We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but nothing special”
Review of Dar Tasnime

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Tasnime
Ranked #260 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed March 30, 2010

This riad is a brand new renovation and thus lacks some of the charm of the older properties. It's very clean and tidy though. I'm guessing that I had the same room as "Thambisub4" as I too have bruised shoulders from the bathroom door frame! Breakfast is pretty basic but they are very flexible about the timing. Chakib asks for payment up front which I thought was a bit unusual - it could be that he has had problems with guests who could not handle the mosque. The mosque is right next door and there are two amplified calls to prayer before 5am. You couldn't sleep through these unless you were dead drunk. The call to prayer then wakes up a small bird in the courtyard which makes an unbelievably loud and piercing call for the next two hours. If anything the bird was worse than the mosque. Chakib recommended Le Tanjia restaurant to us which we really hated (see my review). There is wireless internet in the riad but my iPod could not connect to it, apparently PCs work OK though.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulhempstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 82 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2010

My wife and I had a great stay at riad Dar Tasnime! Rooms are very well appointed and comfortable and the included breakfast was very good-Moroccan crepes, flat bread, rolls, jams and fresh squeezed orange juice! We also liked the location very much. The kasbah is right outside the door and just a few minutes walk to Jamaa el Fna. Our host and owner, Chakib, was very helpful suggesting places to see and restaurants to dine.
We highly recommend Dar Tasnime.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewfr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at Dar Tasnime in February 2010 for a short break 'mini moon' just after our wedding! We were collected from the airport as pre-arranged and ushered efficiently to the Riad. The outside wall is unassuming, but behind the ornate door is a charming, comfortable, beautifully furnished Riad that we would definately return to and recommend to friends and family. We stayed in suite 5 on the second floor - as good as it looks in the pictures. Suite 5 has a fantastic deep bath, and were disappointed that there was not enough hot water to make proper use of it, as we specifically chose a room with a bath, but perhaps we were unlucky. Also, watch out for the decorations on the bathroom door - you could get a sore shoulder or head depending how tall you are! Breakfast on the roof in the sunshine is lovely watching the storks nesting in the minaret of the nexy door mosque - no complaints about the call to prayer, if it wakes you up you get to appreciate your location, being on holiday and not having to get up for the comute, and being in a comfy bed and going back to sleep.
Chakib is a fantastic host, as all the other reviews testify. There are not actually enough compliments. His recommendations are now our recommendations:
- authentic eating a stall number 14 in the night market in the Djemma el Fna; delicious fresh food at unbelieveable prices
- Le Tanjia restaurant is equally delicious food; we particularly recommend the Harira soup and traditional tagine. Get there before 9pm for the belly dancing show
- a relaxing massage at the Bains de Marrakech just around the corner from the Riad, a really lovely experience
We enjoyed shopping in the souks, a 10-15 minute stroll at an average pace from Dar Tasnime, and showing our bargains off to Chakib - although he tactfully would not be drawn on whether they were bargains, wisely advising that something is worth what you are prepared to pay for it.
We also took a day trip to the coastal resort of Essaouria - worth a visit, but take a taxi or hire a car for flexibility rather than a minibus tour.
Our final top tip would be to walk past the Saadian tombs from the riad and turn left and stroll through the locals market for some authentic moroccon sights away from the touristic souks.
You won't go wrong with Dar Tasnime and Chakib's authentic advice

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livesinabox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2010

If you want to stay in the medina, this is a brilliant option, the riad is lovely. Our host , Chakib was really helpful giving us maps & showing us the best places to see. He also booked us a trip into the mountains at short notice. It is very near the mosque so expect to be woken at around 4am & again at 5.30, but didn't detract from our stay. I would recommend this riad to any of my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EileenCoulsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2010

This is a fantastic hotel -- I would highly recommend it. The owner is extremely helpful and friendly, and he helped make my exprience in Marrakech even more enjoyable. The rooms are spacious and clean, and the morning breakfast is fantastic. The location is also great, about 10 min walk to the main square. The only downside to the place is that is close to a mosque and you will hear the calls for morning prayers at dawn. However, you have to expect this when you travel through a muslim country like Morrocco.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikelondon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

This was the very first place we stayed upon arriving in Morocco, and we couldn't have hoped for better. Our entry was made a little more exciting by torrential rains and extremely delayed trains. When our exausted selves dragged our way to the door almost 4 hours late close to midnight, Chakib was there waiting with the door open! He'd checked the train schedule and heard the wheels of our luggage, and had everything set for our late arrival. The breakfast on the terrace was delicious, the room was beautiful, the internet was fast...He was very helpful with booking, restaurants and directions. We walked to all the sites easily from inside the medina. Wonderful experience.

Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank anyetka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2010

After staying at Dar Tasnime for three nights in early March I could not recommend the property highly enough – I will keep this short:

1) A friendly host who:
a. Helped us even before we arrived at the property
b. Has some great tips of things to do and places to eat etc
c. Is always there to help
d. Generally cares and wants you to enjoy your experience at not only Dar Tasnime buy in Marrakech itself

2) Ideally located
a. In the old town; therefore short walks to all of the main attractions to the old town
b. Close to the city walls
c. Close to the airport
d. Close to the new town (Gueliz)
e. Close to the fancy resorts in Hivernage

3) Fantastic authentic rooms

4) A real retreat from the hustle and bustle – quiet tranquillity within its walls

5) Nice roof terrace to rest weary legs and take in some well earned sunshine

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuLu8028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#139 of 501 in Marrakech
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#31 of 501 in Marrakech
491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 501 in Marrakech
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Mansour Marrakech
Royal Mansour Marrakech
#42 of 501 in Marrakech
390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#67 of 501 in Marrakech
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tasnime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tasnime

Address: | 27, Jbel Lakhdar, R'mila, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #260 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Tasnime 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tasnime is a charming Riad located within the old city of Marrakech, in the easily accessible quarter of R'mila-Jbel Lakhdar. A superb location and safe neighborhood in the vicinity of the main square Jamâa-el-Fna, shopping areas and other local attractions. Our property has been in the family since 1962 and was recently renovated and decorated with love, passion, and according to local traditions. It took two years for several teams of talented artisans to restore this traditional house using local materials and techniques that have been used for centuries. The refined tints of this authentic moroccan house are in perfect harmony with its arab architecture making it appropriate for a serene and convivial stay. The Riad offers five rooms in the first floor: two single confort, two twin or double and one triple room around a courtyard with a refreshing fountain. All rooms are equipped with reversible air conditioning and private bathrooms. The dining room and living room are in the ground floor. The roof terrace with exotic plants presents a great view on the old city and Atlas Mountains and is the privileged place for breakfast and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dar Tasnime reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing