We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Not to be trusted! Very shoddy treatment.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad 34

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad 34
Ranked #478 of 1,162 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not to be trusted! Very shoddy treatment.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

After lots of research on Tripadvisor, we booked Riad 34 at least 6 weeks in advance for our first ever holiday in Morocco. We emailed again shortly before flying out and they replied confirming a meal on the first evening. However, on arrival, we were told by Rasheed that our room was 'being renovated' and they therefore had no rooms for us. This was blatantly not the case - he was not prepared to show us the room (said he didn't have a key?).

When I asked why we couldn't have been warned about this, we were told that they thought it better to book us another riad and 'surprise us'. This was after 8pm at night in the middle of the medina. We didn't know Marrakech at all. When I expressed my disbelief and disappointment, Racheed went on to say that he wasn't the owner and it wasn't his fault. He was there on his own. I asked to speak to the owner and was told this wasn't possible as he was in France.

At my insistence, he finally phoned the owner's wife. She also continued the line of it being better to surprise us, rather than email us ahead. Unbelievable! We presume they had double booked. Eventually, a taxi was called and we were shipped off to another riad at about 9pm - no dinner available at this new one. (We were offered bread and jam while we waited for the taxi). The new riad was fine but further out of the centre and, not the one we had picked!

This shows complete disrespect for potential guests and was a really depressing start to our first holiday in Morocco. It also reflects badly onTripadvisor and Booking.com

Please be careful this doesn't happen to you!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank newvisitorUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    54
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
67
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Leo, Salee and Rasheed were exceptional host!!! Riad 34 was key in making our stay in Marakech a magical one. I hope to one day come back and stay here again and see this wonderful Riad and these wonderful people. The riad itself was truly charming. The rooms was very very comfortable. The breakfast they served was nothing but exceptional-the mint tea was by far the best in all of Marakech. I truly felt like we entered as valued customers and left as friends. THEY TRULY KNOW HOW TO TREAT THEIR GUESTS!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OurAventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We came to Marrakesh by surprise, so we didn't had any idea where to find a good place to stay or a reservation. After a walk during the whole morning we asked other tourists where they did stay. Then we found the first best riads, but very expensive. The people of these Riads showed us other Riads until somebody told us about Riad 34. A room with a price we were able to pay. Arriving in the Riad, Rachid, the host, was very friendly. He showed us where to go but also where not to go. During the whole stay he was nice to talk to and he speaks very good english. The riad is clean, it was a big room with a good atmosphere. The serve a great breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AstridCrijns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

A quaint less-than-10-room establishment in the old Medina. Very clean with authentic Moroccan décor and ambience. Friendly and very helpful English-speaking staff. It's even better if you can speak French since it's their first language.

We stayed there during Ramadhan/fasting month - the staff woke us up at 3am for our 'sahur' and served our meal in the courtyard. Perfect for Muslim travellers

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wahida_WB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

Riad 34 was our first stop in Morocco and was a beautiful way to start our holiday. The location is perfect right in the heart of the medina, but makes it difficult to locate the first time so beware the touts offering to help! There's an exchange and a host of little shops right round the corner. The riad itself is pretty and tastefully decorated. Our hosts were very attentive and always willing to help if we needed to leave our bags overnight or get an early breakfast. Would definitely recommend it!!

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs have a lovely view of the courtyard and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank medha48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

The riad was very nice. It only had a few rooms, and the people running it was really friendly and nice.
It's located in walking distance from Djemma del Fna, maybe 5-7 minutes to walk. Its in a very quiet area and no noise at night.
The breakfast was very good and a perfect start of the day, and with real coffee, (not the easiest thing to find in Marrakech).
They have an airport pick up service which we used.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaia Helene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2011

Absolutely loved this place. Last minute booking when our other place fell through - and am glad it did. The Riad is really small - thinks its only 5 rooms - which means the staff is really attentive and always ready to help. Just a 10 minute walk gets you to Jamaa el Fna. Breakfast is great too..eggs, fresh bread, different kinds of jams and a fruit juice - couldn't ask for more.

The only drawback (if you'd call that one) is that its really tricky to find the first time around. So make sure you get detailed directions or get one of the boys hanging near the taxi stand to direct you - just agree on a rate first though.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashchi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Cala Medina
Cala Medina
#203 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#307 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#258 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#222 of 502 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Hannah City Hotel
Riad Hannah City Hotel
#850 of 1,162 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Aicha
Riad Dar Aicha
#575 of 1,162 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad 34? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad 34

Property: Riad 34
Address: 34 Derb Lehbib Lemmagni | Riad Zitoun Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #478 of 1,162 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad 34 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad 34 is located in Marrakech in the heart of the Medina near the Palais de la Bahia. Its rooms features an outdoor terrace and a patio. The Riad 34 offers warm and fresh drink service, touristic advice and excursions and guided trips. It also has a hammam and optional massage treatments. There is also a comfortable patio furnished with couches and chairs. It also has an outdoor terrace that is also a solarium. The Riad 34 is also very close to the Dar Si Said Museum. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Riad 34 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad 34 Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing