We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully Decorated”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
Ranked #108 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautifully Decorated”
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights at this lovely little riad, which has gorgeous furniture and objects everywhere you look. There is a picturesque roof terrace complete with hot tub, Berber tent and views of the Atlas mountains.

Karen the owner, her staff and the resident cat were all were welcoming. Karen even gave us a lift to Place des Ferblantiers on our first night as well as kindly loaning us some money.

We really would have liked to spend more time relaxing in the riad but had a long 'To do' list to get through. A good excuse to go back though.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwoman45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you very much for your kind review, we keep a very worm and friendly of your stay among us, your interest in Marrakech medina and Morocco too,we are very appreciated to be interested for the riad decoration, we feel happy that you enjoyed your stay in the riad,It was very nice meeting, your extreme kindness, your sense of humor.

Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    490
    88
    17
    9
    5
See reviews for
86
313
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

We arrived quite late and bedraggled after climbing Mount Toubkal and the staff at this riad were extremely helpful and pleasant, we were given some lovely cakes and mint tea on arrival and a tour of the riad. The room was nicely presented and we had breakfast on the terrace. This Riad is at the most southern part of the walled part of Marrekesh, but the main square is only a 15 minute walk away and it is well located for the tombs and palace, the staff even gave us a map and pointed out the attractions that we wanted to visit.
The staff were also really helpful on our last day, allowing us to leave our luggage and smelly walking boots there while we carried on sight seeing and arranging a last minute transfer for us wasn't a problem for them either.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bells28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Sir/Madame,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we keep a very worm and friendly of your stay among us, your interest in Marrakech medina and Morocco too, we feel happy that you enjoyed your stay in Marrakech and we thank you for the time you took to write this lovely review, we keep a very nice souvenirs and a great pleasure for the Riad la porte rouge team to receive you in your second home in Morocco.

Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2014

My boyfriend and I were very impressed with this beautiful riad. Upon arrival, we were given refreshing mint tea and mini cakes and there were fresh oranges waiting for us in our room and rose petals scattered everywhere! The riad is tucked away in a quiet spot, but be aware that it is very close to a mosque so you may be woken rather early by the call to prayer. We did not find this to be a problem at all and enjoyed hearing it. My only very small gripes about the room are that, firstly, we did not get fresh towels every day and as it wasn’t very warm they were damp for most of our stay. Secondly, we were on the ground floor, right off the courtyard, which did mean there was a bit of noise from other guests and we felt that we could perhaps be overheard in the bathroom, but this is to be expected when staying in a traditional riad!

We found the staff to be incredibly helpful, friendly and always available. They organised our transfers for us, which ran like clockwork. We had bed and breakfast, which was served whenever and wherever we asked for it. It was different every day and truly delicious. You are able to eat in the dining room/lounge, in the central courtyard or up on the roof terrace, which is a lovely suntrap. We ate one evening meal in the riad, which was all homemade and authentic Moroccan cuisine.

The only possible downside of Riad la Porte Rouge is the location. It is a little way from the central medina and this does mean a bit of a walk. There are basically no pavements and you walk past numerous stall holders who will hassle to try and sell you things and I did find this a little bothersome. Also, the temperature during our visit was just about perfect, but I can imagine that this walk would not be enjoyable in the height of summer.

Overall, I would recommend Riad la Porte Rouge to anyway who would like to stay somewhere traditionally Moroccan, with wonderful staff and delicious breakfasts!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms may be a little quieter than those on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pebbles_Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen F, Responsable relations clients at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your kind review, we keep a very worm and friendly of your stay among us, your interest in Marrakech medina and Morocco too, we considered your critical for towels, I ensure for you sir that our housemaid change it everyday .we feel happy that you enjoyed your stay in Marrakech and we thank you for having appreciated all our reactivity, we did to you as we truly were concerned by this situation and your comfort.

Ahmed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This was the first stay for my friend and I in Marrakesh. The staff were all wonderful and helped us find a guide, arranged massages and cooked us wonderful meals. The rooms were beautiful with a lot of special touches we didn't find in other riads--happy hour and hair dryers! I enjoyed La Porte Rouge immensely.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiez, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed in Marrakech for 6 Nights and spent the last three nights in this Riad (because it was fully booked for all nights). It's a treasure- beautifully decorated, quiet and perfect to relax after a busy day on the Djemaa el Fna and in the Souks. The staff is so friendly and gives you a feeling of being "home". If you like you can also order dinner. They cook it by themselves with all fresh ingredients. The rooms are just like 1001 nights- all oriental with a good eye for details. Also loved the breakfast on the top roof terrace with fresh homemade cake which they serve whenever you like. So if you want to sleep in you don't need to hurry to a breakfast buffet. They even have a jaccuzzi on the terrace! We totally recommend this Riad and will come back!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank K G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

In the crazy busy city of Marrakech, Riad La Porte Rouge is a breath of fresh air as soon as you walk in the doors. We only stayed here one night but were overall very satisfied with the riad. The staff was extremely helpful in helping us arrange taxis, finding a nice hammam, and providing other useful information. If you are considering ordering the dinner here definitely go for it...delicious! The only downside was our bathroom didnt have hot water for very long, but it was a big deal for us and I wouldn't let it deter you from considering this riad.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH WALES
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

My wife and I have just had the fantastic experience of staying at the Riad La Porte Rouge for 7 nights. From the very outset of making the booking, Karen, the Riad's owner was just superb. Due to the length of our stay we had complementary airport transfers all taken care of by the Riad.
Upon arrival we were made to feel most welcome with mint tea and a selection of sweet Moroccan pastries as well as an informative introduction to Marrakech by Karen who gave us a very good account of where to go and the places to see complete with Map.
Our room, whilst small was great and the décor was very authentic. On day two we were given a complementary room upgrade due to some early morning check in's and check out's that disturbed us but only slightly. It was obvious that Karen wanted to ensure we were made most welcome.
The rooms are all decorated in a very Moroccan way and none of the rooms will disappoint.
Breakfast was very good and each morning the breakfast changed slightly and there was ample on offer to set you up for the day.
The open top sun balcony offered a relaxing area that we took full advantage off and comes complete with a Jacuzzi that is just what the doctor ordered after a day traipsing around the city.
The ambiance of the Riad is one that puts you at ease a long with the smell of amber wafting through the premises.
In my opinion you can not go wrong with this Riad and it is clear that Karen and her staff put an awful lot of effort into ensuring your time is enjoyed.
The location in my opinion was ideal but I appreciate it will not be to all. The Riad is located at the south east corner of the Medina close to the Royal Palace and approximately 20 minutes walk from the main square. For me it enabled me to escape the hustle and frantic pace of the tourist trap area's.

If you are looking for an authentic, well run Riad to spend your time in whilst in Marrakesh, then look no further and I would recommend this hotel to you all.

Merci Karen

Room Tip: Whilst the Narjisse room is delightful, be warned it is very compact, a fact that the owner will not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N-WALES-TRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Massai
Riad Dar Massai
#123 of 499 in Marrakech
269 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#76 of 499 in Marrakech
671 reviews
1.8 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#97 of 499 in Marrakech
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Diana
Riad Diana
#51 of 499 in Marrakech
680 reviews
1.9 mi away
Riad Vert Marrakech
Riad Vert Marrakech
#49 of 499 in Marrakech
380 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#69 of 499 in Marrakech
541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Property: Riad La Porte Rouge
Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#36 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#60 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#79 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing