We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice Place, Poor Customer Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Jardin des Reves

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Jardin des Reves
Ranked #393 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Poor Customer Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed in Marrakech for 4 nights at this riad. It was located about 12 minute walk to the Jemaa El Fna inside the medina (take Rue Fatima Zohra).At first we were concerned about the location, it seemed confusing and back through some winding streets that we thought would be very dark at night, but once we got our sense of the area, it was easy and the streets are very brightly lit at night. The riad is nice and decorated well. My room was Double Oliveraie.

However, we got few issues, especially with the customer service:
1. Only one guy can speak English and he was not always at the riad. They prefer French and it is not easy since we only speak English.

2. The toilet doesn't have door, only cover by thin curtain. OK fine no door, but can somebody change the thin curtain with a 'real' curtain so that we can do our 'important' business comfortably.

3. On our fourth night at the hotel, the air-conditioner was not working. I asked what happened but nobody could explain why because they don't bother to explain us what happened and they obviously have no customer service! So, no air-conditioner for the night until next morning.

4. On our first day, I check the white bed sheet ( I always do that when stay in the hotel), I spotted stains on the bed sheet and a strand of hair. I have a feeling that they did not change the bed sheet since the previous guests stay there. The next two days, I still using the same bed sheet until I made complaint and asked them to change it!(yes you hear me right)

5. On the net they say that they accept payment using credit card but on that day the machine was not working and they ask for cash and I have no enough cash in hand. Instead of solving the credit card machine problem, they ask me to withdraw cash using my credit card which I don't want to (it was late evening and I'm checking out very early in the next morning, they were no ATM machine nearby). I tell you what, if you want to do this kind of business, don't put your credit card machine problem to your guests! It is not our problem at all. So, better have enough cash in hand. By the way, they charge extra 4% for the payment using credit card.

6. The bed-side table has a pillow on it. Yes, why on earth that a bed-side table has a pillow on it? Can somebody please take the pillow off of the bed-side table because not only it is 'weird' but the pillow itself dirty and has no purpose (please check photo appended).

7. Can somebody clean the toilet floor properly, thank you.

8. The hotel patio and terrace was dusty and was not tidy up for long. You can tell by checking the dust on the table, chair and outdoor sofa.

This riad is nice but looking at their professionalism level, I'm worried they will not be long in this business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jengka7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    41
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
20
75
12
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed in Marrakesh for 4 nights in total at this riad. It is very well located, about a 10 minute walk to the Jemaa El Fna inside the medina. The staff are extremely friendly, helpful and accommodating. It is located in a somewhat quieter area, which makes it pleasant compared to the madness of the Jemaa El Fna. The rooms are spacious and very clean. Overall a great place to stay and would highly recommend this riad to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

Our original hotel fell through so my girlfriend and I got relocated here. It was amazing. We were met with local tea and pastries. The breakfast was fresh and delicious and there was nothing that was too much trouble for the hosts. They were very friendly and the hotel was in a perfect location about 15minutes walk from the market. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms, but all great. Only inside looking view, but definitely worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The riad was one of the highlights of our trip to Marrakech. We were greeted with tea and traditional Moroccan sweets upon arrival. The atmosphere is wonderful, quiet, and peaceful, and the staff are super helpful. Breakfast was two courses, juice and tea, which was all really good. The rooms are very new, state of the art bathroom and shower. The riad is in the Madina, but the main square was a 10-15 minute walk.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2012

We stayed there by default as we had reserved a room in another riad. At the other riad, they told us they booked us at this riad, so at first we were a bit apprehensive about it. However when we got there, we saw how beautiful and quiet it was. Very modern in decoration (I would have preferred the traditional one) and private, at the end of some winding streets. Location wise it's okay. A bit difficult to find the first few times as it feels like a labyrinth to get there, but once familiar with the area its fine. From the Jemaa is about 10-15min, depending if you get lost on your way or not. The area is away from the hustle and bustle of the main areas, very close to the Bab Doukkala Bus Station which has the 19 bus to and from the airport. In terms of appearance, the property was beautiful, very clean, quiet, modern and trendy. Nice hot shower. We had the only room in the rooftop which made it very private. Breakfast, which was included, was very good and enough to keep you going. In regards to service, it wasn't bad but it wasn't the best either. The staff, two girls who spoke French and a man who could speak English were very nice, however, not engaging. They walked around not noticing us and we felt we were left alone. As another review said, it's good if you know the city and its not your first visit, but if you want to be better informed find some place else. We didn't feel that Moroccan hospitality. I also found that the prices were a bit high for what it was. Food and excursion/transfers where expensive compared to what you could find in the streets. We even consider that the price per night is also high for the service you receive. For us it was an upgrade from what we booked, so we didn't pay the "real" price, but would not have stayed there if it wasn't for that.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank minniechis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

The riyad was really nice. It was a wonderful atmosphere. No noise or any other disturbance. The service was very good. The breakfast is totally enough. Unfortunately, the riyad is about 15mins from the Jemaa-efna away, but therefore it is near to the Souks and Mederesa ben Youssef. I would prefer the bigger room when not travelling alone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank P K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2010

If you are looking for a beautiful, well appointed riad in Marrakech, this place is stunning. At first we were concerned about the location, it seemed confusing and back through some winding streets that we thought would be very dark at night and as 2 women we were concerned. Once we got our sense of the area, it was easy and the streets are very brightly lit at night. If you can get to the mosque in the area, it is a 5 minute walk. This was a beautiful, peaceful riad, tranquil and elegant. If you do not need help with directions, or suggestions, and are okay with a place where you are really on your own, this is great. We speak English, Spanish and Italian, but no French and that was a problem. It was difficult to communicate so if you need that, this is not the place for you. It feels more European, without the Moroccan hospitality that we encountered everywhere else. For example, everywhere we went, we were greeted with mint tea to welcome us, but not here. At first we'd felt like we made a mistake and thought about changing riads, but decided not to take the time to do that. In the end we were very glad to be there, it was the most beautiful place we'd stayed but it was like we rented an apt. for ourselves with no one to ask questions of. So, it feels important to know this before you decide to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelover1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#66 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 5 Sens
Riad 5 Sens
#286 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad La Porte Rouge
Riad La Porte Rouge
#72 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Andalouse
Riad Andalouse
#328 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Bindoo
Riad Bindoo
#104 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jardin des Reves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jardin des Reves

Property: Riad Jardin des Reves
Address: 70 Derb Sidi Lahcen ou Ali Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Jardin des Reves 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Riad Jardin des Reves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing