Palace, The Menara Gardens, the Majorelle Gardens, and the Palmeraie district where we went Camel riding, plus several other places. Without Mohamed's help, we would never have found many of the places which he showed us, so I would certainly recommend a first time visitor to the city to stay at the Road El Farah and have Mohamed take you on a guided tour.

Marrakech is an amazing vibrant city, very colourful, very busy, very noisy, with plenty to see and do. The people are really friendly. The roads are chaotic with donkeys and carts, horse drawn carriages, cars, taxis, and scooters. The souks are a complicated honeycomb of hundreds of shops and stalls, with traders trying to encourage you to look at their wares, and haggling for a bargain is good fun. You will easily lose yourself in the souks, but this is good as you get to see parts that are hidden away, and the locals will be happy to show you the way out again anyway. Do be sure to visit the new city too, which is a complete contrast to the old city, with wide boulevards and modern sops and restaurants.

If you are planning to go to Marrakech, and you want an authentic experience in a traditional Riad, then I think you would find it difficult to find a better place to stay than this!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

This is a really nice Riad and the owner is very friendly and helpful. It is not a good idea to stop here in the winter though as its pretty cold and there is no heating. I imagine it would be amazing in the Summer keeping the rooms nice and cool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankthereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

We enjoyed a couple of nights here in early Jan. The Riad is lovely inside, and has a beautiful courtyard and roof terrace. There is also a dining room for evening meals. The owner is keen to join you for excursions and meals. It is within easy walking distance of the main square - you have to walk down a few dark alleys and although I felt very safe with my boyfriend, I'm not sure I would have wanted to walk down there alone. We ate at the Riad one evening and the food was delicious, but I would recommend that the owner provides heating in the dining room and the bedrooms as it's absolutely freezing in the January evenings and was uncomfortable going to bed. A genuine moroccoan Riad experience!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.6 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#467 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#441 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#443 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Ailen
Riad Ailen
#294 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Limoun Amara
Dar Limoun Amara
#398 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Yamsara
Riad Yamsara
#455 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Farah

Property: Riad El Farah
Address: el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #263 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Farah 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad El Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Farah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing