We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations with great staff, beautiful decor” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
Ranked #79 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore
Level Contributor
414 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations with great staff, beautiful decor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I enjoyed our stay at this Riad very much. The staff was kind, attentive, helpful and multi-lingual. We arrived late at night and they still made food for us and took the time to introduce us to what they had to offer. The staff made every effort to make sure we had a good time. They were able to answer many questions we had about excursions, and went out of their way to ensure that we were satisfied.
Our room was lovely, and on the top floor where there is also a jacuzzi. Our room was clean and quiet, being next to the 'little mosque' was just fine even with the call to prayer.
The Riad is away from the center, but frankly I was glad to have a respite and also be able to have a look at a different kind of neighborhood in the city. We like walking very much though, and travelers with less freedom might find this to be a drawback. Another note on that point: the Riad did not have an elevator but it did have a room on it's first floor.
I'd stay again, if I returned to Marrakech, and I would recommend this place to friends and family. I only wish that when we'd asked specifically for walking directions from the train station, they'd accommodated us rather than warning us off because of the distance. We did walk (yes I knew it would be several kms), we then had a little trouble finding the place - locals were kind enough to help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank primerstar6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    81
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
84
292
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

This seems to be the only Riad out in the south east of the Madina. If you don't mind a 10/15 minute walk into the market and square (or forking out for a taxi each time), then it is a GREAT place to stay. We walked in quite a few times, coming back at 10pm or so, and never had any problems - although negotiating the traffic on a small street with no sidewalks is an interesting challenge! The Riad itself is delightful - comfortable, great character, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crods01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

This was our first trip to Marrakech, and staying at Riad La Porte Rouge (we stayed for 7 nights) has made this one of our most favourite and memorable holidays...
This is all thanks to Karen, Adil, Saeed, Mustafa, Karima, Malika, and Max the Riad's cat!

As soon as we stepped inside, we received a friendly welcome, along with Moroccan tea and pastries. We were so impressed by the stunning furnishings, complimented throughout with warm, rich colours. Our room on the first floor was quiet, private and spacious.

The breakfast each morning is delicious and different everyday. The menu has a great selection of Moroccan dishes, even their couscous is homemade at the Riad. The meals we had were tasty and plentiful, and hard to resist! We loved spending time relaxing on the rooftop terrace or on one of the comfy lounges in the courtyard, sipping a cocktail.

Karen is absolutely wonderful, and she arranged for us to join a group day tour to Ourika Valley, which was a great experience (we recommend to book the excursions at the Riad). I also had a body massage (I booked it one day before), which was so relaxing after a day at the souks.
The staff are true stars!! They are so genuine, professional and friendly. We enjoyed chatting with all of them, and nothing was too much to ask. On our last night, Mustafa even arranged a delicious surprise meal, requested by my partner - best tagine ever!

We highly recommend Riad La Porte Rouge to anyone visiting Marrakech. We felt at home instantly and our expectations were exceeded in every way... words cannot describe!

We really enjoyed our time, and would love to visit again.

Jayne & Niro,
London UK

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JayneEarleMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

We spent seven nights here and are already planning a trip back! That is how charming this Riad is. In summary:

- Very friendly staff who are always on hand to help, whether it is to provide a drink or explain the excursions available.

- Extremely clean.

- Large comfortable air conditioned rooms.

- Large comfortable bed.

- Stunning dinners! We recommend the beef tagine (the best food we had all week by far). We felt the meals and drinks were also very good value.

- Fab breakfasts. They varied slightly each day, including pancakes, crepe, cake, custard, fruit. Plus each day you have bread, preserves, juice etc.

- Lots of seating on the terrace and inside, for sunbathing or relaxing in the shade. There is also a hot tub and massages are available.

- And there is the resident cat, Max! Ensure you keep a little of the beef for him!

Porte Rouge is away from all the hustle and bustle of the main square and souks. For us, this was a very good thing. It's about 10 minutes to a small square (where Kosybar is conveniently located) and another 10 minutes up to the souks. We went everywhere on foot, but we would recommend getting taxis for those who don't like having to avoid mopeds and cyclists.

We highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v28kab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

This place is the perfect place to stay if you are thinking about a trip to Marrakech. My boyfriend and I stayed here 5 nights and fell in love with it. The decor is beautiful and the staff are absolutely amazing. They are unbelievably helpful and on the second day in Marrakech my boyfriend proposed. The staff put together a lovely tray with rose petals, olives and wine and made the night even more incredible. Karen, Saeed, Mustafa and the girls (and not forgetting Max the cat) always went the extra mile and we HIGHLY recommend that you stay at this beautiful Riad.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I'm so glad that you keep a good memory of our Riad , you were so romantic ....

I hope your boyfriend gets better.

karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at this Riad just for one night but we loved it. It immediately felt welcoming and quiet. A nice change from the hustle of the city! We arrived late in the evening and were welcomed with treats and had a cool swim in the (small - but effective) pool. I was quite sick, not unusual in Morocco, but they made me a tea drink that really helped and my partner enjoyed a big breakfast. They even helped us find accommodation for the following night as we booked late and they were full for the second evening. I would highly recommend this RIad for any length stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to review and recommend our Riad.

Hope to see you longer a next time.

karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

My Girlfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights towards the end of our stay in Morocco and we were so glad that we did.

After initially booking we were contacted by the owner asking if we needed airport transfers etc which we felt was nice and made us feel welcome.

Upon arrival we had a very warm welcome and instantly felt at home. The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. We ate here both nights that we stayed and the food was exceptional.. Far better than the meals we had had in restaurants and very generous portions. The only thing I would suggest is that there is a little more lighting on the roof terrace for guests who decide to eat outside in the evening but this wasn't a problem.. I'm just a bit particular about lighting.. The rest of the riad was perfectly lit!

So highly recommended and 5*s from us!

Jake and Jen, UK

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jakeyboy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#71 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#43 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#45 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#67 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Property: Riad La Porte Rouge
Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#31 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#42 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing