We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food.. amazing cocktails”

Restaurant of La Maison Arabe
Ranked #21 of 871 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $60
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Our new restaurant, “Les Trois Saveurs”, which offers a choice of French, inventive Moroccan or Asian-inspired dishes. Our head chef, Didier Levy, was previously in charge of the kitchen at “Le Pavillon”, considered for many years the best French restaurant in Marrakech. Didier has a passion for seafood, which is bought fresh to the hotel from the coastal towns of Oualidia and Essaouira.The handmade teardrop-shaped lanterns at “Les Trois Saveurs” were specially designed for La Maison Arabe by Yahya Rouach; his workshop is producing the most refined metalwork in Morocco today.
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food.. amazing cocktails”
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has experience in the hospitality industry and you can sense this as soon as you walk in. Chilled out bar with great drink. All the waiters had genuine charm and warmth. We had delicious traditional morrocan dishes. Mildly spiced but strong in flavour. If you want a treat dress up and come here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dublinAine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,808 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,100
    490
    136
    52
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Romantic Dining”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

Having trekked up Mount Toubkal and slept in shared dormitory it was great to meet my partner at the Airport and whisk her away for dinner here. Pre dinner drinks in the well appointed Jazz Bar to the sound of background piano music was very nice. We then proceeded to candlelit table for two by poolside and enjoyed lovely food and decent wine with extremely good discreet service. Maybe a bit overpriced but apart from that it was most enjoyable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cessy, France
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing food in sophisticated surroundings”
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

The Moroccan restaurant in the Maison Arabe has sophisticated decor and ambience including a lute player, nice service but the food was a major disappointment and overpriced. Our tajines were dry and 2 tajines plus a bottle of local wine cost 100 euros. It lives from its reputation but for how long?

Helpful?
1 Thank colin_long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at Restaurant of La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Sir or Madam,
I was sorry to read that you found the tagines dry, and regret that you did not point this out to your waiter
as he would have immediately proposed you another dish from our menu.
Wine and alcoholic drinks may seem expensive in Morocco, but this is for the most part due to very heavy
taxes that the Moroccan authorities impose on hotels that sell them. This is a country-wide issue in Morocco,
and I can assure you that our wine prices are lower than average for other hotels in our category.
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful location, good food”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We enjoyed our evening meal at this attractive restaurant, which was a short walk from the riad we were staying in. We were invited to have a drink in the bar beforehand, complete with live pianist, and then went through to the restaurant. The food was good, though after a late lunch we only had room for one course. We were also given a set of recipe cards to try out, which was an added bonus. However, we felt it was a bit overpriced, even given the surroundings.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bex11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our table was booked through the Riad at which we were staying, the restaurant being their recommendation. The decor and general ambiance was superb, with live music being played in the restaurant. The tagines we had were really very good, service was maybe a little slow by UK standards, but fast by Moroccan standards! The price was really quite good for the meal, drinks were expensive - but that's what we'd come to expect in Morocco. My wife was really taken by the crockery, so much so that we navigated our way back there the following day, to buy some plates in their shop.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghaffouli, General Manager at Restaurant of La Maison Arabe, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review and kind words regarding the restaurant at La Maison Arabe.
You correctly mention that the quality of the food as well as a restaurant’s ambiance is reflected in the price. In the case of La Maison Arabe, the exceptional musical accompaniment we provide is also something we believe one should consider. Our oud (lute) and guitar players have studied with Saïd Chraibi, considered one of the foremost string instrument masters of North Africa.
I agree that coming from the USA or Europe, drink prices in Morocco seem high, but this is mostly due to the very heavy taxes that hotels here must pay on alcohol. I’m afraid this a country-wide issue. Nevertheless, if you have the opportunity to order alcoholic drinks at other hotels in Morocco, you would see that our prices are indeed lower than average for hotels in our category.
I would like to point out to readers that our new starters includes a delicious pea and curry velouté soup with Atlas Mountain mint, as well as thick-cut smoked salmon with a wasabi-seasoned celery root remoulade. Our main courses includes Moroccan tagines, such as my favourite with oranges and saffron, as well as various seafood dishes and a filet of beef with choice of sauce (roquefort, pepper, or emulsion of foie gras). You can have a rich, dark chocolate “gourmandise” infused with mint, served with a Belgian biscuit ice cream as a dessert .
All this is to say, once again, that we take a close look at these reviews – both positive and negative ones – because they provide us with valuable feedback, and encourage us to improve where necessary so that we can offer an exemplary dining experience to our guests.
Thank you again for your review, and we hope to welcome you again to La Maison Arabe.
Sincerely,
Taoufik Ghaffouli
General Manager
La Maison Arabe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant of La Maison Arabe also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Restaurant of La Maison Arabe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing