We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Quiet and comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ryad Mogador Menzah

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ryad Mogador Menzah
Ranked #461 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Quiet and comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

Spent 3 nights here as a recovery from moving house. Marrakesh is amazing, mad chaotic but also stunning and amazingly friendly. We were given a one bedroomed apartment which was comfortable and well appointed. It is a litle way out from the city but you can walk into the centre in about 30 minutes, not advised as the city is huge, or flag down a passing taxi for about 30 durums. We did one morning and has the grat pleasure of flagging down a driver,Majit, who spoke prefect English and took us on a tour of the must see sights for 100 durums. Fantastic

I really recommend Marrakesh - it is truly unique and amazing. The hotel was great for the bargain price we paid but if we return we will look for a riad inside the city walls.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyandmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    101
    73
    55
    76
See reviews for
139
85
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2010

I stayed here at the end of November 2010 with my partner for 4 nights. We had an apartment style room with a small kitchen area and a balcony looking over the pool. As mentioned in another review 'Ryad Mogador' looks to be a chain so asking taxi drivers to take you to 'Atlas Asni' seems to be the solution. This hotel is just behind Atlas Asni off Mohammed VI down a smaller road at the side of the Royal Air Maroc shop. It is in the area Hivernage.

The staff were friendly enough, happy to help and the hotel is very clean and pleasant. The weather was not warm enough to use the pool but it looked like a nice area to relax in. We used the spa inside the hotel and had a massage, a sauna and a hammam - it was 300DH each - which seemed quite expensive when comparing it to the more traditional places - I would recommend using a hammam in the medina in future and booking ahead. The spa area is nice and modern though and the massage was lovely.

The room was clean and had a TV with CNN news as the only English channel (although I don't usually go on holiday to watch TV!) The kitchen facilities were basic but fine. However, we only had one set of cutlery to share but we didn't really use the kitchen in the room and I'm sure if we had asked the hotel would have provided them! In future I would stay in a hotel with more facilities as other than exploring the Djemma El Fna and eating out there didn't seem to be much to do on an evening in Marrakech although I would expect during the summer months there would be more going on.

The hotel is just over a mile from the centre of Marrakech - we walked in most days and evenings - it was safe to do so as you follow main roads well lit into town. Taxis tended to quote high prices initially and then would half immediately once we refused the high fare! Many taxi drivers would not use the meter if requested so walking seems like the easiest way to get around if you can't be bothered with the constant haggling! The nearest supermarket is about a mile away in Gueliz if you plan on self catering. There is also a small shop in the hotel reception but I never saw it open.

If I visited again I would probably stay in Gueliz or the Medina as Hivernage is between the two and other than big posh hotels there are few restaurants or shops etc. The hotel wasn't very busy as it was low season although could be quite noisy on a night - probably due to the tiled floors!

The balcony in our room was a lovely place to relax and some of the seating areas inside the hotel were nice to sit and read in. It was very good value for money but the location seemed to be slightly far away from any shops / restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JessManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester,England
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2010

This was really good value, close to airport but NO noise (5 mins in taxi) - room was great - upgraded from studio to one bed apartment. Air con excellent. kitchenette basic but all we needed. Pool was fantastic and staff couldn't have been more helpful. Restaurant - cafe style - had an uninteresting pizza, Pharmacy and few bars and restaurants next door. 100m to the main street where you can always get a (little) taxi into the old city - easy to flag one down and always haggle the price - 20 dhirams in the day, 30 back to the hotel at night (we walked in to jema el fna every evening and got a taxi back) and only takes a few minutes. DON'T MISS the rooftop terrace for views and sunsets and watching the camels in the 'field' next door. 20 min walk to the menara gardens - take the shortcut at the back of the hotel (they aren't really gardens...) finally taxi drivers don't really know where this hotel is as there are several ryad mogadors - its the one where the side street alongside the hotel atlas asni meets the rue el adarissa - its not marked on google maps but is the red building if you look at the satellite image. Just mention atlas asni when you get a taxi and point them down the side street or you'll get dropped at the ryad mogador marrakech which is the other side of the Asni ( its not really that confusing if you are prepared!) A day trip to the mountains (setti fatma) in a grand taxi cost 500 dhirams (roughly £35) - be prepared to be sold things along the way but everything was organised including a guide (100 dhirams per person) up to the first waterfall(wear sensible shoes).We will definitely stay here again - when it's a bit cooler!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nsakijv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2010

We stayed almost a month here during Ramadan in Marrakech. There are 5 Ryad Mogador hotels in Marrakech but this is the only appartment-hotel. This hotel is just off the major hotel boulevard so catching a taxi is always convenient if you don't mind walking one city block. Taxis from this hotel to any of the major sites is about 20 dirhams (2 euros). Great, really reasonably priced room service menu from the restaurant, and free high-speed internet. The staff is very nice, but as it works in Morocco, you should expect to tip everybody. That means two or three front desk staff, door man, room service, maintenance guy if he comes to fix something, but only 20-30 dirhams each one time--well worth it if you reserve the room for 38 euros like we did. We booked a studio room; studio rooms are large with great wrap-around balconies but our a/c didn't work right so we were bumped up to a one-bedroom for no charge. All rooms have a view of the pool, which is frequented by singles, couples and families and has a nice, relaxed vibe. This is not a Sofitel, and the pressure to "look rich" doesn't apply here. In fact, this hotel has a true modern Moroccan style, but bathrooms, beds, etc. are up to European standards. It was very clean with full window shutters to block out the sun in both rooms. The only down side was that I had to call maintenance after a wind storm that knocked out the American channel on T.V. The hotel staff was relaxed and let me bring several of my Moroccan relatives over on many days to hang out with us in the room and by the pool. I think it's a 3-star hotel but it seemed like a better hotel than that.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skooter22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
geranium29
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2010

I stayed at the Ryad Mogador Menzah in the summer of 2009 with two of my friends and we all shared the view that it was a really nice and fairly well located apart-hotel. The room we stayed in was very clean, well equipped and spacious. It had a comfortable and large seating area to lounge in with a TV, there was also a mini kitchen area located in one corner of the room which was equipped with pots and pans as well as a mini fridge and electric cooker (no microwave), perfect for preparing snacks or cooking small meals. The hotel has a mini supermarket but the prices are slightly more expensive than the local supermarkets. Commercial supermarkets can be found further into the 'new town.' The bathroom was a fairly descent size and very clean with a little shower area, toilet and sink, however it did not have a hair dryer. The bedroom had a double sized bed which two people could easily share with the other person(s) sleeping on the large U shaped sofa in the lounge area which was in fact very comfortable. The bedroom also had a little balcony with a view of the swimming pool area. The hotel is located in the newly developed part of Marrakesh - with a 20 minute walk to the Gueliz (the 'new town') and a 25-30 minute walk to the old city. It might be advisable to walk a little and then catch a taxi for the remainder of the journey to the old city as it can get a bit tiring walking in the heat (especially if you are visiting the country in the summer season like we did)! Taxis are readily available and inexpensive and can cost around 15DH or a bit more (around 1.5 Euros) but the prices do vary depending on the time of day. There are also public buses which are much cheaper but we did not use them during our visit. We would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend this apart-hotel to anyone wishing to visit Marrakesh. It is great value for money, fairly well located and the staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geranium29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2010

The manager was the most rudest, arrogant, big headed man I've met in my life! Everything broke did not get what we initially paid for. Toilets were filthy, showers did not work, often the hotel key did not work when we tried to get inside our own room. Manager just ignored the problems and did not do anything to help us at all. The staff are quiet friendly except the women that worked in the main reception area. They were very upleasant and rude through out our stay if we asked anything in English they would often ignore what was being asked and carry on their conversation in Arabic/French. Will not ever want to stay in that hotel again!!! Other then that the holiday was GREAT!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TAMZ1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Cornwall
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights with 3 friends for a short birthday get-away. We also found that on arrival our 'spacious two bedroomed apartment with lounge area' was actually a one bedroom apartment, with two of us expected to sleep on the sofas in the lounge area. We had to pay to upgrade to the apartment that we had expected. At first we thought this was a scam by the hotel but the manager seemed genuinely concerned that this had happened and that it was an error in translation between the holiday company and the hotel (he also showed us the booking sent by sun4u). Even taking into account the extra we paid to upgrade, this was a good value, comfortable and mostly clean hotel with a lovely pool and only a short taxi ride from all the sights. The apartment we upgraded to was spacious and adequate for our needs and the flush wasn't broken on the toilet- you need to turn a valve on the pipe! Lunch was good but breakfast wasn't great. Communication can be a problem if you don't speak french, although the manager speaks very good English. A couple of us visited the spa for a manicure/pedicure which wasn't particularly good, so I wouldn't reccomend these. All in all this is a nice hotel and worth what you pay for the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharonly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.2 mi away
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
Ryad Mogador Gueliz
#330 of 502 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
Ryad Mogador Kasbah
#239 of 502 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mogador Opera
Mogador Opera
#379 of 502 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Ryad Mogador Menara
Ryad Mogador Menara
#316 of 502 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
3.1 mi away
Imperial Plaza Hotel
Imperial Plaza Hotel
#447 of 502 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ryad Mogador Agdal
Ryad Mogador Agdal
#345 of 502 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Mogador Menzah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Mogador Menzah

Property: Ryad Mogador Menzah
Address: Avenue Mohammed VI, Marrakech 40020, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#225 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ryad Mogador Menzah 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located a 10-minute walk from the city centre of Marrakesh, the Ryad features a spa and offers air-conditioned studios. Guests can enjoy the hammam and the outdoor pool. The studios at the Appart Hotel Menzah all feature balconies and private bathrooms. Each has an equipped kitchenette and a mini-bar. Free Wi-fi is available in the hotel's common areas. Guest of the Ryad Mogador can enjoy a relaxing massage, or sunbathe on the poolside terrace. Ryad Mogador Appart Hotel Menzah offers a range of services, such as an on-site currency exchange and a tour desk. The Menara Gardens are 2 km away and free private parking is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelsClick so you can book your Ryad Mogador Menzah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Mogador Menzah Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing