We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop looking, just book this one...a stunner !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Assakina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Assakina
Ranked #9 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Stop looking, just book this one...a stunner !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had booked well over a year ago and with plans changing we were so looking forward to our stay. The airport pick up service that Michelle and Grant arranged was smooth and easy. Within the first 5 minutes of arriving at the riad, with mint tea and pastries, we felt at home and what a luxurious one it was ! This is paradise. Michelle has a gift, the design and decor are exquisite, her gorgeous staff are a testament to her beautiful nature and her love of Morocco is obvious. The room, the Kiad suite, was large and as we were there for six nights it was what we needed.The website shows the room acurately but to experience the calm, the tanquility and serenity made this one of the best places we have ever stayed in. The bed was huge and comfortable and everything you need it there ! An ever changing family is created with new guests arriving and leaving and it was easy to make new friends to swap travelling tips with or go on sightseeing adventures together. We enoyed the many choices at breakfast, ate a home cooked meal with our new friends that was lovely ( three course of delicious Morrocan fare) and we enjoyed two tapas meals on the terrace (a must do) watching the lights, storks and listening to distant sounds of the neighbourhood. There is always a mint tea and pastry offered on your return each afternoon. Everything that Michelle suggests is perfect and I mean of stunning quality.............the restaurants, the transfers, the shopping tips, the timing to visit places. We went on two day trips she organised which is an absolute must. One to Essaouira on the coast, with a huge packed breakfast for the journey and one to the Atlas mountains up to Ouirka Valley. All the drivers were polite and helpful, the cars impeccable and their driving safe ( interesting road laws in Morocco where everyone/everything shares the road). We know Michelle helped a guest buy a light fitting, she helped me by accompanying me and speaking for me buying habbadashery goodies. Nothing is too much trouble. You can purchase beautiful kaftan tops that Michelle designs (I have 3 on order) and other quality products if you can't face the haggling anymore in the souks. There is a social conscience and awareness of womens co ops and stray animal support and Zac the resident rescue cat, tells the others outside that he is the lucky one ! We had a Spa treatment that Michelle arranged and again the best we ever have had. We experienced 5 star treatment the whole of our stay but certainly not at the cost you would expect. Thank you so much to Noell and Hicham (sorry about the spelling) for all that you did, sharing your stories with us, you are truly beautiful people and looked after us so well but most importantly thank you to Michelle ( and my email pal Grant) for giving us the experience of a lifetime. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chocolatefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    15
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
58
364
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotels are supposed to be about hospitality, but sadly, these days most are not. Riad Assakina is one of the rare exceptions.
The difference, as always, is the management. Michelle and Grant do everything possible to make your stay comfortable and help you to get the most out of Marrakech. They know the place inside out and can (and will) tell you what is worthwhile and what is not. Do yourself a big favor and trust their judgement, you will not go wrong.
Meals at the riad are excellent, including multiple choices for breakfast, and dinners that taste more like home cooking than a restaurant. The staff is very friendly and very professional. When a flight delay on Easy Jet caused me to arrive at 2:30 AM, it wasn't at problem at all, someone was at the airport to meet me, which is more than I expected.
Michelle arranged excursions and restaurant reservations flawlessly, and her maps/directions will save you a lot of time and potential trouble. Though I've traveled a lot, this was my first visit to Morocco and it was pretty daunting, so the orientation provided was VERY helpful.
This is also one of those rare hotels where you are likely to meet experienced travelers from all over the world, people with similar interests who you will learn from and who will learn from you. I met such people here and traveled with them, which only made my experience here that much more special. Riad Assakina is almost more like a club for travelers than a 'hotel,' which also explains why there are so many repeat visitors.
The riad is excellently located near several major sights and is not more than 10-15 min. walk from anything that is worth visiting (and not everything here is worth visiting, including a lot of the souks). Unlike some other highly-rated riads which have noise issues, it is dead quiet here. The decor is very tasteful and the roof terrace is very relaxing, especially at sunset.
If you are a first-time visitor to Morocco, I highly recommend that you choose this riad. When I come back to Marrakech, part of the reason will be to stay here again.
Kudos to Michelle and Grant for creating such a special place! Mumtazz!

Room Tip: Would prefer the upstairs rooms (I had the Almoravid suite) for a bit less activity, but you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoptravelscams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

My partner and I spent 4 nights at this riad for our first trip to Marrakech and we thoroughly enjoyed it. The location was perfect; not too close to the centre and on the better side of town near the nice sites. Staying at the riad was a great experience and the owner Michelle will be around to help at every step of the way. In fact, Michelle guided us on several occasions whether it was finding a restaurant, finding a rare bracelet or getting a good price for a mint tea pot at the local shop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeGS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Although it has been months since we spent our week at the Riad Assakina, our memories are fresh and clear. Grant, Michelle, and the staff ensured that our every experience was magical. The Riad is off the beaten path in the Medina, giving one a true sense of what it is like to live there. When we were overwhelmed with logistics, we got the help we needed. The trips out of Marrakech were well planned and most enjoyable (Thank you, Grant). Every recommended restaurant was perfect. Our suite was beautiful. The property has many spots for relaxing and "being." Favorite experiences at Riad Assakina - a night of cheese, bread, and wine after a long day on the road (Thank you, Hicham for setting up a lovely evening); selecting napkins and rings for my daughter's wedding china (Thank you, Michelle! Jennifer loves these and they were a big hit at her shower); planning how to appropriately attend a wedding in Morocco (Thank you, Naoual and Meriem); and watching Zak's artful skills in bringing home presents to his family. I only hope that someday we can return.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent a long weekend in Marrakech in April 2012 and it was fabulous. Aftrer a crazy few months at work, all we wanted was somewhere nice to relax but with enough local options to keep us entertained if we got bored. I'm well travelled but have heard mixed reviews about Marrakesh and have to admit that I was a bit hesitant about booking to go. Well, now that I've been, I can't wait to go back, and mainly because of this place!

At Riad Assakina we couldn't have wanted or asked for more. Grant and Michelle have perfected the art of looking after their guests whatever they happen to be looking for in Morocco. After a long day in the medina, doing excursions, or enjoying the local spa facilities, you are welcomed back with a sundowner, olives and encouraged to join other guests in the courtyard. Nothing is too much trouble for them, the riad is beautiful and the location is perfect.

At the end of the weekend, they had to scrape me off the roof terrace, prise the gin and tonic from my hand and send me back to the airport. No wonder so many people go back for more!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed this one! Grant and Michelle have a wonderful experience waiting for you as you step across the line between the madness of Marrakech and the calm of their Riad.

The Kaid suite was stunning, beautifully appointed and well positioned on the first floor. The roof top terrace(s) are well suited to lazy afternoons in the sunshine, and in terms of location, you remain a short hop, skip and haggle away from the Medina.

The staff bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as they can (including your hosts), a restaurant recommendation, reservation + the requisite cabs are a very quick conversation away.

The only recommendation we would have would be to expand the breakfast offering. After a week, the relatively limited choices were becoming quite repetitive. I would imagine that many of their visitors are there for shorter periods of time, so this would be of less concern, but a small detail which would make quite a difference.

Thank you all, a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank double0stefan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrant Monkton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our 40th wedding anniversary in Morocco- my first trip but his second trip. Riad Assakina 'hit the spot'. Michelle and Grant were very gracious and helpful hosts and always on hand to answer questions.The Riad is a true haven of peace in this most exiting of cities. It is perfectly situated to explore the old town. A guided tour is very worthwhile. We had the most superb dinner one night at the Riad- the Moroccan salads were delicious.It was one of the best meals we had a such personal service.

We shall return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 918PatriciaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#14 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#15 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Assakina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Assakina

Property: Riad Assakina
Address: Derb Alaati Allah, 14 | Hay Salam, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#32 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Assakina is a beautiful, light and spacious riad, ideally situated in the historic Mellah: the ancient Jewish quarter of Marrakech's Medina. It directly overlooks the famous Bahia Palace; and is within an easy stroll of the city's other famous attractions. It is also well placed for enjoying some of Marrakech's finest restaurants and bars. The Riad subtly blends the best of local tradition and craftsmanship with all the refinements of a bespoke private residence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Assakina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Assakina Marrakech
Riad Assakina Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing