We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
Ranked #56 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was a family holiday. We felt at home right from the beginning. Sayeed was there whenever we needed anything. Korina and Maalika were such darlings; Karen was also very helpful. The Tagine we had in the RIad was probably the best in Marrakesh. It was a very sweet gesture on the part of the Karen to provide the airport transfer.
The location of the Riad is very central to the old city. It took a 25 minutes walk to the Medina.
Staying in the Riad gave a very authentic feel ; Dont spend money staying in a hotel.The breakfast prepared by the staff WAS mouth watering

Room Tip: Rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bhaskarmukherjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    465
    80
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
81
290
21
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlingen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

On our arrival Karen offered a sumptuous breakfast and welcomed us with the words: " consider this your home in Marrakech". Said and Mustafa made us feel exceptionally welcome. Our every wish was realized with a smile making us feel like very special, pampered guests. Our room on the roof terrace was beautiful. We also had the roof terrace virtually to ourselves for relaxing, tea or dinner.Breakfast is included in the price and always offers some delicious new surprises. A good selection of tasty local dinner specials is also available and having dinner served on the roof terrace under the stars is a romantic treat. The staff attention to making guests feel welcome is truly exceptional and makes this Riad stand out of the crowd.

Room Tip: The room on the roof terrace is the one to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

This riad is really lovely. Karen, Adil and the team are very welcoming and can not do enough for you. Our room was absolutely beautiful, stunning decorations, clean and rose petals on arrival gave a lovely touch. We enjoyed a whole lamb shoulder at the riad which tasted wonderful! The staff worked incredibly hard and made a lot of effort for us despite the heat and the fact it was Ramadan during our stay. The roof terrace is a great place to have dinner, drinks and relax. Max, the cat is very friendly and we absolutely loved him! The staff also organised taxis and excursions for us which was was great and hassle free. The riad is a short walk from the medina, which we preferred as it was so peaceful and relaxing compared to the hussle and bustle of the tourist spots. Breakfast is varied everyday and was very nice. Would definitely recommend the riad and would stay here again :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bhav100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We stayed for one night during our trip to Morocco and we could not be more pleased that we did. The Riad is well situated - near to the Kasbah area of Marrakech which is great for visiting the Saadien Tombs and the Bahia Palace. We arrived early, having caught the early bus from Essaouria, and were welcomed by Adil who made sure we had breakfast - mint tea, fresh orange juice and a selection of delicious things to eat - before settling us in to our lovely room. The room was large, air conditioned and had a unique bathroom equipped with a hairdryer (which was a pleasant surprise!). There is a pool on the ground floor - perfect for cooling off after a hot day in the city. The real treat is on the roof where there is a hot jacuzzi and sun loungers as well as space to eat meals. We had dinner there and the food was excellent. The hospitality was excellent - all the staff were very friendly and accomodating and Max the cat is delightful. We both agreed that we would have happily stayed longer and will do so when we return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Manager at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
thank you very much for and hope see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Beautiful riad and very friendly staff. Adil was incredibly attentive, genuine and caring. We arrived early in the am before check-in but this was no problem and we were welcomed with mint tea and a selection of tasty things to eat. Our room although small (selected personally) was immaculate and extremely clean. Superb deco and so much care goes into everything. The cleaner polished and cleaned everything, even the wooden shutters, and she laid rose petals for our arrival. We have just eaten a delicious beef, apricot and prune tagine and ate it on the roof top enjoying the quiet night (despite call to prayer from mosque next door which we love). Despite Ramadan, we were discreetly offered alcohol and we shared a lovely bottle of red called ksar. The resident cat feels at home here just like all the guests too. We spent our last evening here instead of going out and we have lived it. The hot tub is definitely a bonus and the cold shower. We used this both days in privacy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meadowchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My friend and I have just come back from a week here and we really loved it. The place is beautiful, the staff are so friendly and helpful, the food was delicious, the cocktails were good value, it is spotlessly clean...I genuinely can't think of a way that they could do much to make it better. The rooms were cleaned/beds made every day. It was very peaceful which came as a surprise considering how bustling it was outside. Karen was so lovely and helpful, our breakfast was varied and tasty and sometimes brought to us without us even having to ask. When we had a taxi ordered for us one night to go to Gueliz, the taxi driver didn't speak English so one of the guys from the Riad came in the taxi part of the way with us to make sure we got there OK. Unfortunately I'm rubbish with names but we nicknamed him 'slick' (not to his face) and we thought he was awesome.

I do have to point out that as an animal lover, I spent an awful lot of time petting Max the cat, who is a massive ginger gangsta of a cat. He is lovely. I recommend petting him as often as possible.

My only criticisms are things that actually the Riad can't help, these are just things you may want to consider: It is very close to a mosque, so if you're a light sleeper you will get woken by the call to prayer. Saying that, you'd be hard pressed to find anywhere that isn't close to a mosque. Also, it is very much not in an area that has a lot of tourists. This is absolutely fine for most people, but because my friend and I were 2 western girls on holiday alone, we did get quite a lot of looks and sometimes hassle from men when we would walk towards the souks, so we did end up spending more on taxis, particularly at night, than we would have liked. Don't let this put you off though, you just may want to budget a bit of extra money for taxis.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraCbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you very much !

It was a pleasure and hope receive you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elloughton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Me and Jackie stayed at the Riad La Porte Rouge in May 2013 and had a fabulous time!!The staff couldnt do enought for you, especially Mustafa!
Rooms are amazing and Jackie was in heaven with the nightgown.Food was fantastic and the Happy Hours were amazing(Have to try the Sangria!!)
Massage is a must and so is the hot tub!!!!
A Big thanks to Karen,Mustafa and the rest of the staff for an amazing time,cant wait to go back!!! Tania

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tania F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
laporterouge, Propriétaire at Riad La Porte Rouge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to make a review and thank you to those who I have not had time to answer.

We will continue to make the maximum to satisfy you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#32 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 505 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
1.0 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#61 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#60 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 722 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#58 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Property: Riad La Porte Rouge
Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#44 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing