We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Characterful, comfortable and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Saad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Saad to your Saves list
Riad Dar Saad
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 derb Ben Chekroune | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #143 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Characterful, comfortable and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We had great service from all at the Riad which is a short, easy walk from the main square. We made use of the lovely Hammam and massage room. Our room was very pleasant though big tub in the middle did not get the use we had hoped. (Ensure the Riad is warned of any plan to fill a very big bathtub).

Room Tip: see the photos since all rooms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYTyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    32
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
92
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This riad was amazing and the staff was always at the guest's disposition and was really kind. The architecture and decoration was beautiful. It is also in the famous safe quarter El Bachar and it was really easy for us, 3 girls, to find our ways in and out of the riad to the famous Jamaa El Fna place and the souk. The staff, upon arrival gave us a map and showed us many places to visit (worthwhile places) around the riad. I would suggest anyone staying in the riad to also try the hamam with the scrub and massage option. My friends and I tried it and came out more relaxed than we were ever before. The suites are very spacious and clean, the beds were very comfortable and the shower was beautiful. I think the best experience from the riad was the breakfast in the morning by the pool terrace, eating homemade crepes and warm bread while sipping on good Moroccan green tea. It made us feel like we were in a meditation center and were far away from all the craziness of the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godstone
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We took a 4 day break to Marrakesh and stayed at the Riad Dar Saad, this hotel is ok by Moroccan standard but not up to UK spec. At this time of year it is cold at night time and the heating in the two rooms we had did not work in one and barely worked in the other. There is no tea/coffee in the rooms, the safes are not fixed down, some lights did not work and the breakfasts were just bread and pancakes or cake quite boring in fact. this Riad is in a non car part of the souks so you have to walk about 400yds to get to or from your taxi. Overall it was reasonable value at the special offer price we paid.

Room Tip: If they are not full ask for a choice of rooms as they vary a lot in size
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manracer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

A very warm welcome from the lovely staff who helped to make our stay an enjoyable and happy experience. We stayed in the Jemra suite, which we found spacious and extremely comfortable. Breakfasts were different each day and can be served on the terrace or in the really attractive dining area. The location is perfect for the souks, and Jamaa El Fna is a few minutes walk away. Not to be missed is a trip to the Ouzoud Cascades which the staff will organise for you, and an opened topped bus excursion to take in all the highlights and history of Marrakech. To relax after a day's sightseeing, try an in house Hammam. We highly reccommend the Cafe Arabe and the Dar Danab restaurants, both within a five minute walk from Dar Saad, serving Moroccan and international dishes.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hilary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Marrakech in August is probably not the best time to go because of the mad heat but we went anyway, taking the early morning bus cutting a two-night break out of a week in Essaouira. It's a bit of a tale which I won't bore you with but we arrived at the Dar Saad for two nights and were offered a choice of rooms, taking the sizeable Darouiria room. The riad is actually two separate properties knocked together (or was it three?) which gives it some size and our room was in the more modern and stylish white part of the building. It is inside the Medina, about ten or twelve minutes walk from the magnetic and super-hectic square Jemaa al Frna.
The general atmosphere reminds you of a peaceful religious order of quiet contemplation. An escape from the outside world. It is calm and restful with comfortable lounges and smaller spaces where you can pass your time reading or playing cards or similar. There is no TV to distract you. There is, however, a small plunge-pool to help you cool off next to which you can recline on sun loungers or simply rest on the soft furniture around the open pool space. A large, attractive roof terrace was completely unoccupied because of the excessive heat, even under shades, except when popular for al fresco breakfast. The friendly staff were always helpful and on hand to serve up drinks and pleasant but simple snacks as required. You can order more substantial food but we preferred to dine out.
The riad functions very well as a retreat from the exhausting 45C heat; the building is about twelve degrees cooler than the outside world. We enjoyed our stay there and would suggest it to anyone seeking a calm haven tucked away from the hurly-burly of Marrakech at large.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rhs01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Very nice Riad, and even nicer staff, very personable and can cater for most wishes. We went with 2young kids and the Riad staff were most accommodating.
The Riad is situated at one end of the souks so you are able to to see all the souks and their merchandise by the time you get to Jamaa El Fna which is about 10minutes walk away. This Riad is perfectly situated if you don't want the constant noise of the square, but don't want to be too far off either.
Ensuite, fridge and a safe all present in our family suite. Have Massage facilities available too. Also the riad staff can organise for your transfers to and fro the airport as they did with us.
Definitely suggest giving this one a go.
Enjoy your trip!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a really comfortable, traditional riad in a fantastic location in the thick of the souks. We loved staying here, as we had to walk through the souks every day in order to get to places. Our room was comfortable, with a private roof terrace. The staff were friendly and helpful.

We got a little bored with the breakfasts, so we didn't eat there every morning.

I would recommend booking the airport transfer, as we had problems with our taxi driver, and the riad is a little hard to find the first time (not exactly where its website shows it to be).

I visited the amazing Hammam de la Rose, just down the road. We dined in the riad one evening - a nice meal, but lacking in atmosphere as we were the only residents that night. On other nights we dined in the nearby Cafe Arabe and the Atelier des Espices. Both highly recommended.

We would definitely recommend Riad dar Saad.

Room Tip: The Chiba suite is very nice and has its own roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Hermes
Riad Hermes
#180 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#50 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Alsaad
Riad Dar Alsaad
#330 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Marrabahia
Riad Marrabahia
#211 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#126 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#52 of 1,169 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Saad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saad

Property: Riad Dar Saad
Address: 3 derb Ben Chekroune | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Saad 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Dar Saad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Saad Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing