We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dar Tassa Mountain Retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Tasnime

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dar Tasnime
Ranked #304 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Fuentes de Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dar Tassa Mountain Retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2011

Our five night stay in Dar Tassa proved to be an amazing insight in to the life and customs of the Berber people. The guest house is located above a typical warm friendly and beautiful Berber village high in a green lush valley with stunning mountain views. If the location wasn't enough in itself the hospitality that was provided by all the staff, and in particular, Mohamed for who no request was impossible, made this vacation a joy and one that I shall cherish for years to come. It is well worth taking the opportunity of the tours offered by Dar Tassa's guides to fully appreciate this area of the Atlas. Will miss the people, the food (which was always excellent) and being somewhere quite special.

Room Tip: Go for en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
54
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed there for two nights after a long-planned and researched trip at the end of April 2010. We have viewed our room in the second floor with a nice balcony overlooking the patio over the Internet and emailed back and forth with the owner, Mr. Chakib, a gentle and internationally educated Moroccan, so as to reserve it much in advance. As you may know, each room at a riad is different, since riads are old houses or palaces which have been restored to their original splendor. After we arrived to the hotel though what a deception it was to learn that our room was taken and thus we were forced to accept another one in the first floor (not as beautiful). After some argument with Chakib, I ended up mad and frustrated. He said that being a small riad with a few number of rooms, he could not control how long each guest would decide to stay, not very convincing for a much reserved in advance room (he could have moved the other guests, right?) Since we were just beginning our trip to Morocco, we decided to let it go, and thereafter I must say that, within his clear commercial view, Chakib was an extremely attentive, helpful and well informed host. The location of the riad is just perfect, the proximity to the Mosque for us was an additional advantage (as it was to the Saadian Tombs!) and the call to prayer never disturbed us. Breakfast was delightful and the just squeezed orange juice was incredible –we have never tasted an orange juice as good as the Moroccan! The riad itself is very nice, clean and well kept, and the maid was also very gentle and kind. There is a huge market nearby (not the zouk which is a 10 minute walk away) but we find it a little expensive, but for certain things it may be convenient. Dar Tasnime was a good experience altogether and Marrakech is just an unforgettable chaotic city, worth to visit several times throughout a lifetime.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergioo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

The riad itself is absolutely beautiful, with incredible attention to detail. Owned and run by a Moroccan man, the decor is authentic and breath-taking and the beautiful court yard and the roof top terrace (where we took breakfast) provide stunning views. The hotel was always immaculately clean. It is perfectly situated just a 5 minute walk from Jeem el F'naa and made a brilliant base from which to explore the city. The real highlight of the accomodation, even above being able to stare out at the mosque and the rooftops of Marakesh whilst taking breakfast, was the hospitality and the customer service. The Moroccan man who owns and runs the riad could not have been more welcoming or helpful. He organised incredible day trips, taxis and evenings out and was always ready with directions or helpful hints for getting the best out of Marakesh. He even went out to get us dinner when the rain prevented us from making it to the restaurants. Nothing was ever too much trouble and it is a lovely family business which feels a million miles away from the gaudy, large hotels which seem to provide the bulk of accomodation in the city. It is the nicest accomodation I've ever stayed in and I feel that, by staying here, we got to experience the real Marakesh. I only wish we could have stayed longer; we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gledders19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

We ahd a fantastic time in Marrakech and one of the reasons for this was staying at Dar Tasnime! Chakib (the owner) was very helpful and gave us lots of advice on negotiating the amazing city of Marrakech. We have been home in Wales for 2 months and we still miss the fresh orange juice and homemade pancakes! This Riad is superb and we will go there again! Peter & Lois (Wales UK)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PETERLOISWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2010

We could have not chosen a better spot than Dar Tasnime as our entry point for our trip across Morocco. It's very small so the owner will take personally care of each guest individually. Top notch roof terrace, a great value for the suite and perfect, very quiet location (don't miss going to the Bains de Marrakesh which is just around the corner).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank makonyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

Fantastic riad centrally situated in the medina.Chakib the owner very welcoming and helpful,nothing too much trouble.All 5 rooms tastefully decorated and maintained.
Temporary demolition work near the hotel made a lie in a bit difficult!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sijohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
219 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

I took my Mum and a friend to Marrakesh for a week' holiday in May, and Dar Tasnime was ideal in many ways.
It is close to many of the cultural attractions, and within walking distance of many more (even with some very slow walkers in-tow!!!).
Although there is re-development going on around the riad, (which was a bit noisy and dusty during the day), once inside all is tranquil and beautifully arranged. I looked in all the rooms and can confirm that they all live up to the web-site photos - they're beautiful, and each has its own individual character. I was lucky and had a balcony looking over the courtyard, but my Mum was equally pleased with her pretty and cosy room on the ground floor.

Although there is a pretty lounge adjoining the courtyard, the main public area is the terrace, where we ate generous breakfasts (included in the price), lounged in the sun, and enjoyed evening G+T's (duty-free's!) and an assortment of snacks from the nearby 'Nut vendor' and 'local store'! Chakib the owner was more than happy for us to help ourselves from the kitchen, (and we tried to tidy up after ourselves!).

I would say that the biggest gem of all at Dar Tasnime is indeed Chakib! He is the most warm and helpful hotel proprietor I have ever met, he speaks perfect English, (having spent 10 years in the US), and being a Marrakechi born-and-bred, he will give you all the info and tips you could possible wish for. He made us feel exceptionally welcome and safe in a city which can sometimes be challenging! He will give you restaurant recommendations (the new place nearby is beautiful, with great food and service plus very high quality musicians and an unobtrusive but beautiful Belly dancer(!!), and can arrange most anything you have in mind.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanSymonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#66 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#192 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#53 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#27 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
1.3 mi away
No photo provided
Dar Tasnime
#779 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Aby
Dar Aby
#286 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tasnime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tasnime

Property: Dar Tasnime
Address: | 27, Jbel Lakhdar, R'mila, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #304 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Tasnime 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tasnime is a charming Riad located within the old city of Marrakech, in the easily accessible quarter of R'mila-Jbel Lakhdar. A superb location and safe neighborhood in the vicinity of the main square Jamâa-el-Fna, shopping areas and other local attractions. Our property has been in the family since 1962 and was recently renovated and decorated with love, passion, and according to local traditions. It took two years for several teams of talented artisans to restore this traditional house using local materials and techniques that have been used for centuries. The refined tints of this authentic moroccan house are in perfect harmony with its arab architecture making it appropriate for a serene and convivial stay. The Riad offers five rooms in the first floor: two single confort, two twin or double and one triple room around a courtyard with a refreshing fountain. All rooms are equipped with reversible air conditioning and private bathrooms. The dining room and living room are in the ground floor. The roof terrace with exotic plants presents a great view on the old city and Atlas Mountains and is the privileged place for breakfast and relaxation. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing