We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“This incredible hotel and the wonderful hopitality we received made our holiday perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Tasnime

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Tasnime
Ranked #348 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“This incredible hotel and the wonderful hopitality we received made our holiday perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

The riad itself is absolutely beautiful, with incredible attention to detail. Owned and run by a Moroccan man, the decor is authentic and breath-taking and the beautiful court yard and the roof top terrace (where we took breakfast) provide stunning views. The hotel was always immaculately clean. It is perfectly situated just a 5 minute walk from Jeem el F'naa and made a brilliant base from which to explore the city. The real highlight of the accomodation, even above being able to stare out at the mosque and the rooftops of Marakesh whilst taking breakfast, was the hospitality and the customer service. The Moroccan man who owns and runs the riad could not have been more welcoming or helpful. He organised incredible day trips, taxis and evenings out and was always ready with directions or helpful hints for getting the best out of Marakesh. He even went out to get us dinner when the rain prevented us from making it to the restaurants. Nothing was ever too much trouble and it is a lovely family business which feels a million miles away from the gaudy, large hotels which seem to provide the bulk of accomodation in the city. It is the nicest accomodation I've ever stayed in and I feel that, by staying here, we got to experience the real Marakesh. I only wish we could have stayed longer; we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gledders19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WALES
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We ahd a fantastic time in Marrakech and one of the reasons for this was staying at Dar Tasnime! Chakib (the owner) was very helpful and gave us lots of advice on negotiating the amazing city of Marrakech. We have been home in Wales for 2 months and we still miss the fresh orange juice and homemade pancakes! This Riad is superb and we will go there again! Peter & Lois (Wales UK)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETERLOISWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

We could have not chosen a better spot than Dar Tasnime as our entry point for our trip across Morocco. It's very small so the owner will take personally care of each guest individually. Top notch roof terrace, a great value for the suite and perfect, very quiet location (don't miss going to the Bains de Marrakesh which is just around the corner).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Fantastic riad centrally situated in the medina.Chakib the owner very welcoming and helpful,nothing too much trouble.All 5 rooms tastefully decorated and maintained.
Temporary demolition work near the hotel made a lie in a bit difficult!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
204 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

I took my Mum and a friend to Marrakesh for a week' holiday in May, and Dar Tasnime was ideal in many ways.
It is close to many of the cultural attractions, and within walking distance of many more (even with some very slow walkers in-tow!!!).
Although there is re-development going on around the riad, (which was a bit noisy and dusty during the day), once inside all is tranquil and beautifully arranged. I looked in all the rooms and can confirm that they all live up to the web-site photos - they're beautiful, and each has its own individual character. I was lucky and had a balcony looking over the courtyard, but my Mum was equally pleased with her pretty and cosy room on the ground floor.

Although there is a pretty lounge adjoining the courtyard, the main public area is the terrace, where we ate generous breakfasts (included in the price), lounged in the sun, and enjoyed evening G+T's (duty-free's!) and an assortment of snacks from the nearby 'Nut vendor' and 'local store'! Chakib the owner was more than happy for us to help ourselves from the kitchen, (and we tried to tidy up after ourselves!).

I would say that the biggest gem of all at Dar Tasnime is indeed Chakib! He is the most warm and helpful hotel proprietor I have ever met, he speaks perfect English, (having spent 10 years in the US), and being a Marrakechi born-and-bred, he will give you all the info and tips you could possible wish for. He made us feel exceptionally welcome and safe in a city which can sometimes be challenging! He will give you restaurant recommendations (the new place nearby is beautiful, with great food and service plus very high quality musicians and an unobtrusive but beautiful Belly dancer(!!), and can arrange most anything you have in mind.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neerpelt, Belgium
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2010

Riad Dar Tasnime is a fantastic place, the room was very beautiful with a lot of typical maroccan decoration. Everything is very clean and the location is excellent, close to the square, all the main attractions and to a gate (easy when you want to hire a car and don't want to drive the crazy streets of Marrakech?!)

The owner, Chakib, is very friendly and helpfull. He made us feel welcome from the beginning. He explained a lot about Marrakech and gave us a map and of course a good cup of mint tea! He helped us also with car hire and other excursions.

When we ever come back to Marrakech we will definitely come back to Chakib and his wonderfull Riad!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano, Italia
Level Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

Thanks to previous Tripadvisor reviews we found this gem in the hearth of the Medina, very close to Saadian Tombs.
Chakib, the owner is a friendly, helpful man who welcomed us with a delicious hot mint tea in this small cosy Riad (5 rooms).
We booked one of the suites where we felt like in Bahia Palace !
Excellent breakfast on the terrace, perfect trip to this wonderful Marrakech, we well come back for sure. Thanks Chakib !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Chems
Hotel Chems
#376 of 511 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#61 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#72 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tasnime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tasnime

Property: Dar Tasnime
Address: | 27, Jbel Lakhdar, R'mila, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #348 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Tasnime 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tasnime is a charming Riad located within the old city of Marrakech, in the easily accessible quarter of R'mila-Jbel Lakhdar. A superb location and safe neighborhood in the vicinity of the main square Jamâa-el-Fna, shopping areas and other local attractions. Our property has been in the family since 1962 and was recently renovated and decorated with love, passion, and according to local traditions. It took two years for several teams of talented artisans to restore this traditional house using local materials and techniques that have been used for centuries. The refined tints of this authentic moroccan house are in perfect harmony with its arab architecture making it appropriate for a serene and convivial stay. The Riad offers five rooms in the first floor: two single confort, two twin or double and one triple room around a courtyard with a refreshing fountain. All rooms are equipped with reversible air conditioning and private bathrooms. The dining room and living room are in the ground floor. The roof terrace with exotic plants presents a great view on the old city and Atlas Mountains and is the privileged place for breakfast and relaxation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing