We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Almost Perfect”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
62 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Russian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
JoaoPorti...
Portimão
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Almost Perfect”
Reviewed September 27, 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

We´ve just flew back from Marrakesh and I must say that we liked very much the Riad. Everyone at Awinati (owners and staff) where very nice and always tryring to make our stay in Marrakesh perfect. The Riad is very nice and I only can point two things that prevent me to call it perfect: the location and the heat in the room.
About the location, it´s in the Kasbah, wich means that you have to walk about 20 minutes to get to Djema El Fna square. This can be seen as a disadvantage to some persons, but it wasn´t so bad for us, as we took the chance to know the surrondings pretty well. Nevertheless, don´t forget that you are in the Kasbah, which may seem a bit heavy to the persons who are not usted to arabic cities. We got out every nigths and had no problem whatsoever.
About the second item, our room (on the ground floor, facing the patio) was very hot. Even with the air conditioning working, we were sweating a bit. Please mind that the Riad only accepts payment in cash (no credit or debit cards are accepted).
On the overall, I should say the Riad is very good and I strongly recommend it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angSevill...
seville
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“oasis of calm”
Reviewed September 13, 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

The owner of the riad,Abi did everything possible to make our stay in Marrakesh such an enjoyable experience. He was always just a phone call away day or night should we need to ask him for help or advice . The riad is staffed by Abi's family who adopt the same helpful attitude as he does. His niece ,Zaza did the traditional moroccan cooking which was truly delicious. We only ate ouside of the riad one of the four nights we were there. The service was first class and we were made to feel special. We certainly felt the riad offered excellent value for money.Abi took time to chat to us about the moroccan culture and lifestyle . The riad and its staff in our opinion was faultless. We have never stayed in a more hospitable hotel

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CANKSTERB...
BRISTOL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“ITS GOOD BUT SADLY LACKING”
Reviewed August 23, 2010 for a stay in August 2010
4
people found this review helpful

The taxi picked us up at the airport on time as arranged by the riad but cost 150 dirhams, this was a bit off as should hav cost around 50!.
Riad was nice and good vvalue for money and hosts couldnt do enough for us, rather than right an essay I will list the good/bad points.

GOOD POINTS

Kind and attentive Hosts
Clean/Nice Rooms
interesting lively location
good price

BAD POINTS

smell of sewage permeates riad when it rains.
very poor english
food was awful
plumbing is primeval

When we arrived at riad we were met by ABI, he then presented us with bill and insited we pay immediatly, we refused and advised we would pay at end.

Another issue we has was on the 3rd night of our stay we were asked to change rooms as they had a plumbing issue, this we did not mind as thee things happen so we moved all our things to the new room, when we got there we asked if we could stay in the new room for the rest of week, this was agreed. We went out the next morning to oasiria and upon our return we found our room empty and all our stuff gone, they then advised they had moved us! we were annoyed as they had not asked us despite us leaving at 10 am and waving goodbye to them, they had my mobile but did not call. We complained about strangers going through me and my daughters things and moving them all to another room but they could not see what our problem was.

Aside from this incident they were lovely but did have a rather cavalier attitude to customer service.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 8, 2010
I want to underline that welcoming by Abi, the manager, was impossible because he was in Italy on holidays with his children

About your luggage, it could have been nice to advise you but Fatimzara is a very kind person and I am sure, she just wanted to be helpful.

I am very surprise about your comment for the quality of the food and that you would rather eat at Mac Donalds than our Moroccan traditional dishes. Since the opening of the Riad Awinati, we are used to have pretty good comments concerning our cook Fatimzara and the quality of dishes (tajine, couscous etc.).

Marrakech’s taxi drivers managed to set a price for everyone (150 dh) due to the airport transfers delays.

From my point of view, 45€ per night for a 24sqm en-suite room breakfast included in center of Marrakech, during high season, is an excellent quality/price ratio.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meekles
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kind Hosts, Lovely Building, Good Value”
Reviewed July 27, 2010 for a stay in June 2010
2
people found this review helpful

We had a really difficult time finding Riad Awinati. A taxi driver dropped us off outside of the medina walls and off we went with roller bags in tow. Luckily, two kind young men helped us find the riad, but without them, we'd have been lost. Once there, however, it becomes clear what a great location this place is actually in--close enough to the main square to walk but far enough away for peaceful nights. The couple who run the riad were wonderful--so kind and helpful--and our room (the turquoise) was nice. Breakfasts were basic but okay. Overall, a good place to stay in Marrakech run by two truly wonderful hosts.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrinatm
Chicago, Illinois, USA
2 reviews
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed July 17, 2010 for a stay in June 2010

My husband and I stayed at the riad our first 2 nights in Morocco. Our hosts were very welcoming and extremely helpful. We ate dinner on their rooftop deck (a great place to relax) 2 nights, and the food was some of the best we ate while in Morocco. I definitely recommend staying here. It was a peaceful oasis in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. La Kasbah is a bit more calm than around the square.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dhydratio...
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Riad with Unbeatable Service”
Reviewed June 9, 2010 for a stay in March 2010

My girlfriend and I stayed at Riad Awinati in March and absolutely loved it! In décor and amenities Awinati is comparable to other riads I have seen and stayed in. It is conveniently located in the Kasbah district which is a short and relatively simple walk to Djemaa el Fna, the souks and most of the other sites. However, what made Awinati a real gem was the hospitality and service of its caretakers Halima and her husband. They were always available and more than willing to help, from the tea we were offered upon arrival to the suggestions and guide they provided. My girlfriend and I actually had a 24 hr flu during our week stay and Halima went out of her way to help us by preparing special meals, bringing us a constant supply of bottled water, and making trips to the pharmacy (on her time off!!) I can’t say enough about Riad Awinati and especially about the people that make it such a great place.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Expeditio...
Italy
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home Away from Home”
Reviewed May 18, 2010 for a stay in May 2010

We have stayed at the Riad Awinati for 5 nights in the middle of May. This place is wonderful, is located in a very convininet location, in the Kasbha only few minutes from the main attractions. They gave us the nicest room, a lovely suite wit a canopy bed, a little sofa and a typical bathroom with a very large shower. The room was very clean and tidy. We want to thank very much Halima and her Husband Nour for taking such a good care of the Riad and the guests as well as Mohamed, the night porter, very kind too. But especially Halima, she is the best, so sweet and kind, she prepared for us every morning a wonderful breakfast on the terrace, and we were always late!!! What we will never foget is her "Lemon Taijine"!! we had dinner once and she prepared a woderful dinner just for us, a maroccan salad, very nice and fresh, the best taijine we have had in all our trip and an orange salad with cinnamon, the table was decorated with flowers and candles, very romantic. We really suggest you to have dinner there at least one time. We really hope to be back soon, thank you!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing