We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It couldn't be better”
Review of Dar Tasnime

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Tasnime
Ranked #260 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Milano, Italia
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“It couldn't be better”
Reviewed May 3, 2010

Thanks to previous Tripadvisor reviews we found this gem in the hearth of the Medina, very close to Saadian Tombs.
Chakib, the owner is a friendly, helpful man who welcomed us with a delicious hot mint tea in this small cosy Riad (5 rooms).
We booked one of the suites where we felt like in Bahia Palace !
Excellent breakfast on the terrace, perfect trip to this wonderful Marrakech, we well come back for sure. Thanks Chakib !

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
58
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon UK
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2010

lovely little riad run by a very freindly guy, Chakib, who went out of his way to make sure we got the most out of our stay in Marrakech. Clean, comfortable and quiet in a good location 10 mins stroll from Jamaa al-Fna. Fantastic fresh orange juice with breakfast on the roof terrace while wathcing the storks flying. Don't be put off by the proximty of the mosque, we hardly heard a thing during our stay and had the best 4 nights sleep I can remember. Thoroughly reccomend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theotherpencil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Our host Chakib greeted us in a very friendly relaxed manner with mint tea and information about the Riad and Marrakesh. Our room was gorgeous on the 2nd floor with comfortable bed, huge bathroom and lounge area. Breakfast on the terrace was served by two charming women. The Riad was very clean, comfortable, quiet except for the birds in the morning and the mosque next door which we felt was part of the experience. Dar Tasnime is a short 10 minute walk to the main square and souks etc. centrally located in the Kasbah area. My only piece of advise is to make sure you have cash when you arrive - payment is in advance is requested.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikimac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Having scoured the internet looking at different Riad's and their reiews for weeks, my girlfriend and I finally booked Dar Tasime. Chakib is a wonderful, interesting, and engaging man. From start to finish, he was tirelessly hospitable; even going as far as to walk us to Jama Al-Fna the first day and show us how to get there and back, what to eat/not eat, where to shop and not get ripped off, etc. I would give him stars if I could and I will be sure to stay again,

P.S. GO TO LES BAINES DE MARRAKECH, words cannot describe it.

Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ExperienceLife18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

Quintessential Marrakech! This was a lovely and very clean Riad in the kasbah. The proprietor and staff were exceptionally kind. The place doesn't look like much from the outside as there is construction going on in this little area next to the Saadian Tombs (don't waste your time there by the way), but inside is a quaint oasis. The owner takes pride in his establishment and has paid attention to detail in the decoration of rooms. It is also located next to a Mosque. It is part of the experience to hear the call to prayer, and we thought it was great, but if you are a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. Breakfast on the roofdeck is relaxing and tasty, especially the mint tea!

In terms of safety, it's around the corner from the busier streets, and can seem a little sketchy at night. You may want to take a "petit taxi" to get home, just to be on the safe side. We were two women traveling and did not feel threatened, but also respected cultural norms and dressed appropriately.

Lastly, we LOVED the Bains de Marrakech, located only a block away from here! Make your reservations in advance for a luxurious and very affordable spa treatment, Moroccan style.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snochou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I agree with much of what's been written, including the mosque and the birds waking you up. I'd add too the little kiosk that's right outside the ground floor unit where people gather and yap for much of the day. And yeah, that doorway provided a few bumps and bruises going in and out of the bathroom (which had some ants). But overall I thought it was a very cool place. Not sure what charm it lost in renovation, it seemed pretty charming to me. Breakfast was a lot of starch, OJ and tea. His tea was good but it kept getting better as we wandered around town. There was a mix up regarding twin vs. double beds that got straightened out (even tho I mentioned twin beds so many times, there never should have been an issue). I'm sure I could have found a better deal but this got such great reviews, I paid the 79 euro and didn't think much about it. Not sure if all places arrange a pick up at the airport but that made life easy. Cool trip. (P.S. My iphone sometimes connected but was super slow when it did)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanie881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 30, 2010

What can I say,
We expected so much reading the reviews before we flew, but Chakib and his amazing Riad delivered so much.

After a daunting drive from the airport through the packed streets of the medina, it was a relief to walk into the cool and calm riad and our beautiful room.
Chakib was quick to sit down with us and a glass of his mint tea (the best we tasted, and that was a lot!) and a map detailing the best sight, restaurants and must sees for the whole of Marrakech, with that in mind we were straight out to experience the main square (10mins walk) it was amazing and our week there just got better, relaxing on the roof terrace, shopping and day trips to Essourira and the Atals mountains were all amazing.
I cant recomend this place enough, Chakib and his staff worked very hard to meet all our needs and we are very grateful, I cant wait to return and do it all again.
Thanks Chakib

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichardKira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#114 of 500 in Marrakech
488 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Attajmil
Riad Dar Attajmil
#19 of 500 in Marrakech
330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#28 of 500 in Marrakech
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad 11 Zitoune
Riad 11 Zitoune
#142 of 500 in Marrakech
73 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
0.3 mi away
Riad Chorfa
Riad Chorfa
#266 of 500 in Marrakech
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tasnime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tasnime

Property: Dar Tasnime
Address: | 27, Jbel Lakhdar, R'mila, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Tasnime 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tasnime is a charming Riad located within the old city of Marrakech, in the easily accessible quarter of R'mila-Jbel Lakhdar. A superb location and safe neighborhood in the vicinity of the main square Jamâa-el-Fna, shopping areas and other local attractions. Our property has been in the family since 1962 and was recently renovated and decorated with love, passion, and according to local traditions. It took two years for several teams of talented artisans to restore this traditional house using local materials and techniques that have been used for centuries. The refined tints of this authentic moroccan house are in perfect harmony with its arab architecture making it appropriate for a serene and convivial stay. The Riad offers five rooms in the first floor: two single confort, two twin or double and one triple room around a courtyard with a refreshing fountain. All rooms are equipped with reversible air conditioning and private bathrooms. The dining room and living room are in the ground floor. The roof terrace with exotic plants presents a great view on the old city and Atlas Mountains and is the privileged place for breakfast and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Tasnime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing