We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Assakina to your Saves list
Riad Assakina
Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
NEW LOWER RATES!
Ranked #5 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I was recommended the Assakina by two sets of work colleague who had visited over the last two years, and all I can say is that I (we) will defiantly be recommending this Riad to any one who wishes to visit Marrakech. We stayed for 5 days (4nights) mid March for a girlie break of shopping, pampering and no housework!
Marrakech is crazy, anything goes and watch out for the mopeds and donkeys you need eyes in the back of your head, but then you come home to the Assakina which is so peaceful, beautiful and relaxing. The rooms are magical and all different, we were very lucky and upgraded to one of the suite. Nothing is too much trouble for Michele, Grant and their staff, to make sure your stay is a memorable one, from helping with charging the mobile phone to advising you on where to visit, eat and best shopping and prices. We tried a different breakfast each morning and wished we could have stayed longer to try them all out, (one morning we went up to the mountains, early, and Michele arranged a packed breakfast for us, which was not expected but gratefully received) as I said earlier nothing is too much trouble.
On our first morning Michele walked with us to help us familiarise ourselves with the area, easiest walk to the Medina, our local restaurants etc, what a service.
Overall a fabulous place to stay, the hospitality of everyone is amazing, good location for Medina etc.
A big thank you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimw650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    14
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
52
320
18
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Assakina is so good, we gave up a day in the Atlas mountains to return there for an extra night. A beautiful house in an great location. But it's the owners and staff that really make this riad special. We've stayed in a lot of wonderful hotels, but what sets Assakina apart is the feeling that you're truly a guest in someone's grand residence. Everyone so friendly and helpful... nothing was too much trouble. Lovely rooms, great breakfasts, beautiful roof terraces with mountain views. Oh, and not forgetting afternoon tea and home-made cake. Marrakech is crazy and fascinating and Assakina is the perfect place to 'come home to'. Big thanks again to Michele, Grant and the team.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin-Sifton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Riad Assakina is one of the best places we have ever stayed! Great hospitality, a beautiful setting and wonderful hosts. Well hidden away from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Once inside the front door, you enter a peaceful paradise complete with a beautiful rooftop and an inviting swimming pool. Breakfast and afternoon tea were eagerly awaited every day (if you are out and about during afternoon tea time, they serve it on your return!). Also, loved the evening turndown service! If I didn't live as far away as Australia, I would be going back annually for some peace and relaxation!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Berber Room. Loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poshw5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Assakina apparently means inner calm and it sums up this riad perfectly. It is an oasis from the madness and mopeds of the Medina, newly created in traditional style and beautiful in every detail. Do not be put off by the alleyway by which it is approached; inside is heaven. The hospitality of its English owners is beyond compare, the breakfast magnificent and the cake that came with the afternoon tea something we looked forward to every day.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed for three nights and found this an excellent base from which to explore Marrakesh. The location in the Jewish quarter meant that we were in walking distance of most of the sights and about 15 minutes to the square and the souks, longer if you get easily distracted.
Like most Riads it was unprepossessing from the outside, down a dark and narrow street, but opening into a beautifully designed and decorated space, following the traditional Riad model. Our room was spacious and had those little extras - fresh flowers, fresh fruit daily, a turn down service with chocolates. The salon for breakfast and relaxation had guidebooks and magazines to help our exploration and Grant and Michelle were on hand to offer suggestions for restaurants and trips if we were not already prepared.
The roof terraces were bathed in sunlight and gave a good view across the city, and provided a great spot to take the afternoon tea provided.
The staff were extraordinarily helpful particularly Naoual and Hicham. I had an unfortunate altercation in the main square when I refused to accept a “free” henna tattoo, which resulted in henna being sprayed across my back. Henna doesn’t come out of clothing easily (bear this in mind for sheets and towels!) but my shirt was returned to me in good condition after “special products” had been applied.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank By_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I booked this short break to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary, having never been to Marrakesh before, we used an agent who knew our needs well so it was pure serendipity that brought us to Grant and Michelle. What an amazing place! Beautifully presented, traditional design, decorated with an inate sense of style. Grant and Michelle are not innkeepers but generous and welcoming hosts and made us feel as though we belonged from the moment we arrived. They gave us tips on everything from where to go, where to eat, what to buy and how much to pay and on our last (rainy) day while waiting for our flight they booked us into Les Bain Marrakesh where we were washed to within an inch of our life and made to feel like royalty - the massage rounded off our stay perfectly and we returned home rested and relaxed. We shall return to Marrakesh and will look no further than the Riad Assakina where attention to detail and hospitality are the name of the game, enhanced by friendly, smiling and ever willing staff - this place is a winner.

Room Tip: Not necessary - all rooms are exquisitely designed and decorated and face an inner courtyard so ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This riad was a haven of peace and quiet compared to the bustle in the streets outside. We were immediately welcomed and looked after by Grant and Michelle, who gave us all the information we needed for an enjoyable stay in the town. We stayed in a junior suite which was very well appointed ,excellent beds and a luxurious bathroom.Breakfasts were delicious and we enjoyed the afternoon tea and pastries provided every day. Nothing was too much trouble for Michelle and her staff.We will certainly return here if we visit Marrakech again.

Room Tip: The upper rooms seem to be more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margi186262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 146 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
#6 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 828 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#7 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Property: Riad Assakina
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing