We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Riad Assakina is a perfect location for a tranquil break or for experiencing the bustling intensity of Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Ranked #11 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
1 review
“Riad Assakina is a perfect location for a tranquil break or for experiencing the bustling intensity of Marrakech”
Reviewed April 30, 2009

Riad Assakina is perfectly located for experiencing all that the city of Marrakech has to offer. It is located within a leisurely walk of the busy souks, the main square and the prime sightseeing attractions. It also has a beautiful rooftop terrace for relaxing in the sun, taking refreshing dips in the pool or simply gazing at the beautiful views across the city towards the Atlas mountains.

Riad Assakina is elegantly furnished and beautifully decorated. Our room was spacious, with a focal point of a magnificent antique Moroccan robe hung from the wall behind the bed which harmonized with the colour scheme of the room. The bathroom was well-equipped with fresh towels, shampoo and soap and had a wonderful shower which delivered hot water at any time of the day. Discreetly built-in with Moroccan décor, our room had satellite TV, air-conditioning and additional heating (if we needed it). We had a lovely arrangement of fresh roses in our room, every morning fresh fruit would appear and in the evening, little chocolates would be placed temptingly on the freshly turned down bed. These little touches added to the wonderful ambience of Riad Assakina.

We were greeted on our arrival by the owners, Grant and Michelle, with genuine warmth and friendliness. Whilst we sipped our aromatic mint tea served to refresh us from our journey from London, Grant and Michelle provided useful tit-bits about the city, places of interest, advice on trips, favoured restaurants and good shopping areas. Although, we did not sample the dinner menu at the Riad, if it was anything like the breakfasts, it would be absolutely delicious. Each morning, wonderful smells would emanate from the tiny kitchen and we would be welcomed by fresh orange juice, freshly-prepared pastries, cakes, eggs and fresh fruit with local Moroccan yoghurt washed down with copious amounts of coffee. We had a wonderful few days at Riad Assakina and the entire staff made us feel at home as soon as we arrived.

Riad Assakina is the perfect location for a tranquil and peaceful break or for experiencing the bustle and intensity of Marrakesh. You won’t find a more ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cally60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    15
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
368
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I've just returned from two weeks in Morocco. The highlight of the trip was staying at the Riad Assakina in Marrakesh for five days. Run by a lovely couple, Grant and Michele, the riad has been 100% restored and is beautifully appointed. Michele has done an amazing job decorating the entire riad with gorgeous touches that make it feel like an oasis amidst a bustling city. It's a tranquil and sophisticated place with wonderful staff and terrific food. Everyone was accessible for questions about Marrakesh -- from shopping to eating to the nearby valleys. The best part is the roof terrace... don't forget to unwind with a glass of wine or a cocktail and soak up the sun. I would absolutely recommend staying here... it's a gem. LOVED IT.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherDLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2009

You've read the other reviews and they say it all, apart from, perhaps, we severely doubt that you will get more enagaging, charming and attentive hosts in Michele and Grant anywhere else in Morroco. Book before the prices must inevitably go up.

Paul, Caroline, Alice and Sarah

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulthedrummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 20, 2009

We arrrived in Marrakech not really knowing what to expect. When the taxi ( which was organised by Michele, the owner of the Riad to collect us from the airport) stopped at an archway which led onto a dusty alleyway my husband's face was a picture. However once the front door opened into the Riad we knew we were going to have a wonderful stay. The welcome we received from Michele was so warm - we entered the Riad which is so beautifully decorated and were sat down and given some lovely mint tea. We were then shown to our room which was absolutely stunning - no detail was overlooked. Michele showed us around and took us to some wonderful shops and around the market. That evening we ate dinner in the Riad - it was delicious. The following day after trawling around the sites and the market we went back to the Riad which felt like the perfect retreat from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. We were treated to afternoon tea on the beautiful terrace which had wonderful views. The staff in the Riad were all so friendly and helpful and Michele was just amazing. Riad Asskina is the most wonderful place to stay and we can't wait to go back again. We cannot fault anything and can only rave about the wonderful stay we had in Marrakech. Lynne and Jimmy (Manchester, UK)

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayLovers09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peerthshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

This was our first to Morocco, and Michelle and Grant's riad was the best possible base in Marrakech. Michelle's briefing on our first morning was extremely helpful and informative, as was the highlighted map which she supplied. Our hosts frequently went the "extra mile" to ensure our stay was relaxed and comfortable - nothing was too much trouble! The fact that they arranged transport to and from the airport was also a great bonus, and just saved so much hassle. Michelle and Grant's extensive and tasteful renovation of their riad was only completed 10-11 months ago and is a testament to their great talents.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peppertree60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2009

We spent a wonderful week at Riad Assakina last week. Before booking, we did our homework and compared countless riads in order to make an informed choice. Based on Riad Assakina's website and the previous rave reviews on this site, we had very high expectations. We weren’t disappointed! The riad is absolutely lovely: it’s spacious and bright, and decorated with great eye for detail using authentic quality materials. It was a delight to retreat to the riad when we were overwhelmed by the hustle and bustle of the city. Marrakech isn’t an ‘easy’ city, so quality lodging with a personal touch is a must in my mind. Thanks to the warm welcome of our hosts Grant and Michelle (who both went above and beyond), all their tips & reservations and the five star service we thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Every morning we looked forward to the delicious breakfast with fresh orange juice, fruit and yoghurt, eggs, pastries and a chat with Grant & Michelle, who were always interested to hear about our evening. We cannot even count the times that we sat on the gorgeous rooftop terrace with a glass of (complementary) mint tea going 'this is the life'. We would highly recommend Riad Assakina to anyone who’s planning a visit to Marrakech!

Femke & Marian (Belgium)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FemkeBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
1 review
Reviewed April 13, 2009

There aren't enough stars to describe this wonderful jewel in the heart of the Medina. The Riad has been fabulously restored to be an oasis of sumptious luxury amid the hustle and bustle, colour and character that defines the city. That is enough to demand that we return, but even more , what made our stay was the truly exceptional level of attention: we were treated as guests not 'customers'. Nothing was too much trouble, whether it be recomending restaurants, organising taxis, helping us find the ideal little store in the middle of the souk or whatever was needed to make this the perfect break. The food was a gourmet delight, starting with the breakfast feast to the afternoon tea and pastries on the roof terrace. We also had an evening meal, all fresh local produce, beautifully cooked and served in romantic surroundings. Nothing will stop us going back.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank T0nyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 494 in Marrakech
1,169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 494 in Marrakech
1,568 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 494 in Marrakech
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 494 in Marrakech
1,255 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 494 in Marrakech
1,924 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 494 in Marrakech
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Property: Riad Assakina
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing