We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad La Porte Rouge
Nearby Hotels
$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$210
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$593
$516
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$346
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$83
$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$233
$218
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$422
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$381
$371
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad 72(Marrakech)
$152
$148
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,058
$1,020
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (638)
Filter reviews
638 results
Traveler rating
508
96
20
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
96
20
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubthe main squareroof terraceresident cathouse catprune tagineon arrivalbreakfast was deliciousfresh orange juicebusy roadmassage roomminute walkmoroccan pastriestop floorstaff was very friendly and helpfulmoroccan experiencetucked away
Filter
Updating list...
141 - 146 of 638 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this riad for 1 week in May after it had been recommended to us by some friends and we were not disappointed! We can't say thank you enough to Ahmed and the rest of the team. We were welcomed with mint tea and delicious pastries and Ahmed spent ages talking to us about the area and showing us on the map the best routes around the city.
As we were staying a week our airport transfers were included and we were met by the best driver in Morocco , an absolutely lovely man called Yassine.

We booked Yassine for many other days out exploring the Atlas Mountains and surrounding areas and were fascinated to talk to him about his family, culture and life in Morocco. If you are looking at doing any excursions make sure you ask for Yassine. He will take you anywhere you want to go and is such a gentleman as well as being so fascinating to talk to.

We stayed in the room on the roof terrace and it was beautiful . We must also say a huge thank you to the chef ( so sorry, can't remember his name ) as we ate in the riad almost every evening and the food was exquisite , so much better then eating out.

Ahmed and the team really can't do enough for you, anything you need they will provide. Please don't consider staying anywhere else in Marrakech !

Room Tip: The room on the roof terrace is by far the best
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Allen1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We traveled to Morocco in February and visited Casablanca and Marrakech. We had a great time in Marrakech partly because of our stay in this riad! Although the riad was fairly secluded, it was not far away from the gates of the Old Medina. Once we found the place however, we were surprised by its decor and stylish look. Every room had a unique Moroccan look to it and no two rooms appeared to be the same. We were situated on the top floor in a room that offered great privacy for the duration of our stay. There was no noise that would bother us and the staff was respectful and reliable at all times. They were very helpful as well--during one of the days, the manager drove us from the riad to the Menara Gardens, which is a considerable distance away. Furthermore, the riad offered great deals on tours to the mountains and other local sights.

The breakfast was different every day of our stay. It was always made with organic, local products (jams, butter, etc.) and was excellent. Sitting on the roof, watching the beautiful Atlas Mountains (which can be clearly seen from the hotel, especially in the morning) while having our breakfast was a lovely experience. Overall, we are extremely satisfied with the quality of the riad and the service of the staff, notably the manager and the staff member Said. Thank you for the good accommodation!

Room Tip: Room on the roof is the best
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benafil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you very much to take time for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
The Riad la porte Rouge team join me to thank you for choosing to stay in the riad,we're very happy to read that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed it,we would like to thank you for this interest in Marrakech and Morocco too.We hope to see you in the nearest future.

Many thanks again,

Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We're just returned from a weeks stay at La Porte Rouge and cannot praise Ahmed and his team enough, everyone was so friendly and helpful.On arrival we were warmly welcomed with mint tea and a tour around the riad, Ahmed gave us a map and some great tips for getting around and what to see and do during our stay.

We were extremely happy with the riad , its beautifully decorated , very clean ,well maintained and very comfortable , it's peaceful with plenty of space to find a quiet corner to relax in after a busy day exploring
. Breakfast was really good , freshly made and very tasty, the menu looked very good too although we only ate once at the riad in the evening, it was delicious but far too much for just the two of us. We would highly recommend this riad and look forward to returning very soon.

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was perfect,beautifully decorated and comfortable.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SPHSouthEast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you very much to take time for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
The Riad la porte Rouge team join me to thank you for choosing to stay in the riad,we're very happy to read that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed it,we would like to thank you for this interest in Marrakech and Morocco too.We hope to see you in the nearest future.

Many thanks again,

Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

The Riad la Porte Rouge is without a doubt, the best place to visit Marrakech. Thanks to Ahmed, Karen and the rest of the team (even the cat) we had an incredible experience. Everyone in the Riad is kind, helpfull, always willing to help. The food is really good, the breakfast are huge, nice pool, great jacuzzi, beautiful decoration, clean, close to the main places to visit and calm.

Best place ever!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alejandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you very much to take time for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
The Riad la porte Rouge team join me to thank you for choosing to stay in the riad,we're very happy to read that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed it,we would like to thank you for this interest in Marrakech and Morocco too.We hope to see you in the nearest future.

Many thanks again,

Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

This is my second visit to Morocco and have left this review for last and am really glad I did as I wish to extend a special thank you to Ahmed who really looked after me and my husband. First time I came to Morocco, TA did not exist and I was a single girl happily staying in very simple accommodation. This time, with husband in tow, I had to up the ante and stay in more comfortable, acceptable surroundings befitting a married couple i.e. Not a bucket for a toilet!

This riad does have everything, a small dipping pool downstairs, a couple of lounge areas around a courtyard, two bedrooms on the ground floor, 4 on the next and 1 at the top floor where there is berber style lounge area, breakfast tables on the terrace, a hot tub and lounging areas for sunbathing and rooms for massage. We stayed here 3 times in 2 weeks: once in the hiba room downstairs when we first arrived to Marrakesh for 2 nights, second time for one night (chadia room first floor) upon returning from the Atlas mountains and for the final night (chadia room) after returning from Essaouria before going home. It is the final time that I especially wish to thank Ahmed for, he is like a friendly omnipresent concierge.

Early evening my husband realises he has left 2 shirts in the wardrobe of the Riad Chems Bleu in Essaouria which we left that morning. Although not expensive shirts, one of them I had sentimental value as it was the shirt I remember my husband wore on our first date. Ahmed contacted the riad and Latifa, manager of the Riad Chems Bleu brought the shirts herself the following morning to Ahmed just in time before we had our flight home at lunchtime. i never got to thank Latifa in person as she was en route to a meeting but wish to further add another review/comment after 3 months curfew that TA enforces as she made a special effort for us and I am so grateful she was able to come so quickly at short notice. Simple as it sounded, if I tried to converse with Latifa on the phone it wouldn't have been so straightforward as most hoteliers converse in French fluently but English not quite as well, having Ahmed facilitated the conversation and ended with the perfect result!

Location wise, the riad on the TA map is incorrect (not on derb Jmaa) if there is a lesson I have learnt is to check hotel websites as TA has incorrect locations on a few hotels and restaurants. The riad is at the end of a blind alley on the Rue de Bab Hmar, east of the Royal Palace- at the boundary wall there is an arch whereby you will see a street with small shops, immediately to your left there is road going alongside the palace wall and an alley, after a few shops, go into the next blind alley (you may see people going into a prayer room if its open) and take the first left and follow it to the end and the riad is there. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to Jemaa el fna following the palace wall and then the main road. Pleasantly located out of the main hustle and bustle.

Out of the rooms, we preferred Chadia room a little more as it feels more private than the rooms downstairs. On the ground floor you do hear the throughput of people in the courtyard so guests do need to be considerate with noise levels, on the flip side you don't really hear the sound of traffic on the outside except the call to prayer.

Last but not least, dont forget to say hello Max the friendly resident fluffy ginger cat. He loves strokes, the leather seat in the corner table of the courtyard and stretching out on the red carpet.

Room Tip: Chadia room is on the first floor, as are 3 other rooms. They feel more private than the ones on the ground floor as there is less throughput. However, we slept fine in Hiba room on the ground floor too.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snugglywuggly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Thank you very much to take time for sharing your experience on tripadvisor.
The Riad la porte Rouge team join me to thank you for choosing to stay in the riad,we're very happy to read that your experience was amazing and you enjoyed it,we would like to thank you for this interest in Marrakech and Morocco too.We hope to see you in the nearest future.

Many thanks again,

Ahmed

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews