We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Amazing Describes It” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad La Porte Rouge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad La Porte Rouge
Ranked #72 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
South Berwick, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Amazing Describes It”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay at this wonderful Riad. From the moment you arrive you feel relaxed and calm. The service was fantastic and the rooms were cozy and comfortable. The owner was able to help us arrange all our tour and transport needs making things even easier. The food was amazing (reserve the royal cuscous). You are about a 15 minute walk to the main square, but it is an experience to do it. Marrakech is wild, busy and loud, but you would never know staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    470
    81
    15
    5
    4
See reviews for
84
293
22
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

This riad was the most beautiful place on earth. It was a haven we could retreat to when the busy streets of Marrakesh became too much. The staff were universally welcoming, very helpful and friendly. Some of the best food we had while in Marrakesh was dinner at the riad and hands down the best mint tea. We liked it so much we plan on coming back next year.

Room Tip: We stayed in Argana on the first floor which was beautifully decorated and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie_Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the first time to visit Morocco, and this riad made my trip great. I appreciate the all service they made for us. Beautiful rooms and terrace, delicious dishes, super friendly staffs! If I can come back to Marrakesh, I will choose this riad.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sato M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

It took us some time to find a hotel, in the south-east of Medina, surrounding area was not nice and felt a bit weird, but once you step in, you get into the different world. Beautiful decor and well-thought design, nice breakfast on a terrace, jacuzzi is there for the guests. Service is very nice, pool makes a huge difference after sweating out in Medina trying to find your way and before heading to the airport. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yafeya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Takaka, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I can't imagine how they could improve this Riad. Beautifully furnished, spotlessly clean, you are welcomed upon arrival with tea and sweets. Rose petals on the bed and the towels. Great kitchen and meals..Karen and her staff look after you and will solve any problem. A beautiful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marrtmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Riad itself is a perfect combination of beauty, service & value. The atmosphere is friendly and easy so we felt like we're guests in our friend's home. Excellent room, pleasant fragrance, peace and quietness around. Cool & quiet paradise in the heart of hot and noisy Marrakech. Very tasty food made by careful staff, with an every day little surprise for a breakfast. We got anything we need there and even more - kindness and warmth which can not be bought :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at La Porte Rouge at the start of our holiday so much we cut short our visit to the coast to return there for our final night in Morocco. Both rooms we had were beautiful and each one quite different. For our second visit we were in a room right up on the terrace and it was lovely to be able to walk out there in the morning and sit in the early morning sun before breakfast. The service was again outstanding - nothing is too much trouble for Adil and the team. There was some confusion over our return flight time and Adil sent someone over to the airport to check the flights for us. He also drove us up to the square and later summoned a taxi at very short notice to take us to the airport. The atmosphere is lovely - friendly but also private - and the attention to detail is excellent: monogrammed towels on the rooftop sunloungers; sunhats to protect you whilst you breakfast on the terrace; rose petals on your bed; and dressing gowns in the bathroom. The Riad is a little way out of the centre of Marrakech - but only 5 mins by taxi or a 15 min walk - and only a short distance from the Bahia Palace and the Saadian Tombs. Definitely the place to stay if you want to be within the Medina, in a riad with character, comfort and excellent service at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillian m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Menzeh
Riad Menzeh
#75 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#43 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad les Orangers d'Alilia Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#44 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#66 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Porte Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Porte Rouge

Property: Riad La Porte Rouge
Address: 48 Derb Jamaa | Bab Hmar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#29 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#39 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad La Porte Rouge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the Palais Royal gardens and 15 minutes walk from the legendary Jamaa Lfna square.Recently restored in the respect for the traditional morrocan architectureHospitality, comfort and service, perfectly define the Riad La Porte Rouge.You can dream in its shady patio, sip tea with mint in its morrocan lounge or refresh yourself in its moorish pool.Very quiet, a magical place that will allow you to rest in peace in the lounge or the beautiful terrace with views of the atlas, or around the patio lively murmur of a fountain bathed in rose petals, tea mint at nap time, not to mention spicy tagine or a magical light candles and dance. Real sensations that will make you sway to moments of pure well-being!For your convenience, seven different rooms , all equipped with bathroom and air conditioning and a safe . And also a jacuzzi on the terrace.A helpful and attentive staff will accompany you during your stay, to make it unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Riad La Porte Rouge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad La Porte Rouge Hotel Marrakech
Riad La Porte Rouge Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing