We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great esthetics”
Review of Zaouia 44

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zaouia 44
Ranked #220 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

When you like minimal Moroccon chic, this (and their sister sister property Azzouna 13) is the place to be. After a day spent in the buzzling Medina, it's delightful to drink some mint tea (or white wine) in the beautiful courtyard. The garden with white roses ads to the feel of serenity and the breakfast and dinners on the roof terrace are great. Both Sadik and the manager from Zaouia 44 are extremely nice and helpful. Highly recommended for a relaxing and esthetical experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandDAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 235 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2014

Well designed rooms and public spaces, nice rooftop sun terrace, delicious food, sweet staff who provided very good service, good location in a residential neighborhood yet within easy walking distance of the central medina/souks, good value for prices. I reduced my rating to very good due to a few administrative issues that were not hassle or stress free.

A tip about tipping (in general in Morocco, given their extraordinary level of hospitality and service)... Generously tip each who have served you at the end of your stay - they deserve it! You can tell them upfront that you'll tip at the end to make it easier on yourself, otherwise you'll be tipping non-stop for their consistently outstanding service. I was recommended by an experienced Frenchman in Morocco to tip a minimum of 50 Dirhams per person per day, remembering if you eat at the riad that you would normally be giving a 10-12 percent tip at the restaurants for your meals. An exception would be to tip upfront 10-20 dirhams per day for each of the cleaners, who will give you great in-room service.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good at Zaouia 44.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HLEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, slightly basic rooms and you could probably get more for your money if you looked hard enough. Breakfast served on the terrace every morning, lovely when the sun is out but again basic, just tea and toast. A good 25 mins walk from the main square Jemaa el Fna through the souks which can be very confusing! Don't listen to the young boys trying to convince you the route is closed or telling you you're going the wrong way! We found any shop keeper was helpful and pointed you in the right direction (in French!).
Positives: Friendly staff, great roof terrace, comfy beds.
Negatives: Bit basic, WIFI not available in most of the building, our room (Patio) was very noisy as we could hear people above and anyone coming into Riad at night.

Room Tip: No WIFI in Patio room and we found very loud as on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lwoo89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

I have recently visited riad. On arrival we have been warmly greeted by the Riad manager Mohammed then given a nice moroccan tea while the check in process been completed. We had problem with the reservation but this was dealt with promptly. The breakfast was traditional, basic, fresh yet was enough and kept us on for whole day with nibble till the main meal.The Riad was nice, clean andchildren friendly. However, its about good 20 min walk from Jamaa Al Fana through very nice, historic old building and shops which makes the journey very intersting. The journey was tricky to get the direction right but people were very helpful and welling to help.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Helmi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2013

After several amazing stays at the sister riad Azzouna 13 - this was my first stay at Zaouia 44.

Zaouia 44 provides the same tranquility, impeccable architecture, spotless rooms and excellent service as Azzouna 13.

Mohamed and Hamid were attentive and always greeted us with big smiles. On top of that Mohamed is an amazing cook. The manager Sadik was - as always - the perfect host going above and beyond.

This riad is bigger than Azzouna 13, but still has a cosy atmosphere thanks to clever architecture. The courtyard is absolutely beautiful and the splash pool calls your name after a day of exploring Marrakech.

Thanks to warm sunny days breakfast was served on the gorgeous roof terrace every morning.

Zaouia 44 is very well situated, but I personally prefer the location of Azzouna 13 being just 5 mins from the souks and 10 mins from the big square.

The WiFi only works in the courtyard because of the thick stone in the rooms upstairs – luckily there are plenty of comfortable nooks in the courtyard where you can hang out and surf the Internet.

Whenever I stay at Sophie’s riads, I feel at home immediately. It’s a safe oasis and leaving an unlocked room is no problem.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lene T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

this riad is really amazing, hidden in a small street in the medina, once you've entred the stillness is present! friendly and helpfull staff, breakfast on the roof terrace in the sun, the renovation is a succes, so much good taste and simplicity, cosy corners to sit and relax....

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This Riad was beyond our expectations. It is situated perfectly in the city so you get a true feel of being with the local people yet close enough to walk to the souks. The structure and architectural features are impressive and very well done with great detail. Simply yet traditionally decorated, clean, quiet and welcoming are how I can describe the facility but what made the Riad the most special place were the staff. Mohamed always greeted us with the kindest smile and always had everything we needed without hesitation, overseeing the Riad to the highest level, Sadik, the manager gave us a personal visit and spoke of the best places to go giving us good tips on maneuvering the city and we enjoyed the "Berber Whiskey" with him! Hamid, who was new during our stay, was most generous and kind, offering amazing stories of his Berber people and filled with great generosity to help in any way. Thank you all for making our time in Marrakech the absolute best! This Riad is the best!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are lovely and each have their own special details. I don't think there is a ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atremin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#69 of 500 in Marrakech
259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#64 of 500 in Marrakech
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 500 in Marrakech
1,803 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#42 of 500 in Marrakech
1,339 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#16 of 500 in Marrakech
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaouia 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaouia 44

Address: 44 Taht Sour Sghir | Taht Sour Sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #220 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $88 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Zaouia 44 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaouia 44 is an old remains calm and serene near Bab targhzout square, sister of Jemaa el Fna, 15mn walk to it and 5 minutes from the souks.It offers 7 large bedrooms, each with a lounge and a bathroom tadelakt traditional. Guests can swimm in the pool of the large patio or relax on one of the 4 terraces overlooking the medina and the chain of Atlas Mountains nearby.For your well-being, Zaouia 44 offers a traditional hammam tadelakt black and a massage room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Zaouia 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaouia 44 Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing