We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in the desert. Wonderful service, staff, food, room and pool”
Review of Dar Ilham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Dar Ilham
Ranked #311 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“An oasis in the desert. Wonderful service, staff, food, room and pool”
Reviewed April 17, 2011

Check in was so easy with drinks outside and then cases appeared in room. Breakfast was excellent - lots of freshly squeezed orange juice, pancakes, fruit and omlettes. Didn't need anything else until dinner but still ate lunch! Pool and jacuzzi very clean and lovely and nice and quiet around pool. Staff do anything and everything to help to make the holiday enjoyable. They arrange taxis and these are fixed price and reasonable so no need for bartering with the locals. Hotel arranges trips at decent prices.
The hotel is 25-30 minutes from the main Souk and El Fna but this is perfect as the centre is very busy and most people we spoke to regretted being anywhere centrally located.
The rooms are nice and spacious (for up to 4 in the Kasbah) with everything you need. They are very clean and have TV and DVD although we didn't find any English channels but didn't need to as it was much nicer to sit out on the Balcony and chill.
The hotel has a great Hammam for treatments which are reasonable compared to UK prices. Would recommend this hotel to anybody who wants a complete rest and to be pampered and looked after. Ali and Mohammed are excellent hosts and the rest of staff from cleaners, to pool attendants to waiters are very polite and courteous and want to make your holiday the best - and it was!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SkyDivor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    73
    15
    9
    2
See reviews for
184
378
17
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed April 13, 2011

Tearing ourselves away from the beautiful Kasbah Dar Ilham at 7am to catch a flight home, we promised Mohamed that we would tell the world what a wonderful place this is. We would rather have kept it a secret however so that we could re-book in this delightful 8 room guest house. With more staff than guests, the Kasbah was an ideal location for a break and we were made very welcome immediately. Next time we are planning to book the riad next door with its own pool and tent in the garden. If you don't want to be in central Marrakesh this is the perfect location, close enough for shopping/restaurant trips but away from the noise and bustle.

Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank seastephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

“Home away from home!”

The staff at the Riad are very friendly and made us feel very welcome. When leaving we felt like we were leaving a friendly family's home rather than a hotel. The place is beautifully decorated and feels like a blissful little world of it's own closed off from it's surroundings by tall walls. The pool area is also beautiful. The hammam treatments are recommended! The food was home cooked, nice and seemed to be prepared and presented very hygienically. The bedrooms are kept very clean and the ones with balcony have a lovely view of mountains! It is a little out of Marrakech and therefore the taxis to Marrakech are fairly costly. This also means there is little option but to eat at the riad unless you take a taxi to a restaurant (you can start feeling you would like more variety of food). There is a broadband internet connection which is a little slow. As it is a little rural, there can be power cuts which stop running water too. We had one on the first day but we were offered a room upgrade so we were not too disappointed about this! If a sunny getaway with limited time spent in Marrakech itself is what you want, this hotel is perfect (although a little costly once food and treatments are included). Lovely place.

Area recommendations
Would recommend more rural hotels like the riad dar ilham if a sunny getaway is the aim. If you want to spend time in the souks and in Marrakech often, go for a centrally located hotel for ease- although these may be expensive if one with a pool is wanted! Also if easy access to a variety of foods is wanted, a central hotel may be better.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFusspot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2011

We came for a getaway and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. It was 20 minutes away from the Medina in a taxi but felt so secluded and relaxing once through the gates. The staff were very helpful and you were never left wanting for anything. Their english was excellent. The breakfasts were lovely and filling (only booked for B&B) and they did snacks around the pool which were really tasty in case you didn't fancy having a big lunch. The rooms were very clean and had everything you would need. I would recommend this place to anyone and am looking to go back in the future.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2011

During our stay here, they couldn't do enough for you, a very friendly, clean and traditional hotel.
Its about a 20min taxi ride from the medina ( which can be organised by the staff ) and is set in a peaceful well maintained grounds.
The pool is heated and very clean, with sun loungers and towels provided.
Would go back again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cranky78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2011

This hotel is just lovely. Its a traditional setting with modern facilities. The rooms are spacious and clean. There are bathrobes, soaps, hairdryer, plently of plug sockets, Tv/DVD and they offer a collection of DVDs for a midnight film feast. I thought the pool was bigger than the photos show and there is a hot tub for 3. The sun loungers are very comfortable and they provide towels for the pool. There is only a small number of rooms and so the pool is not crowded or noisey. The staff are at hand to take drink and snack orders and nothing is too much trouble. The b/fast we had was a selection of breads/eggs/pancakes/jams/ yoghurts/fresh orange/tea/coffee. They do not display menus but just ask, we fancied french fries and bread (chip butties) by the pool and this was 'no problem'. In the evening we had a meal for 8 including tegines and salads, this was a liitle small in portions but enjoyable.
The staff our lovely and very sweet, they were very pleasent to us at all times of the day and made us feel like the only guests in the hotel.
The hotel is out of the centre but very secure and as one guest explained, the staff ordered us a taxi with a local firm, very clean/safe car and friendly driver, gave us a return journey with no problems, excellent rate.
I would go back in a flash, what more can I say!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Floss79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 23, 2011

Just returned from a 3 night stay at the hotel,there is only 1 word that I could use to describe the staff the service and the hotel it's self EXCELLENT!!!!
Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
9.3 mi away
Ksar Salha
Ksar Salha
#262 of 499 in Marrakech
20 reviews
8.4 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#87 of 499 in Marrakech
385 reviews
6.0 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#74 of 499 in Marrakech
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#152 of 499 in Marrakech
257 reviews
16.6 mi away
Domaine de Tameslohte
Domaine de Tameslohte
#267 of 499 in Marrakech
168 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Ilham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Ilham

Property: Dar Ilham
Address: Km 13, Route de Fes, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar Ilham 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a stunning natural setting, facing the Atlas Mountains, the Kasbah Dar Ilham welcomes you to an unpretentious luxury that combines Moroccan knowledge with the modern comfort of the services provided. Alain and his devoted team, attentive and discreet, welcome you and will turn your stay into an unforgettable experience. Luxury and simplicity: The utmost luxury resides in life's simple things and happiness is the combination of all small pleasures, like relaxing by our wonderful swimming pool of 72 x 26 ft, heated in winter for your greater comfort, or enjoying your well-being in our Jacuzzi for up to 6 people. Enjoy a delicious breakfast under the arches or in the terrace and discover the wonderful cooking concocted by Aicha and her team. You can also choose between a numerous range of different additional activities available, like golfing (3 courses just 15 minutes away), horse riding, SUV riding, jet skiing, quad, kart racing and many others. Marrakech's well-being: Your stay wouldn't be complete without a special moment for yourself in which Nawal, our beautician/masseuse will make you discover the advantages of a traditional Hammam and the secrets of numerous cares and Oriental massages. Everything here is made for you to have pleasant moments, to discover the traditions and the culture of Morocco, and to make you leave full of charming memories... So that you come back! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar Ilham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing