We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gorgeous riad, impeccable service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Ranked #18 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Gorgeous riad, impeccable service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

Riad Assakina is absolutely fabulous. We stayed here during the last four days of our two week vacation in Morocco and I am so pleased that we saved the best for last. First of all, the décor of the hotel is beautiful. It is full of Moroccan touches and it is practical, modern and full of little details that added up to a wonderful experience. For example there were traditional Moroccan robes in the rooms to wear while lounging inside and sun hats for enjoying the sun on the roof. We also found the room and grounds to be very clean and well-kept. We enjoyed sipping the complementary tea and eating the pastries sitting on the rooftop in the late afternoon. We truly felt very comfortable and at home while staying here.

The service was impeccable. Naoual and Hicham were both so helpful arranging taxis, making dinner and lunch reservations and suggesting activities. Grant reached out prior to our visit to see if we required transportation, since we were coming from Essaouira by bus we did not need an airport pick-up, but Grant provided detailed instructions on how to get to the Riad and we had no trouble locating it based off of these instructions. It was very helpful. The breakfast had a good variety, although I must admit the fruit plate with fresh yogurt was so good I had it every morning. The location of the Riad is also great for seeing all of the sites in the medina. I’d stay here again and recommend to anyone visiting Marrakech.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Katelyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    15
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
57
344
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

Our first visit to Marrakech and Grant, Michele and the whole team of Riad Assakina made it so special. We were picked up from the airport and had delicious tapas served in the roof terrace. What a way to start a holiday!
The riad is just gorgeous, beautifully decorated with wonderful details everywhere. The staff is very friendly. Grant and Michele perfect hosts, they can give great advice about visiting Marrakech. And the shopping tips from Michele are spot on and very useful.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meribel, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2014

location is very central and everything you may want is within very easy walking distance whilst the Riad itself is in a fairly quiet little alley so it's not noisy at night. The Riad is beautifully decorated and has a pool as well as a gorgeous roof top terrace to sunbathe on - sunbeds provided as well as a little plunge pool up the top along with lots of chairs, tables and sofas. Rooms and bathrooms have all the nice little touches - cotton wool / shampoo /shower gel etc.. and the extras like afternoon tea and fresh fruit in the room every day are another nice touch that make this place stand out. the staff are numerous and very helpful and polite providing a great personal service where nothing is too much trouble - we often had last minute requests for them of some tapas if we couldn't be bothered to go out for dinner or something for lunch also at the last minute if we happened to be in at lunch time and they were very accommodating - making whatever we asked for. The breakfasts are great - nice variety of things to choose from and plentiful. the owner, Grant, was very helpful with our many requests and questions and went out of his way to help us with things entirely unrelated to our stay at the Riad. When we had a small issue Grant resolved it straight away for us. Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend this place to anyone wanting a more personal experience of Marrakech (which you dont get in the big hotels) whilst retaining the cleaning and service standards of a high end hotel.

Room Tip: WE liked Suite Said and Almoravid (hope I have remembered the names correctly!) but actually all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizzie94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

I chose this Riad from the many in Marrakech because it seemed to offer many of the lovely details that I was looking for in a place to relax after three weeks travelling in Morrocco including a night spent at the Sahara's remotest camp. I wanted a soft place to land and I got it. The Riad is beautifully designed with many details to engage the eyes and senses. There are many very comfortable places throughout to rest and sit. There is a terasse where you can dine or have tapas or just a glass of wine and watch the sun set over the city. All the staff are caring and you feel that several times everyday, someone is asking after your welfare . Dinner recommendations were all good and reservations taken care of. Transfer back to the airport for our onward flight was included which was a lovely surprise and carried out by a trusted driver in a comfortable car. Another wonderful and generous surprise was an upgrade for three of our four nights. I'm so glad we chose Michele and Grant's gorgeous Riad and it's part of our fondest memories of Marrkech.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xaves99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

I stayed at the Riad Assakina for a week and am very happy with my experience. The staff are fantastic, the riad is beautiful, and the location is excellent (close to almost everything you will probably want to see in Marrakech and close to many great places to eat).

Room Tip: I tried two rooms and they were both excellent. Wifi signal is stronger on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jdude919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed with Grant, Michelle and the team in February for 5 days. We had a wonderful time and were so impressed with the Riad - It really was a lovely place to stay and the staff were so welcoming and attentive. We especially loved having tea and cake every day on the roof terrace over looking the city!

Breakfast was always very good indeed and we really enjoyed the pastries and other delights!

Grant was especially helpful with directions, and recommending sites to visit.

We would definitely recommend Riad Assakina for a romantic getaway and perfect for a break from the hustle and bustle of the crazy Marrakech streets.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardBroadfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I have never written a review before but have been inspired to do so by our recent stay at the riad assakina. From the minute we arrived and were met by a friendly face, much needed mint tea and cakes I knew I was going to like it. The owners have created a most luxurious and calm zen of tranquility that's a perfect retreat at the end of a days haggling and heat in Marrakech. The food was delightful (the whole team remembered and catered around my allergy) and the information and tips were brilliantly useful. I usually like the anonymity of a hotel but grant and Michelle offer the perfect balance of friendly face and local experience while never being intrusive. I'd highly recommend the riad assakina, it definitely made our stay in Marrakech very special, and I will be going back!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muteweiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#3 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#8 of 502 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Property: Riad Assakina
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing