We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Respite in the Dusty Medina”
Review of Zaouia 44

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Zaouia 44
Ranked #209 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
KL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Respite in the Dusty Medina”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

If you’re looking to spend your time in Marrakech watching CNN, if an in-room minibar is something you simply can’t live without, and if the descriptors “slick” and “high gloss” tickle your fancy, then you’d do well to follow the rest of the nouveau riche to one of the more modern hotels in the ville nouvelle. If you’re looking for an authentic riad experience in a less touristed part of the medina however, then I personally don’t think you could do any better than Zaouia 44. The aesthetics rely upon a more muted palette to allow the Moorish elements to pop, resulting in an overall effect that is tranquil and serene – the sort of place you’d relish returning to after a day spent dodging runaway donkey carts and dung heaps in the chaotic alleyways. I initially booked myself in for three nights but stayed five. To be honest, I could have spent the rest of my life here, drinking freshly squeezed pomegranate juice while watching sunsets on the roof.

Room Tip: Take the one next to the private cinema -- private courtyard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomelessTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    40
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
56
79
12
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I found this riad located within the walls of Marrakech's historic medina on Tablet Hotels, known for their keen attention to ambiance and style.

The authentic riad architecture combined with the pared back interior design really appealed to me — big, open courtyard with fountain, garden and various outdoor seating nooks and an indoor living room on the first level, carved wooden balconies, cupolas and passageways above and up further still a trellised terrace and open sun deck with rather modern landscaping.

The rooms are all lovely; I've poked around to see 4 of the 7 available, and they all really stand-up to the photos on Tablet and the riad's own site. I'd be happy in any. The color scheme is consistent everywhere: a soothing pale grey, bright white and vintage red. Floors and the bottom of the walls are a modern grey sanded concrete, and the rest of the walls are white stucco. Windows are all shuttered in grey with thick white canvas drapes to maintain privacy and keep out the hot sun. (AC in all the rooms.) Seating benches and nooks abound in the rooms, too. Moroccan light and bath fixtures are all delightful. Great bath products, too: soap, shampoo, conditioner and lotion in local scents.

Only constructive criticism would be to extend the wifi beyond the ground patio (although I see the challenges with the thick mud brick walls) and to replace the plastic-lined mattress pads with cotton ones (as they remind me of the sheets my brother had to use before he was fully potty-trained!)

The staff is lovely and helpful, too. Run by a French couple Sophie and Frederic but also employing locals like Sardiq (manager), Mohammed (man about the riad) and Hakim (tour guide and driver). Easy to get transport to and from the airport and to arrange other help getting to/from dinner, navigating the maze of alleyways, etc.

Love the breakfast served in whatever nook you choose: something hot off the griddle as well as a bread basket with butter, a variety of amazing preserves (apricot, strawberry, orange and honey), fresh OJ and hot coffee and milk.

Finally, delighted at how affordable the place is considering its high design! I would love to come back and fill the entire place up with friends and family to share the experience.

(Do note that the riad is located in the northern part of the medina, a good 20 to 30 minute walk from the main square Djemaa al-Fna where all the ATMs are depending on how distracted or lost you might get! While you have to get through some serious chaos to get cash or to some of the main sights, the riad is an oasis of calm when you arrive back.)

Room Tip: I would choose any!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kellyj415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

My partner and I spent 5 days at Zaouia 44. The property is tucked in a neighborhood a bit removed from the busy tourist spots so definitely arrange to have the riad's driver pick you up at the airport when you first arrive. Our stay was a great experience from start to finish. I really appreciated the beautiful, restrained design of the property. It is a VERY refreshing departure from most of the riads in Marrakesh which go overboard on color, decor and kitch. Rooms are quiet and comfortable. There are many lounging space and for some reason we were the only guests to use the small, refreshing dipping pool. The staff is welcoming, well-trained, unobtrusive and genuine. Mohamad and the young woman who oversees the kitchen were standouts. We elected to take most of our dinners at the riad because the traditional food was delicious, well prepared and a good value. After chasing around the very bustling (chaotic)medina souk all day long, a quiet dinner "at home" was the perfect end to the day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimSonomaCounty_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

hidden away in the medina i love this big and very pretty house. i parked right outside, strangely enough i found it rather...easily .the first time i used the convenient small back door, until i discovered the main entrance later on.once inside i felt exactly like i had envisioned from the pictures . its big, beautiful arches , white rose bushes around a lovely fountain/pool and many corners where to read or drink a nice mint tea offered by the very nice staff members.i was shown to my downstairs room, and i felt home away from home. although it was early afternoon i needed tor rest after an early departure from , and what a surprise!! i still dont know where they found their sheets ( the staff didnt know) but there were the softest egyptian cotton sheets i ever slept in... i mean it , so soft . very clean , good amenities , and a great breakfast . i didnt try the hammam, but spoke to a couple who did, and it seems to be of the standard as the rest.great dinner by the fire place , lovely trendy/chic glassware added a nice touch , to what i felt was my best discovery in this lively and so different city of marrakech. i want to come back to zaouia 44 and try their new guesthouse by the sea, the owner i briefly met told me it should be open by the spring , and its sounsd so beautiful looking out a peaceful bay ... i hope you will have as a good time as i had.
Gany from los angeles

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gany57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scheveningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

After our stay in the sister riad Azounna 13, we booked one night for this lovely riad.

This riad has the same ambiance and is a very lovely and quitte place in the middel of the hectic medina of Marrakech.

Both Azounna 13 and this Zaouni 44 are great, and we would like to thank the staff very much for our great stay.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CieC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 22, 2011

I travel a lot and have had all sorts of amazing hotel experiences, but Zaouia 44 outdoes them all. It's an amazingly well designed hotel, with a great staff and a lovely atmosphere. I would almost go to Marrakech just to stay at this place. I stayed for 3 nights at Zaouia 44 and ended up spending quite a lot of time at the hotel, because Marrakech can be quite a stressful place. The hotel has an amazing courtyard with a pool, and an equally great rooftop with beach chairs and great ambience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjarke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 21, 2011

It was my first time in Marrakech and I have to say that I have not been disappointed. We asked the owner Sophie for a driver from the airport, which we recommend because it is cheap and at least you avoid all the arrival drama, and go straight to the Riad without having to even think if you will be able to locate it in the Medina. You will have plenty of time afterwards to ask yourself the question ! The first impression when you enter the house is one of Grandeur, of chic and of peace. The inner courtyard with only white roses and orange trees is a vision of dream ! We were greeted by lovely Mohamed that then led us to our Room, located on the first floor of the Douiria, a little house inside the house with its own private courtyard. The room was full of light, with a fireplace that was so nice to see at night (and so romantic) when the bathroom all in grey tadelakt was also a delightful place to relax. Sophie is an architect and it shows in the details : the bath tub is built over the inner courtyard and bathing inside it you feel that you are in levitation among the bamboo trees. So cool ! The cleanliness is amazing (spotless) each room has A/C and heating and a perfumed candle that was smelling so good + amenities in the bathrooms including a selection of typical moroccan products (black soap etc). We decided to eat at the Riad several times and the food was very good as well as well served. The breakfast served on the terrace or inside the room were also a treat. All in all, everything was up to our expectations !!! I did not talk about Marrakech in this post, maybe thats because I preferred the house itself !!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Ryad Dyor
Ryad Dyor
#66 of 500 in Marrakech
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#45 of 500 in Marrakech
206 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#25 of 500 in Marrakech
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
921 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Azzouna 13
Riad Azzouna 13
#77 of 1,139 in Marrakech
181 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
Riad Dixneuf La Ksour
#8 of 1,139 in Marrakech
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zaouia 44? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zaouia 44

Property: Zaouia 44
Address: 44 Taht Sour Sghir | taht sour sghir, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Zaouia 44 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zaouia 44 is an old remains calm and serene near Bab targhzout square, sister of Jemaa el Fna, 15mn walk to it and 5 minutes from the souks.It offers 7 large bedrooms, each with a lounge and a bathroom tadelakt traditional. Guests can swimm in the pool of the large patio or relax on one of the 4 terraces overlooking the medina and the chain of Atlas Mountains nearby.For your well-being, Zaouia 44 offers a traditional hammam tadelakt black and a massage room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Zaouia 44 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zaouia 44 Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing