We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“A wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad El Farah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad El Farah
Ranked #268 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I have just returned from a five night stay in Marrakech at the Riad el Farah. I was travelling on my own and Mohammed was a wonderful host who took care me on my visit, nothing was too much trouble for him.

I had read that the food at the Riad was excellent and so I opted for half board, and I wasn't disappointed, every meal a delight.

The Riad is in a good location, and only a shot walk from the Place Jemaa el Fna, and a good place from which to explore the old city.

Room Tip: Sorry, no fitness centre, or swimming pool, but I couldn't remove the rating!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    46
    5
    8
    7
See reviews for
25
108
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We visited Marrakech for the first time in December 2012. It is like no other place I have visited before but found it fun and buzzing. If you want to experience the 'real' Marrakech then this is a great place to stay.
The Riad is located amongst the maze of side streets in the Kazbar area and therefore you are taken there on foot when dropped off, which is fun in itself! The Riad owner Mohammad gave us a warm welcome and insisted on showing us the route from the Riad to the nearest Square and other places of interest. This was invaluable so we didn't get lost!! He could not do enough for us and was kind and polite. He even made all the guests a 'special' meal on New Year's Eve to make sure we had a good time and took us to a restaurant nearby to watch some traditional Moroccan entertainment. I would certainly recommend Mohammad's Riad and his hospitality.
It is very clean, quiet, with a pretty little roof terrace to catch some afternoon sun.
It was ideal for us as we wanted to be in the 'heart' of Marrakech for our 5 day stay. If you're visitng in December or winter months like we did then it can be quite cold at night time so recommended to take a jacket, we under estimated this!!!
If you choose to stay here then we hope you enjoy it as much as we did. :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LozzaC_Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We were very well looked after, nothing was too much trouble for Mohammed and Nicole. The room and the whole Riad were spotless, the Terrace full of flowers and the mint tea flowed.
The continental breakfast was good, if a bit bready for English tastes. Being Gluten free I had taken my own bread and cereal, but my daughter found it adequate, pancakes and jams, croissants etc.
Mohammed showed us how to find our way round and took us to a Restaurant owned by his family for a fabulous meal, and then on to the Cozy Bar - Music and wine - very pleasant.
I would recommend this Riad to anyone - we were 5 minutes away from the souks and the Tourist Bus was just round the corner. I hope to return in the near future and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in October, as with other guests Mohammed arranged to meet us at the Tombaux Saadiens to guide us through the maze for streets to get to the Riad. The Riad was lovely, very comfortable and Mohammed was a great host, he took us out on our first day to show us some of the sights, which we were very grateful of. We had a meal on our first night made by Mohammed, which was a lovely tagine. By staying in a riad we felt we got a taste of the real Marrakesh, which was enhanced by Mohammed's warmth.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyGateshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

On arrival at Marrakesh airport we telephoned Mohamed to tell him we had arrived and caught a taxi to "Tombaux Saadiens in the Kasba" as instructed. Mohamed was there to meet us and guide us through the alleyways to his Riad. There he sat us down and provided us with mint tea. He then showed us our room which was simple but more than adequate with bathroom (plenty of hot water for the shower) and aircon. No problem using it, just asked to shut the door when it was on so we didn't cool the whole of Marrakesh. The terrace was sunny and open with a shaded area if you needed it. After we had settled in Mohamed took us out and showed us the way to the square showing landmarks to find our way back!
Breakfast was pancakes, bread, butter, jam with tea and coffee served in a separate room.
The Riad is in a quiet location and a good sleep was had on all 3 nights. It is very clean and a haven from the madness of the square and souks.
Mohamed was helpful with anything we wanted and suggested places to visit. When we left he took us to the taxi station, arranging the taxi and telling us what to pay (locals rate).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twotravellers_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed here for seven nights and glad we did! Because it is a small riad, you get star treatment. Mohammed, the owner was wonderful from start to finish. He welcomed us with lots tea and even invited us to dinner with a personal guest of his. We had the most amazing tagine ever! Mohammed guided us through the madness of Marrakech on more than one occasion and nothing was a bother. Our French is not the best but we were able to communicate very effectively and Mohammed enjoyed this, especially when I said I wanted to MARRY his tagine lol

This guy could not do enough for us, even when I felt unwell..... Giving me a simple medicine which helped. Breakfast was provided every morning which was simple but enough.

We want to return to Marrakech again and would not go anywhere else but Riad El Farah. Would highly recommend this small riad Over and over. Thank you Mohammed :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelbyyy126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We enjoyed 4 days exploring the madness of Marrakesh and were able to return to the sanctity of Riad El Farah to recharge our batteries each night. Mohammed, the owner was helpful and charming and we managed to communicate quite well in English with a little French. Nothing was ever too much trouble and for first time visitors he was both reassuring and informative. The rooms and atmosphere were delightful. Mohammed’s mint tea and plentiful supplies of olives were divine.

The sunny roof terrace provided sun loungers and places to sit in the shade with wonderful views over rooftops to nesting Storks. The quiet and cool courtyard in the centre of the house was equally pleasant. The Riad was spotlessly clean and well maintained throughout.

Riad El Farah is perfectly positioned from which to explore with many sites within easy walking distance. Mohammed was able to give us directions through the Medina (even so you will get lost) and arranged a superb day trip to Essouria on the coast which should not be missed.

We felt safe and comfortable whilst exploring Marrakesh so don’t be put off by others. The Riad El Farah provides the perfect base for those that wish to embrace the culture and ambience of Marrakesh and Mohammed is an amiable host.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank choosytraveller60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.6 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#468 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#442 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#444 of 511 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Ailen
Riad Ailen
#289 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dar Limoun Amara
Dar Limoun Amara
#387 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Yamsara
Riad Yamsara
#436 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Farah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Farah

Property: Riad El Farah
Address: el Kasbah, Derb El Oualidine 35, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #268 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad El Farah 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad El Farah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad El Farah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing