We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not go there ,El Bahia = u will be ripped off”

Restaurant El Bahia
Ranked #421 of 886 Restaurants in Marrakech
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do not go there ,El Bahia = u will be ripped off”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Right lets put it in this way,I travelled a lot in my life and this restaurant was probably the worst I have been to . Surrounding are amazing ,quality of food average ,quantity of food it's good but you will pay for more than you eat ,bear it mind the average price in medina are around Durham 250 including tips for two people,at El Bahia expect to pay around Durham 800 including tips,they will bring you two set menu one cost 300 the other one 400,and the waiter will say to you that that 400 ones will charge you 300 which does not include drinks,or tips .there you go you final bill will be 800. Just do not go there .

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ciobin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    54
    31
    16
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was nice food but felt ripped off”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Was recommended this restaurant by our riad the night we arrived to our hotel as it was only a 5 min walk and we didn't want to go far. Arrived at the restaurant and has very nice decor. When seated the waiter took our drinks order but we didn't receive a menu. The waiter bought over a set menu which had lots of courses and was way too much food for a late light meal that we were after. I explained to the waiter that it was too much food in hope for an a la carte menu but he refused and said the dishes were small... 5 courses later and a lot of the food was being sent back as we couldn't eat it. The meal cost us dir400 each which we would be happy to pay for if we were hungry and to receive that amount of food. When arrived back at the riad and explained to the owner about the food he advised we should have been offered an a la carte menu as one is available and should have paid max dir200. Lesson learnt!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eleanor w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avoid! - it's a scam”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

For those seeking a good meal in Marrakesh in memorable surroundings with a good ambiance a simple piece of advice - avoid this restaurant. It is not the place recommended in the Rough Guide - it must have changed hands. It is, in fact, a rip off and it works like this: sure the surroundings are palatial and impressive but - and you only discover this after you have been seated, broken bread, ordered wine and had a drink and been served with olives - there are only 2 menus. One a set menu at 300 dirhams, one at 400 dirhams. It is not clear at this stage whether this is for one or two. It turns out to be for one. So you do a rough calculation and opt for the cheaper one. But don't expect a 300 dirham dinner bearing in mind that 300 dirhams should go a long way in Marrakesh. You get a variety of cold, limp, vegetable starters; a dry pastilla; two passable tagines; a bowl of tired looking fruit and an almond biscuit. Oh, and a bunch of amateurish musicians and belly dancers to interrupt whatever good time you were threatening to have in a noisy - and persistent - attempt to screw a few more dirhams out of the milch cow tourist. Market value of the meal? A third of the menu price, tops. Market value of the entertainment? Nil.

It's a pity, really, because the surroundings are impressive and the place has real potential. If the operators had the wit to put their efforts into providing good food honestly priced instead of scamming the tourists they could build a reputable business that would grow by recommendation and become a go to place in Marrakesh. But that would require hard work and integrity. My advice would be to eat up near the main square where you get what you pay for and don't bother with this restaurant - it leaves a nasty taste in the mouth.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank neilharries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not bad - decent value”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Looking at the reviews here there seem to be reviews for two totally different places. Where I went was the simple restaurant directly opposite the gates of Place de Bahia that has a roof terrace. Others seems to be showing a much grander looking place which this one was not. I definitely went to the one that is shown as cafe with terrace. I had a Lamb Tagine which came with cous cous and a sauce. This was very tasty and good value. Juices were nice. It was a bit too cold to go on the roof terrace so we went inside which is very basic and uninspiring. Service was friendly and King Crimson playing on the stereo so clearly owned by an old hippy.
Location good, food good , value good. Overall it is fine to stop for a bite but nothing special.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buzios_PW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“tourist restaurant”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

you won't miss this restaurant if you walk pass by it because there are "people" outside inviting you to dine in. it is obviously a tourist restaurant place. the interior was nice although we were brought up to dine on the top floor. food was ok ( your morrocaan dishes, but i can say i've tried better)

this place is near the jewish souks where the price is way way cheaper compared to the souks near the mosque & the people are nice (NOT aggressive like the souks closer to the mosque)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank emmy91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant El Bahia also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant El Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing