We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zaouia 44
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$237
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$240
$192
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$93
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$593
$468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$370
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$455
$308
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$425
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$250
$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,058
$1,019
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
186
50
11
5
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
186
50
11
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspatio suitelocal lifesmall doorcentral medinaville nouvellebeautiful riadother guestspancakestop floorairport pickhighly recommend this riadchicken taginea great stayorange juicemoroccan teaevery morningmoroccan style
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 257 reviews
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We booked this riad Zaouiaa44 in July 2013 for our trip to Morocco in April 2014. We booked for 5 nights and paid a deposit via paypal. IN April 2014, one week before we were due to fly out of the country and 8 days before we were due to stay in Zaoiaa44 I received an email from Sophie the owner saying that she had made a mistake in her booking and we could not stay there for nights - only 3 nights were available. We were gobsmacked to say the least. She offered us 5 nights in her 'other riad" which from the website looked awful with no leafy courtyard. She offered us 2 nights at another riad and then 3 nights in Zaouia44 - we explained that especially with a 10 year old we needed to arrive, unpack and stay for 5 nights.
Her explanation for the mistake was something to do with her booking system - she never explained why we had to move and not the other people - we booked 9 months in advance and paid a deposit!!! She indicated that she had made this type of error before!!
DONT RISK IT! WE had to book somewhere else at the last minute which was not easy. Stay somewhere else - there are plenty of reliable and great riads in Marrakesh!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Service
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
6sou, Propriétaire at Zaouia 44, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

All reservations must be confirmed by payment of a deposit. We never received the deposit. when these customers have contacted us, one month before arrival, the booking was not confirmed and we have no rooms available at zaouia44.
We have offered them to stay in our second riad azzouna13, located nearby. They refused. Then we proposed other riads, they doesn't like them. We are really sorry and understand their disappointment, but it is imperative to send a deposit to confirm a reservation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

When you like minimal Moroccon chic, this (and their sister sister property Azzouna 13) is the place to be. After a day spent in the buzzling Medina, it's delightful to drink some mint tea (or white wine) in the beautiful courtyard. The garden with white roses ads to the feel of serenity and the breakfast and dinners on the roof terrace are great. Both Sadik and the manager from Zaouia 44 are extremely nice and helpful. Highly recommended for a relaxing and esthetical experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandDAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Well designed rooms and public spaces, nice rooftop sun terrace, delicious food, sweet staff who provided very good service, good location in a residential neighborhood yet within easy walking distance of the central medina/souks, good value for prices. I reduced my rating to very good due to a few administrative issues that were not hassle or stress free.

A tip about tipping (in general in Morocco, given their extraordinary level of hospitality and service)... Generously tip each who have served you at the end of your stay - they deserve it! You can tell them upfront that you'll tip at the end to make it easier on yourself, otherwise you'll be tipping non-stop for their consistently outstanding service. I was recommended by an experienced Frenchman in Morocco to tip a minimum of 50 Dirhams per person per day, remembering if you eat at the riad that you would normally be giving a 10-12 percent tip at the restaurants for your meals. An exception would be to tip upfront 10-20 dirhams per day for each of the cleaners, who will give you great in-room service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good at Zaouia 44.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, slightly basic rooms and you could probably get more for your money if you looked hard enough. Breakfast served on the terrace every morning, lovely when the sun is out but again basic, just tea and toast. A good 25 mins walk from the main square Jemaa el Fna through the souks which can be very confusing! Don't listen to the young boys trying to convince you the route is closed or telling you you're going the wrong way! We found any shop keeper was helpful and pointed you in the right direction (in French!).
Positives: Friendly staff, great roof terrace, comfy beds.
Negatives: Bit basic, WIFI not available in most of the building, our room (Patio) was very noisy as we could hear people above and anyone coming into Riad at night.

Room Tip: No WIFI in Patio room and we found very loud as on the ground floor
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lwoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I have recently visited riad. On arrival we have been warmly greeted by the Riad manager Mohammed then given a nice moroccan tea while the check in process been completed. We had problem with the reservation but this was dealt with promptly. The breakfast was traditional, basic, fresh yet was enough and kept us on for whole day with nibble till the main meal.The Riad was nice, clean andchildren friendly. However, its about good 20 min walk from Jamaa Al Fana through very nice, historic old building and shops which makes the journey very intersting. The journey was tricky to get the direction right but people were very helpful and welling to help.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Helmi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews