We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should have booked”

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
Ranked #18 of 861 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Should have booked”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We were told that we would not need to make a reservation but when we arrived it was to find that they were fully booked. The young lady on the desk was most apologetic and then suggested that if we would like to eat in the Jazz (piano) Bar we would be served from the restaurant menu. It was such a good idea and turned into a wonderful evening with great food, fine music and bar staff who were truly exceptional. A very different experience from dining in the restaurant but truly enjoyable. If you arrive to find the restaurant fully booked and are offered the chance to dine in the Jazz Bar - say "yes please" - you will not regret it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardD1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,790 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,092
    485
    133
    52
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food.. amazing cocktails”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has experience in the hospitality industry and you can sense this as soon as you walk in. Chilled out bar with great drink. All the waiters had genuine charm and warmth. We had delicious traditional morrocan dishes. Mildly spiced but strong in flavour. If you want a treat dress up and come here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dublinAine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Romantic Dining”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having trekked up Mount Toubkal and slept in shared dormitory it was great to meet my partner at the Airport and whisk her away for dinner here. Pre dinner drinks in the well appointed Jazz Bar to the sound of background piano music was very nice. We then proceeded to candlelit table for two by poolside and enjoyed lovely food and decent wine with extremely good discreet service. Maybe a bit overpriced but apart from that it was most enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessy, France
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing food in sophisticated surroundings”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The Moroccan restaurant in the Maison Arabe has sophisticated decor and ambience including a lute player, nice service but the food was a major disappointment and overpriced. Our tajines were dry and 2 tajines plus a bottle of local wine cost 100 euros. It lives from its reputation but for how long?

Helpful?
Thank colin_long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at Restaurant of La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
I was sorry to read that you found the tagines dry, and regret that you did not point this out to your waiter
as he would have immediately proposed you another dish from our menu.
Wine and alcoholic drinks may seem expensive in Morocco, but this is for the most part due to very heavy
taxes that the Moroccan authorities impose on hotels that sell them. This is a country-wide issue in Morocco,
and I can assure you that our wine prices are lower than average for other hotels in our category.
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, good food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed our evening meal at this attractive restaurant, which was a short walk from the riad we were staying in. We were invited to have a drink in the bar beforehand, complete with live pianist, and then went through to the restaurant. The food was good, though after a late lunch we only had room for one course. We were also given a set of recipe cards to try out, which was an added bonus. However, we felt it was a bit overpriced, even given the surroundings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing