We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Saad

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Saad
Ranked #111 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a really comfortable, traditional riad in a fantastic location in the thick of the souks. We loved staying here, as we had to walk through the souks every day in order to get to places. Our room was comfortable, with a private roof terrace. The staff were friendly and helpful.

We got a little bored with the breakfasts, so we didn't eat there every morning.

I would recommend booking the airport transfer, as we had problems with our taxi driver, and the riad is a little hard to find the first time (not exactly where its website shows it to be).

I visited the amazing Hammam de la Rose, just down the road. We dined in the riad one evening - a nice meal, but lacking in atmosphere as we were the only residents that night. On other nights we dined in the nearby Cafe Arabe and the Atelier des Espices. Both highly recommended.

We would definitely recommend Riad dar Saad.

Room Tip: The Chiba suite is very nice and has its own roof terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ambermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    35
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
40
100
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

Location of the Riad is really convenient. We were able to walk to the souks from Riad. Our suite was on the lower level. It was cool, comfortable, and very tastefully decorated. After we returned tired from excursions/visiting souks the staff member was kind enough to make the fresh mint tea with refreshments and sheesha.

Another really unique yet convenient thing was you can have breakfast anytime of the day unlike conventional B&Bs that stops serving breakfast after certain time in the AM. The Riad has a decent spa by the poolside as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarheel_TravelersNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a great Riad with very personal service, and very resonably priced extras. You must know in advance however, that the first tea service given is free, nd everything after has a pice. Also, the hammam is not free.

Room Tip: We chose the Louisa Room, but all look like good choices, and not connect to wifi unless you're...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RokiSWiSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

We only stayed there 1 night and then after we had to change hotels. First of all taxi charged us 150dirham when it was supposed to be 100. When we got there, there was no TV in the room, no phone, no restaurant,no Wifi!!! Kitchen looked disgusting! Decor was nice, however the entire place looked poorly cleaned and had some humid smell....since it wasnt what we expecting, when we checked out the day after, Fatima charged us for 2 night! No customer service whatsoever!!!
If this is going to be your fist time in Marrakech and you want to stay at a Riad, choose another one!!!! This isn't 4 start for sure! I wouldnt recommend this to anyone and they go to sleep and they don't answer he main phone, only one in the riad.....simply terrible

Room Tip: Don't pick this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elikapeka47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarSaad, Gérant at Riad Dar Saad, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear MRS
We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your stay in our riad. You have made your reservation by a center of reservations. The description of our riad is very specified : we have no TV et no phone in the room. On the other hand you are wrong when you write no WIFI and no dinner.
We indeed have the available wifi free of charge in the lounge in the welcome reception. You can also have dinner or lunch (we have moreover very good cookers) but you have to reserve before.
You are very right when you say "it wasn't what we expecting" because a riad is very different t of a hotel.
I think only that you are not used riads and you were disappointed.
Last matter, concerning the payment of two nigths, we have already made a commercial gesture , normally you should have paid all the stay, because this is your choice to cancel your stay. Especially that you had already put back your stay.
Really saddened that you did not apreciate this place which so many customers liked.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

I have just got back from a 5 night stay at the Dar Saad. It was perfect: the hotel is right in the middle of all the shops but set back down a small alley so is very peaceful. The only sound in the early morning is the Muezzin calling the faithful to prayer which is so evocative of that part of the world. The staff were extremely helpful - escorting us to out of the way places for dinner etc.The rooms are fantastic: aesthetically pleasing and very comfortable. Breakfast on the roof terrace was excellent. We had dinner in the Riad one night and found the food very good indeed. I didn't try the spa as the Hamman de la Rose is 2 minutes walk and is superb for a scrub and massage. I couldn't rate this place too highly and would certainly go back there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank serena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

After two weeks of traveling in the Rif and Atlas Mountains, what a delight to pull into the Dar Sa'ad and discover a lovely riad with quietly framed black and white photographs of old Morocco on the walls and the warm welcome of staff with hot hand towels! The place itself wanders from a handsome riad style set of accomodations to a comfortable sitting area followed by steps leading to nooks for breakfast and for being by the pool. WInding stairs lead up to bigger guest rooms and meeting areas, both of which look down at the airy, inviting pool. Further large and comfortable rooms are secluded away, down what seem invisible stairs which if one follows is rewarded by trying to contemplate the puzzle that is the blueprint of this sublime retreat..

The terrace, which is accessed by two (and maybe more) stairwells, offers an exquisite setting for breakfast, should you want it, couches for reading or dozing, and framed views of the neighborhood. The beds are good, the breakfast ample and varied, and the location pretty wonderful. If you leave the Riad and turn right, you reach taxis and the new town, and if left, you are soon in the souk with ready access to the Djamm-al-Fna and other vivid attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms in the first section of the riad are smaller that ones deeper into the riad but are probably l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vividjourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2012

We had the most amazing time at the Riad Dar Saad. Abdul, Samira and Karen took such great care of us and made our stay feel like our home away from home. Every detail was taken care of. Anything we needed, any questions we had - they were there to help. They arranged a day trip to Essaouria where we rode camels on the beach and ate freshly caught seafood.

The rooms were spacious, clean and very beautiful. The terrace and pool side lounge area was delightful to relax at. The location of the Riad was perfect. It was in the souks but in a quieter area where we could relax and close to all the main attractions.

We were truly sad to leave but hope to be back again. We highly, highly recommend staying at this property. You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice. We loved the Salmia room which had a hot tub built in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Hermes
Riad Hermes
#242 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#91 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Marrabahia
Riad Marrabahia
#274 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Zehar
Riad Zehar
#117 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Misria
Riad Misria
#103 of 1,186 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad CharCam
Riad CharCam
#110 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Saad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Saad

Property: Riad Dar Saad
Address: 3 derb Ben Chekroune | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Saad 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Saad reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Saad Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing