We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hospitality!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Dama
Ranked #336 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hospitality!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

A really lovely Riad about 10 minutes from the main square, walking through the bustlingly busy streets of Marrakech Souks, filled with sellers, street-vendors and traffic(!). When we stayed, we were the only guests and had free-run of the sun lounge terrace and the staff were incredibly accommodating, particularly in arranging day trips and taxis.

A few extra things to consider:
- Haggle for everything - including the beige petit taxis. Marrakechis will attempt to charge large amounts of money (Dh) for products/services - so play them at their own game and continue to haggle for the best prices. A taxi, for example, to the New City (Nouvelle Ville) should only cost 30Dh return; not 100Dh, which some drivers attempt to charge! So haggle, haggle, haggle!
- The continental breakfast was high-carb... that is, entirely bread/cake/pastry. If you're a big breakfast-kinda-person, you might be disappointed.
- Given the location (on a side, pretty empty alley), and having to ring the doorbell to be let in, avoid getting back too late at night.
- There is a Mosque just outside the hotel. Early every morning a call to prayer will be played fairly loudly - so consider earplugs, if you do not wish to wake up to pray.
- At the end of your stay, you will be presented with an invoice for the Tourist Tax for the city of Marrakech (2 Euros per person, per night). Make sure you keep some money back to pay this. Also, hold back some money (50-100Dh) to give to the maid/housekeeper.

All-in, a great stay, with lovely staff and a beautiful room. I'd go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harsantjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
13
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

The Riat Dama was recommended to us by British Airways as a three star authentic Riad (An four walled, courtyard hotel in the old town of Marrakech). The hotel is small but in walking distance to all that you need to do in Marrakech. The rooms are clean, albeit relatively small, but they are reasonable appointed and the bathrooms are clean and the shower was terrific. Breakfast is a good continental with coffee or tea, french bread, croissants and juices. You can also arrange for a massage for 30Eu. The roof top lounging area is lovely to relax and the courtyard is nice and cool. A tip to walking in Marrakech, is not to wear expensive jewelry or watches, we felt a little wary.
The Souk is great as are some of the restaurants and cafe's. Avoid anyone who offers to guide you, they will want a hefty tip. The prices we paid in the Souk were c 50% less than the starting price and you need to be able to walk away.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

The outside of this riad does not look promising, although it is in keeping with the surrounding area; however once inside you step into a lovely traditional riad, with a pleasant courtyard and beautiful roof garden with flowers and shrubs. Our room was as expected, a traditional Moroccan experience. The staff here are the main draw - so pleasant and helpful, providing relaxing mint tea on request (free) and arranging taxis, trips, and meals as required. Continental Breakfast was excellent and included fruit juice, yoghourt, crusty bread and jam, cake, plus warm pancakes or sugared doughnut-type pastries.

If you are looking for a traditional experience and are seeking to stay in the Medina rather than just visiting it and returning to one of the many large hotels in the new city, this riad is ideal, being about a ten to fifteen minute walk to the main square, although you need to watch out for the crowds and the many mopeds which fill the narrow lanes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Avalon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We've just returned from Riad Dama, and I have to say, is very good. The staff is very helpful, and the location is great: 15min walf from the Square, but do not be afraid to get lost as you don't have to go through alleys.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TezinhaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limoges
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I took my husband here for his 50th birthday. We left the peaceful countryside of France and arrived in this mad, bustling, colourful city at 9am. The hotel had arranged a taxi for us who took us right to the door, a very friendly chap who pointed out all the sights on the way. We received the most warmest of welcomes at the Riad, where we were given tea and a plate of cakes/biscuits whilst we filled out the necessary forms and waited for our room to be cleaned. Our room was spotless, very authentically decorated and overlooked the central internal courtyard. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful at all times, and even on our very early morning of departure, someone got up early to provide us with breakfast, and their usual taxi guy wasn't available so the riad owner took us to the airport himself. The roof terrace was a lovely area to sit and read or chat, and the communal rooms were very welcoming and well maintained. On the last evening there was a dancing/music/meal event. The staff spent all afternoon preparing the courtyard with lovely table linen, candles and rose petals. It was so romantic and they put so much care and attention in to it. The evening was attended by 8 of us in total, plus the staff. It was a wonderful night of traditional music, belly-dancing and local food. It was a perfect end to our trip; my husband even had a go at belly-dancing! We would definitely return to this riad and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sammybfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

this Riad is in a middle of Medina, but very quite and peaceful when you are inside. It is also very close (10-15 minutes walk) to busiest square Djemaa el Fna, Bahia Palace and Palais Dar Si Said.
Room was middle size, but very clean and comfortable.All rooms are different in decoration, but with taste and in a Moroccan style.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. They served best coffee I every tried in any hotel. They provided transfer to/from hotel to the airport (we requested that when we booked a room), and also took us to the main bus station early one morning when we wanted to go to Essaouira..
I would highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jelenayork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2008

We spent two nights here on our road trip through morocco. This riad has been one of the best experiences or our trip.

We had the rooms spacious orange, and deluxe Kenza, which was an upgrade, as we had booked standard rooms. Both rooms were very nice, especially the deluxe, with very nice bath rooms and seperate toilets. Both wer very clean.

The breakfast is simple, but very nice, consisting of yoghurt, cake, fresh fruits, breads and jams. Staff is very good, and goes out of their way to help you. The first day we had dinner in the dining room, and when we asked if it was possible to set up everything on the patio or on the roof terrace the next morning in order to have breakfast outdoor, it was no problem. During the day, tea and coffee are for free.

Very nice roof terrace to relax in the sun. And you are only a couple of minutes away from the main square. Only negative point is the mosque next door, so you're awake every morning at 5a.m., but that's the same all over marrakech, so no big deal.

We would definately stay again in Riad Dama.

  • Liked — location, decoration, feeling like you're in your own house
  • Disliked — the mosque nextdoors
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank csb001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Reve d'Or
Riad Reve d'Or
#233 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 37 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Chorfa
Riad Chorfa
#290 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Abaka
Riad Abaka
#247 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Hermes
Riad Hermes
#203 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 129 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Barroko
Riad Barroko
#346 of 504 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#69 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dama

Property: Riad Dama
Address: 1 Derb El Boumba | Arset El Houte, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #336 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dama 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com so you can book your Riad Dama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing